EnglishGermanFrenchRussianItalianSpanish
Log inRegister
 
One question that might not have been asked - sub-displays/monitors
Post new topic Reply to topic Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
JSalzbrunn





Joined: 21 Dec 2005
Posts: 18 on topic

Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Sat, 11. Nov 17, 16:22    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

SamuraiProgrammer wrote:
To be clear, I would love to see the game be capable of using multiple physical display devices. I think it would be great!


That! Very Happy

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
patient zero





Joined: 25 Mar 2007
Posts: 305 on topic
Location: NC, USA
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Mon, 13. Nov 17, 06:42    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

I asked about multiple displays in another thread.

CBJ wrote:
There are technical reasons why this wouldn't work, but a more important factor is that it would utterly destroy the immersion. Being able to move interactive displays within your cockpit might be nice, provided it made sense within the 3D game environment, but then they couldn't be Windows-windows. Making them Windows-windows and being able to drag them around your desktop would dump you back in the real world in a most unpleasant way.



_________________
This is only a virtual reality.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rulerofallcheese





Joined: 16 Mar 2017



PostPosted: Mon, 20. Nov 17, 17:32    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

Ahem...

NPC dialog shouldn't turn off the minimap or block user input! Come on guys! Just put that stuff into the ship's log if you don't want to implement a full monitor/watch window feature. This would be a huge improvement to the experience and seems like something that should be easy to implement because the functionality already exists to support it.

Pretty please? Would a round of beers for the team convince you?

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gbjbaanb



MEDALMEDALMEDAL

Joined: 26 Dec 2010
Posts: 577 on topic

Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Fri, 24. Nov 17, 01:21    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

patient zero wrote:
I asked about multiple displays in another thread.

CBJ wrote:
There are technical reasons why this wouldn't work, but a more important factor is that it would utterly destroy the immersion. Being able to move interactive displays within your cockpit might be nice, provided it made sense within the 3D game environment, but then they couldn't be Windows-windows. Making them Windows-windows and being able to drag them around your desktop would dump you back in the real world in a most unpleasant way.


CBJ is wrong. Plain wrong. Immersion is not provided by displaying a fixed cockpit on a (in my case) 25" monitor with flowery wallpaper behind it. Immersion comes from the gameplay that lets you ignore the flowery stuff, and focus on the game. Moveable windows, no problem if you get the game right.

Now if X4 used a 360 VR system going, he might have a point.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Q
Pancake Award Winner 2017




Joined: 20 Nov 2009



PostPosted: Fri, 24. Nov 17, 10:33    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

gbjbaanb wrote:
patient zero wrote:
I asked about multiple displays in another thread.

CBJ wrote:
There are technical reasons why this wouldn't work, but a more important factor is that it would utterly destroy the immersion. Being able to move interactive displays within your cockpit might be nice, provided it made sense within the 3D game environment, but then they couldn't be Windows-windows. Making them Windows-windows and being able to drag them around your desktop would dump you back in the real world in a most unpleasant way.


CBJ is wrong. Plain wrong. Immersion is not provided by displaying a fixed cockpit on a (in my case) 25" monitor with flowery wallpaper behind it. Immersion comes from the gameplay that lets you ignore the flowery stuff, and focus on the game. Moveable windows, no problem if you get the game right.


Immersion comes exactly from the flowery wallpaper behind the gameplay. If this wouldn't be the case, you would be able to "play" any spreadsheet software by calling it a space game.


_________________
Morkonan, Emperor of the Unaffiliated Territories of the Principality of OFF-TOPIC, wrote:
I have come to answer your questions! The answers are "Yes" and "Probably" as well as "No" and "Maybe", but I'm not sure in which order they should be given.

xkcd: Duty calls
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Cdaragorn



MEDALMEDALMEDAL

Joined: 20 Sep 2005
Posts: 96 on topic
Location: USA
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Mon, 27. Nov 17, 14:53    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

The Q wrote:
gbjbaanb wrote:
patient zero wrote:
I asked about multiple displays in another thread.

CBJ wrote:
There are technical reasons why this wouldn't work, but a more important factor is that it would utterly destroy the immersion. Being able to move interactive displays within your cockpit might be nice, provided it made sense within the 3D game environment, but then they couldn't be Windows-windows. Making them Windows-windows and being able to drag them around your desktop would dump you back in the real world in a most unpleasant way.


CBJ is wrong. Plain wrong. Immersion is not provided by displaying a fixed cockpit on a (in my case) 25" monitor with flowery wallpaper behind it. Immersion comes from the gameplay that lets you ignore the flowery stuff, and focus on the game. Moveable windows, no problem if you get the game right.


Immersion comes exactly from the flowery wallpaper behind the gameplay. If this wouldn't be the case, you would be able to "play" any spreadsheet software by calling it a space game.


It's called using your imagination. You can absolutely have an immersive experience from a game in a spreadsheet. Gameplay is the only thing that determines a good immersive experience.

