Lino, how about some X4 graphic specials?

This forum is the ideal place for all discussion relating to X4. You will also find additional information from developers here.

Moderator: Moderators for English X Forum

Artean
x4

Lino, how about some X4 graphic specials?

Post by Artean » Fri, 8. Dec 17, 17:46

Would be very interesting to see some examples of how the graphic engine has developed since XR. Care to share?
"In the beginning the Universe was created. This has made a lot of people very angry and has been widely regarded as a bad move." - D.N.A

linolafett
EGOSOFT
EGOSOFT
x4

Post by linolafett » Fri, 8. Dec 17, 18:33

I got summoned?

Lets try. As i dont have any images here, i can not show differences in this topic, but can describe what is being affected. You can watch the streams to see the visual effects in motion.
The next stream is next week!

Disclaimer again:
I am just an artist, and this is trying to describe stuff i do not completely understand. I might be wrong, so feel free to share your expertise on these things :)

Big changes from xr to x4:
-change to a "pbr" physicially based rendering
-change to a deferred renderer
-change to vulkan

The first point makes it much easier for us artists to "describe" how a material should look like. With the old non pbr workflow it was possible to create convincing materials, but now its just much simpler and quicker especially as there are new tools popping to make our work quicker.
Result: Better materials.

The second point is more technical now. In short it creates per frame so called "renderlayers" containing information of the scene like lights, diffuse colours or directions of surfaces in relation to the camera.
Doing this enables much quicker post process and lighting work, as you do the processing on the renderlayers, which are simple 2d images, instead of complex 3d geometry.
Result: We can have nice things like many lights for very cheap render times. Lovely :)