[MOD] Tactical Map

The place to discuss scripting and game modifications for X Rebirth.

Moderators: Moderators for English X Forum, Scripting / Modding Moderators

User avatar
MegaJohnny
Posts: 1990
Joined: Wed, 4. Jun 08, 22:30
x4

Post by MegaJohnny » Sun, 17. Sep 17, 18:34

Informer wrote:Thanks for your quick responds. But it was my own mistake. Didn't check the installed files. I did unzip the files but had I had the 2 times the same map in my directory. So off course the mod didn't work that way.
Everything works great, and I must say that you did a great job with this mod.
Will also try the mod tomorrow in x-rebirth VR edition. :D :)
Thanks! Glad to know it's working.
birdtable wrote:All working perfectly, no issues.... :)

The following observations are based on a possible not yet implemented feature or lack of understanding on my part of intended action...

1. After using tactical map would prefer to stay with map for zones, sectors etc ...works with zoom out/zoom in but does not feel quite right.
2. Attack ... can give command to attack enemy ships (red) but command rejected if friendly (green).

The movement command works really well,, liked very much.
Thanks again!

1. I'm afraid I'm not entirely sure what you mean here - would you like to use the tactical map at the zone level, and use the vanilla map at other zoom levels? I think it's possible, but I'd rather improve the tactical map so it's nice to use at every level. Is there anything in particular that makes it feel wrong?
2. Ah! Should be easy to implement - I just forgot about that use case. I'd like to put it as a grid button, just so it's harder to attack a friendly ship by accident.

birdtable
Posts: 1446
Joined: Sat, 7. Feb 04, 21:42
x4

Post by birdtable » Sun, 17. Sep 17, 19:00

Sorry if I did not explain clearly,,, I admit it is open to confusion.. It would be nice to use your tactical map at all levels ... Not used to using zoom for maps so maybe just a comfort thing... You must have put a lot of work in for the tactical map to work so smoothly... :thumb_up:
Agree about grid button..

Sparky Sparkycorp
Moderator (English)
Moderator (English)
Posts: 7201
Joined: Tue, 30. Mar 04, 12:28
x4

Post by Sparky Sparkycorp » Sun, 24. Sep 17, 17:49

Just been giving this a go today via the SideBar and it's great :)

Some feedback in case useful:

1. Would it be possible to access the Tactical Map via either the Property Owned or Ship Detail menu? This would support using it with particular ships without needing to find it in the Tactical Map first. Maybe I'm missing something already possible.

2. Would it be possible to select the Skunk in the Tactical Map, and then have the appropriate commands propagate to the Skunk's squad?

Edit: 3. Showing player property in the tactical sector map per zone is a cool idea. I don't have a big empire to test with but it occurred to me that the list of zones and property could become quite long. I'm not sure if making zone property sub-lists collapsible would necessarily be better but I thought I'd mention the topic in case it stimulated ideas.

User avatar
MegaJohnny
Posts: 1990
Joined: Wed, 4. Jun 08, 22:30
x4

Post by MegaJohnny » Tue, 26. Sep 17, 07:41

Sparky Sparkycorp wrote:Just been giving this a go today via the SideBar and it's great :)

Some feedback in case useful:

1. Would it be possible to access the Tactical Map via either the Property Owned or Ship Detail menu? This would support using it with particular ships without needing to find it in the Tactical Map first. Maybe I'm missing something already possible.

2. Would it be possible to select the Skunk in the Tactical Map, and then have the appropriate commands propagate to the Skunk's squad?

Edit: 3. Showing player property in the tactical sector map per zone is a cool idea. I don't have a big empire to test with but it occurred to me that the list of zones and property could become quite long. I'm not sure if making zone property sub-lists collapsible would necessarily be better but I thought I'd mention the topic in case it stimulated ideas.
Thanks for the feedback ;)

1. The MainMenu.xml thing from the readme will do that for you - I use it myself. The only reason this isn't the default is that the map doesn't implement the player jumpdrive yet, and I didn't want to break it for people who use it routinely. I'll get support for the player jump drive going (should be only a few lines) and make this the default for the next update.