CBJ is completely wrong here. It honestly sounds like the excuse they made back with rebirth for not letting you fly capital ships by telling us it's boring. You don't get to decide for us what we do and don't enjoy. It is a far less immersive experience for me to not be able to pull another window over with extra info that's important to what I'm doing right now.


_________________
"All that is gold does not glitter; not all those who wander are lost.
The old that is strong does not wither, Deep roots are not reached by the frost." -- J.R.R. Tolkein
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Cdaragorn



MEDALMEDALMEDAL

Joined: 20 Sep 2005
Posts: 96 on topic
Location: USA
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Mon, 27. Nov 17, 14:57    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

patient zero wrote:
I asked about multiple displays in another thread.

CBJ wrote:
There are technical reasons why this wouldn't work, but a more important factor is that it would utterly destroy the immersion. Being able to move interactive displays within your cockpit might be nice, provided it made sense within the 3D game environment, but then they couldn't be Windows-windows. Making them Windows-windows and being able to drag them around your desktop would dump you back in the real world in a most unpleasant way.


That's odd. I thought they were using Vulkan. Assuming they are, there isn't a single technical barrier to doing this. I'd really like to know why he thinks there is.


_________________
"All that is gold does not glitter; not all those who wander are lost.
The old that is strong does not wither, Deep roots are not reached by the frost." -- J.R.R. Tolkein
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ketraar
Moderator (PortuguÍs)
Moderator (PortuguÍs)

MEDALMEDAL

Joined: 21 May 2004
Posts: 8497 on topic
Location: Guimar„es (Portugal)
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Mon, 27. Nov 17, 16:43    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

Cdaragorn wrote:
You don't get to decide for us what we do and don't enjoy.

You are wrong here though. A company making any product will have to decide beforehand what "you" will enjoy and what not. The confusion only lies within the notion that "you" stands for you personally and not as an audience composed of many "yous".

My other beef is then with the irony of being in a devs forum, telling them how they should make their game. Rolling Eyes

Still I dont think that CBJ put much emphasis on the technical part as such and defined it as more of a design choice, which is where the irony can be found of who gets to tell who how the game should be made. Razz

MFG

Ketraar

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
patient zero





Joined: 25 Mar 2007
Posts: 305 on topic
Location: NC, USA
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Tue, 28. Nov 17, 02:58    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

Cdaragorn wrote:
CBJ wrote:
There are technical reasons why this wouldn't work, but a more important factor is that it would utterly destroy the immersion. Being able to move interactive displays within your cockpit might be nice, provided it made sense within the 3D game environment, but then they couldn't be Windows-windows. Making them Windows-windows and being able to drag them around your desktop would dump you back in the real world in a most unpleasant way.


That's odd. I thought they were using Vulkan. Assuming they are, there isn't a single technical barrier to doing this. I'd really like to know why he thinks there is.


Windows doesn't allow more than one window to be active, therefor you can't have one window active on one monitor and another window simultaneously active on another monitor. It isn't that MS couldn't do it, they just chose not to.


_________________
This is only a virtual reality.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
RainerPrem



MEDALMEDALMEDAL

Joined: 18 Jan 2006
Posts: 1348 on topic

Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Tue, 28. Nov 17, 07:27    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

patient zero wrote:

Windows doesn't allow more than one window to be active, therefor you can't have one window active on one monitor and another window simultaneously active on another monitor. It isn't that MS couldn't do it, they just chose not to.


Hi,

it's a little different.

There can be only one window which has the keyboard focus. This is marked as the active window, so the user can see, where his next keystroke goes to. Today many programs use their own style of decoration, so it is possible to have several equally looking windows. But this is not in the least useful, since only one can have the focus.

cu
Rainer

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jack775544





Joined: 13 Dec 2011
Posts: 1116 on topic
Location: Australialand
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Tue, 28. Nov 17, 11:11    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

RainerPrem wrote:
patient zero wrote:

Windows doesn't allow more than one window to be active, therefor you can't have one window active on one monitor and another window simultaneously active on another monitor. It isn't that MS couldn't do it, they just chose not to.


Hi,

it's a little different.

There can be only one window which has the keyboard focus. This is marked as the active window, so the user can see, where his next keystroke goes to. Today many programs use their own style of decoration, so it is possible to have several equally looking windows. But this is not in the least useful, since only one can have the focus.

cu
Rainer


This is correct in terms of things that aren't in fullscreen but when it does come to fullscreen that is where things start to become a little funky. There is actually 2 fullscreen modes you can have, fullscreen windowed and exclusive fullscreen.
Fullscreen windowed is basically where the game is running in windowed mode but the application doens't have any borders. In this case having the OS manage secondary monitors would be alright since it is just more of the same.
Trouble starts to happen when you are in exclusive fullscreen, this means that the game completely controls 1 screen (there is no desktop behind it) so there is a much worse transition between game and other programs.

