EnglishGermanFrenchRussianItalianSpanish
Log inRegister
 
Pilot Training
Post new topic Reply to topic Goto page 1, 2  Next
View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
Luftmann





Joined: 03 Jan 2018
Posts: 6 on topic

Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Wed, 3. Jan 18, 22:10    Post subject: Pilot Training Reply with quote Print

Is there a way to train a ship's pilot like marines?

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Triaxx2





Joined: 29 Dec 2009
Posts: 7151 on topic

Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Wed, 3. Jan 18, 22:14    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

Vanilla pilots? No. CLS and CAG pilots rank up as they fly and get better.


_________________
A Pirate's Revenge Completed Now in PDF by _Zap_
APR Book 2: Best Served Cold Updated 8/5/2016

The Tale of Ea't s'Quid Completed

Dovie'andi se tovya sagain
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
AleksMain





Joined: 21 Sep 2006
Posts: 835 on topic

Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Wed, 3. Jan 18, 22:26    Post subject: Re: Pilot Training Reply with quote Print

Luftmann wrote:
Is there a way to train a ship's pilot like marines?


Actually with Trade Command Software MK3 you can train Sector and Universal Trader pilots.

"As the Pilot levels up, he gains new abilities, and is given a new title. This includes purchasing new equipment for his ship, or gaining the ability to operate over a wider area"

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
RAVEN.myst





Joined: 20 Jun 2011
Posts: 2572 on topic

Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Wed, 3. Jan 18, 23:12    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

Incidentally, CLS/CAG pilots placed in combat ships DO get some (minor) new abilities. I like to put them in M8s, sometimes (I would use them more extensively in other types of combat ships, but I find them too valuable doing the things they're good at - moving wares around.)


_________________
-
Boron passenger: "You must hurry - my testicles are drying out!"
-
Born on Lave, raised on Freeport 7...
-
The Write Stuff
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Luftmann





Joined: 03 Jan 2018
Posts: 6 on topic

Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Sat, 6. Jan 18, 19:11    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

Thanks guys.
Next Q: Where do I get pilots?

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Q
Pancake Award Winner 2017




Joined: 20 Nov 2009



PostPosted: Sat, 6. Jan 18, 19:20    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

The enter your remote controlled ships automatically, once you start the respective commands on them. Note that for CLS / CAG your ships have to be docked to stations, so that the pilots can enter your ship.


_________________
Morkonan, Emperor of the Unaffiliated Territories of the Principality of OFF-TOPIC, wrote:
I have come to answer your questions! The answers are "Yes" and "Probably" as well as "No" and "Maybe", but I'm not sure in which order they should be given.

xkcd: Duty calls
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Timsup2nothin





Joined: 22 Jan 2009



PostPosted: Sat, 6. Jan 18, 20:41    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

RAVEN.myst wrote:
Incidentally, CLS/CAG pilots placed in combat ships DO get some (minor) new abilities. I like to put them in M8s, sometimes (I would use them more extensively in other types of combat ships, but I find them too valuable doing the things they're good at - moving wares around.)


I put pilots in all my ships, just for effect if nothing else. Most of them never advance beyond apprentice as traders, but their name is on the ship as pilot instead of mine being everywhere.

I've even played with a self-imposed "no pilotless ships" requirement, which meant that I had to leave my own ship in the hands of her pilot (if you have activated a cls pilot you take over when you board the ship but when you eject it goes back to them) and fly captured ships myself until I could get them docked somewhere and get the software to hire a pilot installed. Put a serious crimp in the harvesting of freighters.


_________________
Trapper Tim's Guide to CLS 2

On Her Majesty's Secret Service-Dead is Dead, and he is DEAD

Not a DiD, so I guess it's a DiDn't, the story of my first try at AP
Part One, in progress

HEY! AP!! That's new!!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
RAVEN.myst





Joined: 20 Jun 2011
Posts: 2572 on topic

Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Sat, 6. Jan 18, 21:10    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

Timsup2nothin wrote:
I've even played with a self-imposed "no pilotless ships" requirement

I like this, thanks! Smile (You know me and self-imposed rules, heheh...) I'm going to take this all the way (ie. max-level, or at least jump-capable, pilots) and see how it affects ships other than M8s (these, in case I didn't mention it above, enjoy having CLS2, as it allows them to rearm themselves without needing a base - M7Ms could do the same, though at MOs only, of course.)