2. Good idea! I can't say it will make it into the next update, but it'll be on the todo list.

3. Yeah, I have the same conundrum - not much property, so I don't know exactly when it becomes "too much". It was originally made for sending commandable ships to other zones straight from sector view, so maybe if only commandable ships were displayed there? Extend/collapse button could work too, but I'd have trouble thinking where to put it.

Sparky Sparkycorp
Moderator (English)
Moderator (English)
Posts: 7201
Joined: Tue, 30. Mar 04, 12:28
x4

Post by Sparky Sparkycorp » Tue, 26. Sep 17, 09:43

You're welcome!
MegaJohnny wrote: 1. The MainMenu.xml thing from the readme will do that for you - I use it myself. The only reason this isn't the default is that the map doesn't implement the player jumpdrive yet, and I didn't want to break it for people who use it routinely. I'll get support for the player jump drive going (should be only a few lines) and make this the default for the next update.
Ah, of course. I am a while off acquiring the JD components so I will give it a go without the SideBar Extension.
MegaJohnny wrote: 2. Good idea! I can't say it will make it into the next update, but it'll be on the todo list.
Cool 8)
MegaJohnny wrote: 3. Yeah, I have the same conundrum - not much property, so I don't know exactly when it becomes "too much". It was originally made for sending commandable ships to other zones straight from sector view, so maybe if only commandable ships were displayed there? Extend/collapse button could work too, but I'd have trouble thinking where to put it.
Restricting the view to commandable ships sounds like it could be a good idea. As empires grow I'd imagine a lot of games will have stations, and we can assign patrols to their Defence Officers if we'd want those not in the list (or vice versa).

Thinking about this a bit more, could station icons operate as extend/collapse button for their assigned ships in their sector map? A bit like how you neatly re-purposed the "+" icons. Still, if it's a faff, the idea above of just hiding assigned ships still sounds like an improvement.

User avatar
MegaJohnny
Posts: 1990
Joined: Wed, 4. Jun 08, 22:30
x4

Post by MegaJohnny » Thu, 28. Sep 17, 20:25

I've uploaded 1.1 just now - see the OP for the list of changes. I recommend deleting both existing folders before extracting the new ones. :)

The jump button is untested, so anyone with a jumpdrive please let me know whether or not it works properly. It doesn't make use of kickstarter fuel in the player's inventory, but basic jump/abort hopefully works.
Sparky Sparkycorp wrote:Restricting the view to commandable ships sounds like it could be a good idea. As empires grow I'd imagine a lot of games will have stations, and we can assign patrols to their Defence Officers if we'd want those not in the list (or vice versa).

Thinking about this a bit more, could station icons operate as extend/collapse button for their assigned ships in their sector map? A bit like how you neatly re-purposed the "+" icons. Still, if it's a faff, the idea above of just hiding assigned ships still sounds like an improvement.
Extend button for stations does sound like a good idea - the cell is just blank of course right now. And that leaves only stations and commandable ships being in the view by default. I'll try to have this in for the next version.

Edit: I've just realised, if we assume (reasonably) that subordinate ships will often be in a different zone than the station, they won't be folded into the station often. So I think I'll play with subordinates just not displayed for a while, and see if it annoys me too much. ;)

User avatar
Informer
Posts: 278
Joined: Wed, 3. Jul 13, 23:10
x4

Post by Informer » Fri, 29. Sep 17, 20:11

Cool stuff, I like the tactical map and using it a lot in my game :)
Keep up the good work.