To deal with the issue of exclusive fullscreen the devs would have to enable different behaviour of in game components based on graphics settings which adds a whole layer of complexity onto things. For such a small company this just wouldn't be high priority.


_________________
1940s - Various "computers" are "programmed" using direct wiring and switches. Engineers do this in order to avoid the tabs vs spaces debate.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ajax34i





Joined: 08 Sep 2009
Posts: 1803 on topic

Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Thu, 30. Nov 17, 03:53    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

Capital ships can have as many screen devices on the bridge as are needed to display all sorts of external views, the map, comm logs, etc. The difficulty is in providing the same views / information when you're in an M3 / small fighter-class ship.

The difficulty is the fact that the player is a special snowflake who progresses from one measly scout ship (or whatever), to the commander of a possibly large fleet, and with an inflated ego to always demand to take personal control of any ship they own, without losing access to data or visual feeds about all their other ships.

One laughable solution could be text-to-speech. As in, you choose to jump into the control chair for that capital ship, fine, the captain stands up and moves out of the way, then stands behind you and recites to you the commentary of what's happening to the rest of your property. You don't get any screens, just a lot of audio commentary.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Cdaragorn



MEDALMEDALMEDAL

Joined: 20 Sep 2005
Posts: 96 on topic
Location: USA
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Fri, 1. Dec 17, 18:30    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

Ketraar wrote:
Cdaragorn wrote:
You don't get to decide for us what we do and don't enjoy.

You are wrong here though. A company making any product will have to decide beforehand what "you" will enjoy and what not. The confusion only lies within the notion that "you" stands for you personally and not as an audience composed of many "yous".

My other beef is then with the irony of being in a devs forum, telling them how they should make their game. Rolling Eyes

Still I dont think that CBJ put much emphasis on the technical part as such and defined it as more of a design choice, which is where the irony can be found of who gets to tell who how the game should be made. Razz

MFG

Ketraar


I honestly think you're gleaning meaning from my statement that has nothing to do with what I meant.
Of course they have to make difficult decisions about what they will and won't do in the game. That has nothing to do with my issue with CBJ's statement. If they just stuck to "I'm sorry, but that's just more than we can do with the time/resources we have" that's fine and a perfectly good explanation.
His statement clearly goes far beyond that and tries to tell me personally why I wouldn't enjoy what I think I want anyway. And no, addressing the statement to "everyone" does not make it different than addressing it to an individual. If it is not true of any individual in the entire group then it is simply even more false.
No one as far as I've seen is trying to tell them how the game should be made. We're expressing desire for a feature we think would be awesome. That's fine. There's no irony, you're pretending we're doing something we simply aren't.


_________________
"All that is gold does not glitter; not all those who wander are lost.
The old that is strong does not wither, Deep roots are not reached by the frost." -- J.R.R. Tolkein
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Cdaragorn



MEDALMEDALMEDAL

Joined: 20 Sep 2005
Posts: 96 on topic
Location: USA
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Fri, 1. Dec 17, 18:40    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

jack775544 wrote:

To deal with the issue of exclusive fullscreen the devs would have to enable different behaviour of in game components based on graphics settings which adds a whole layer of complexity onto things. For such a small company this just wouldn't be high priority.


There's no need to go to that kind of complexity to find a solution for this. One could easily just accept the user's choice to use multiple windows when the main one is in exclusive mode. We could easily just be using the other windows for information and have no need to directly interact with them.

Another simple approach would be to not allow multiple windows when the main one is in exclusive mode. Both of these solutions wouldn't require anything other than the graphics settings to even be aware that there are multiple windows.


_________________
"All that is gold does not glitter; not all those who wander are lost.
The old that is strong does not wither, Deep roots are not reached by the frost." -- J.R.R. Tolkein
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
brevi





Joined: 02 Jun 2012
Posts: 7 on topic

Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Wed, 3. Jan 18, 06:59    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

To be fare I'm not a developer so I don't know how hard it is to implement this feature even if just on a single screen.

But.....

Welcome to 2009 WoW
http://www.matrox.com/graphics/surroundgaming/media/supported_games/thumbnails/w_of_w/wow8.jpg

And Rift from 2011 (picture is large, I didn't want to post it)
https://i.ytimg.com/vi/FoHti-gHu74/maxresdefault.jpg

These are old (ancient?) games that can do what we would like a new game to do.

Full disclosure: WoW does not support that ability natively but UI elements can be moved around with some modding. Rift natively allows you to remove/move UI elements around even on 1 screen.

I understand if Ego doesn't want to do it, but don't make it sound like it's technically impossible.

My humble two cents.


{Images posted directly to the forums should not be greater than 640x480 or 100kb, oversize image now linked - Terre}

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic Reply to topic Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum
Control Panel
Login Data
The time now is Fri, 20. Apr 18, 08:55

All times are GMT + 2 Hours


Board Security

Copyright © EGOSOFT 1989-2018
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Template created by Avatar & BurnIt!
Debug: page generation = 0.15209 seconds, sql queries = 29