_________________
-
Boron passenger: "You must hurry - my testicles are drying out!"
-
Born on Lave, raised on Freeport 7...
-
The Write Stuff
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Luftmann





Joined: 03 Jan 2018
Posts: 6 on topic

Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Sat, 6. Jan 18, 23:17    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

I'm not getting how to do that. I have two ships that came with pilots and I have been docking my other ships on various stations, but no pilots.
What commands are you referring to? I can "Move Pilots" but nothing on my remotes.
Thanks for your help.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
RAVEN.myst





Joined: 20 Jun 2011
Posts: 2572 on topic

Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Sun, 7. Jan 18, 01:07    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

When you start a Commerical Agent or Commodity Logistics command for the first time on a particular ship, it has to be docked at a station. It will then get a beginner pilot, of the race belonging to the sector that the ship is in.


_________________
-
Boron passenger: "You must hurry - my testicles are drying out!"
-
Born on Lave, raised on Freeport 7...
-
The Write Stuff
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Luftmann





Joined: 03 Jan 2018
Posts: 6 on topic

Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Sun, 7. Jan 18, 06:00    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

I have never seen those choices. Is this for X3:TC?
Do I need some sort of prerequisite?
I'm also having problems with dropping a station cmd.
I dropped 2 already, now cmd disabled.
Thanks.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
RAVEN.myst





Joined: 20 Jun 2011
Posts: 2572 on topic

Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Sun, 7. Jan 18, 09:03    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

Luftmann wrote:
I have never seen those choices. Is this for X3:TC?

Yes, and not just X3TC (but if that's what you're playing, it's present there)

Luftmann wrote:

Do I need some sort of prerequisite?

For starters, Bonus Pack from EgoSoft needs to be installed. Then, depending on whether you want CAG (Commercial Agent) or CLS (Commodity Logistics), you will need to have both trade command softwares, and/or Commodity Logistics Software, Navigation Command Software (needed for both), and a homebase assigned to your freighter (needed for CAG and CLS1, optional for CLS2.) The commands then appear in the command console in the Trade section.

Luftmann wrote:

I'm also having problems with dropping a station cmd.
I dropped 2 already, now cmd disabled.

I'm sorry, I don't understand your question (maybe I need coffee) - could you rephrase it, please?


_________________
-
Boron passenger: "You must hurry - my testicles are drying out!"
-
Born on Lave, raised on Freeport 7...
-
The Write Stuff
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
X2-Illuminatus
Moderator (Deutsch)
Moderator (Deutsch)

MEDALMEDALMEDAL

Joined: 02 Apr 2006
Posts: 20717 on topic

Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Sun, 7. Jan 18, 11:59    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

If the drop station special command is greyed out, this can be due to either of the following reasons:
1. Your TL class ship doesn't have any station construction kits aboard.
2. You're not in the same sector as your TL class ship. Station construction doesn't work if you're in a different sector.


_________________
Besteht Interesse an einem Nopileos-Hörbuch?

Farnhams Legende und Nopileos als E-Books!

"People who think they know everything are a great annoyance to those of us who do." - Isaac Asimov

"If it's not impossible, there must be a way to do it." - Sir Nicholas Winton
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Luftmann





Joined: 03 Jan 2018
Posts: 6 on topic

Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Sun, 7. Jan 18, 21:03    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

That was it for both issues! Thanks a bunch guys!
Sometimes the forum is better than a manual.
I would still pay good money for a concise manual.
Are you listening Egosoft? Wink

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Q
Pancake Award Winner 2017




Joined: 20 Nov 2009



PostPosted: Sun, 7. Jan 18, 21:09    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

Here you go:
X3: Terran Conflict manual
X3: Albion Prelude Survival Guide
X3: Terran Conflict Bonuspackage overview topic (manual is included in the download)


_________________
Morkonan, Emperor of the Unaffiliated Territories of the Principality of OFF-TOPIC, wrote:
I have come to answer your questions! The answers are "Yes" and "Probably" as well as "No" and "Maybe", but I'm not sure in which order they should be given.

xkcd: Duty calls
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic Reply to topic Goto page 1, 2  Next
 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum
Control Panel
Login Data
The time now is Mon, 16. Jul 18, 23:52

All times are GMT + 2 Hours

[ Disclaimer / Impressum ] | [ Privacy Policy / Datenschutz ]

Board Security

Copyright © EGOSOFT 1989-2018
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Template created by Avatar & BurnIt!
Debug: page generation = 1.94508 seconds, sql queries = 29