Greetzzz
Information is power. But like all power, there are those who want to keep it for themselves (Aaron Swartz you will live forever)

User avatar
Informer
Posts: 278
Joined: Wed, 3. Jul 13, 23:10
x4

Post by Informer » Sat, 30. Sep 17, 01:13

I did try the new version today, and this is just awesome. I had no problems with the map after playing 2 hours. Also jump drive did work great.
I hope you keep this mod updated, if any updates come for XR. I already used to this tactical map, and cannot imagine to play on the vanilla map again. It makes the ship so much easier to control.
Good good job m8
:D :D :D :D
Information is power. But like all power, there are those who want to keep it for themselves (Aaron Swartz you will live forever)

Sparky Sparkycorp
Moderator (English)
Moderator (English)
Posts: 7201
Joined: Tue, 30. Mar 04, 12:28
x4

Post by Sparky Sparkycorp » Sat, 30. Sep 17, 01:40

Looking forward to testing tomorrow :)

birdtable
Posts: 1446
Joined: Sat, 7. Feb 04, 21:42
x4

Post by birdtable » Sun, 1. Oct 17, 12:17

Sorry .. not much to report, it just works flawlessly.
Grid button allows attack of friendlies.... Jumpdrive works just fine vanilla or (modded) Euclids Jumpdrive

Maybe Sparky who is a bit more analytical may find/suggest something but for me it just works..
:)

Sparky Sparkycorp
Moderator (English)
Moderator (English)
Posts: 7201
Joined: Tue, 30. Mar 04, 12:28
x4

Post by Sparky Sparkycorp » Tue, 3. Oct 17, 02:52

Sparky Sparkycorp wrote:Looking forward to testing tomorrow :)
Sorry I didn't get around to this yet - still on my to-do list though.

A.Persyn
Posts: 115
Joined: Sun, 14. Mar 10, 14:14
x3tc

Bug

Post by A.Persyn » Tue, 3. Oct 17, 13:37

When in the tactical zone map, selecting an object then DETAILS then PLOT COURSE then GUIDANCE or FOLLOW, it doesn't work. No mission objective box and no autopilot. It works fine in the sector map.

Also, the radial menu changes in this are incompatible with CWIR which uses the same menu for launching probes. Only broken in the zone map not the sector map.

User avatar
MegaJohnny
Posts: 1990
Joined: Wed, 4. Jun 08, 22:30
x4

Post by MegaJohnny » Wed, 4. Oct 17, 08:05

I'm very pleased to hear it's working as a replacement for the vanilla map for people ;) I will definitely keep it updated with new versions of XR. I've also been working on some new shiny stuff for it which should be ready in a couple of days. I haven't forgotten Sparky's request, which I'll do after that.
A.Persyn wrote:When in the tactical zone map, selecting an object then DETAILS then PLOT COURSE then GUIDANCE or FOLLOW, it doesn't work. No mission objective box and no autopilot. It works fine in the sector map.

Also, the radial menu changes in this are incompatible with CWIR which uses the same menu for launching probes. Only broken in the zone map not the sector map.
I've noticed as well that sometimes "plot course" doesn't seem to do anything. I personally doubt this mod has an effect on course plotting done through the builtin object menu, but you never know. I'll look into it. (Edit: Looks like I was naughty and didn't convert stuff properly when switching to object menu. Fix will be in next update.)

About CWIR conflict, this mod doesn't do anything to the radial menus themselves. The only patching done to MainMenu.xml targets open_conversation_menu elements specifically. There's a chance that even this causes some conflict, so I'll have a look, but see if another of your mods might be doing it.

User avatar
Informer
Posts: 278
Joined: Wed, 3. Jul 13, 23:10
x4

Re: Bug

Post by Informer » Wed, 4. Oct 17, 15:20

A.Persyn wrote:When in the tactical zone map, selecting an object then DETAILS then PLOT COURSE then GUIDANCE or FOLLOW, it doesn't work. No mission objective box and no autopilot. It works fine in the sector map.

Also, the radial menu changes in this are incompatible with CWIR which uses the same menu for launching probes. Only broken in the zone map not the sector map.
Yeah I can confirm it to that the plot cource/guidaance/follow isn't working from the tactial map.

Thanks for the work MegaJohnny
Greetzzz
Information is power. But like all power, there are those who want to keep it for themselves (Aaron Swartz you will live forever)

Zlisten
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat, 7. Oct 17, 12:05

Post by Zlisten » Sat, 7. Oct 17, 12:10

How delete thise mod?

Post Reply

Return to “X Rebirth - Scripts and Modding”