EnglishGermanFrenchRussianItalianSpanish
Log inRegister
 
Strange Ship Sudden Undocking Issue.
Post new topic This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies. Goto page 1, 2  Next
View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
Bjazz68





Joined: 05 Jul 2008

Location: London

PostPosted: Sun, 5. Mar 17, 18:22    Post subject: Strange Ship Sudden Undocking Issue. Reply with quote Print

Hi Guys, me again!

I have four ships now due to some great advice here regarding combat and capping, and I had them all docked at the Argon Shipyard at the end of a playing session.

When I loaded the latest game save which had my Buster as the active ship, 2 of my other ships were suddenly shown as undocked in the Argon Prime sector map and in the process of docking back at the shipyard, which luckily they both did. But I have no idea why they were undocked in the first place when I did not instruct this.

Is this normal, has it happened to any of you?

Thanks,
bjazz Smile

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Doktor Teufel





Joined: 22 Mar 2006
Posts: 221 on topic
Location: Roanoke, VA
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Sun, 5. Mar 17, 19:44    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

I've never run into this, or at least I've never noticed it, but did you see the ships visually to confirm that they were physically undocked, or did you only see it happen on the sector map?

That might at least help to narrow it down a bit. It could just be an unusual quirk in the sector map in the aftermath of loading.

I assume you and all of your ships were in-sector at the time (that's what it sounds like, but I'm just double-checking).

I can't right this moment, but I'll head over to a shipyard later and test to see if some of my ships exhibit similar behavior.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail AIM Address
Dreez





Joined: 10 Mar 2009
Posts: 792 on topic
Location: In my pants
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Sun, 5. Mar 17, 20:12    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

Sometimes playerships can get a low priority on a full docks and i've seen my own ships undock when i enter sectors (very very rare).
Yesterday i had 10 Super Mistrals docked at the Home of Light Terracorp station and one of them
got undocked because an NPC-freighter wanted to dock.

I hope that answers ur question. Welcome to the best 4X game ever made !.


_________________
Of all the things i've lost, i miss my mind the most.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Doktor Teufel





Joined: 22 Mar 2006
Posts: 221 on topic
Location: Roanoke, VA
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Sun, 5. Mar 17, 20:49    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

I know that NPC stations will boot your ships to make room for NPCs, but I wasn't aware that your ships will automatically try to re-dock. If so, perhaps it depends on what software/commands you're running (if any).

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail AIM Address
Alan Phipps
Moderator (English)
Moderator (English)

MEDALMEDALMEDAL

Joined: 16 Apr 2004
Posts: 16948 on topic
Location: Stonehenge, UK
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Sun, 5. Mar 17, 21:04    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

Shipyards only allocate one bay for player use. Often large military NPC patrols (eg capital plus escort) will arrive and kick out any additional player ships.

Usually your ships with no orders will try to redock when the docks are clear again, but that is not guaranteed and may fail because of reservations from other incoming NPCs.

In the case of player-owned followers/escorts, if the leading ship does not redock right at the first opportunity then the followers will not try to redock either.


_________________
A dog has a master; a cat has domestic staff.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jlehtone



MEDALMEDALMEDAL

Joined: 23 Apr 2005
Posts: 16865 on topic
Location: GalNet BBS
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Sun, 5. Mar 17, 21:33    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

Alan Phipps wrote:
Shipyards only allocate one bay for player use.

Furthermore, the "traditional/common" shipyard model has only one "hub" for small ships; 5 clamps.

Whan a station can accommodate no more than 5 ships, the competition for the 4 clamps is fierce.


More than once I've been on a delivery mission and refused docking rights to a Factory. Either my other ship was already docked there (using the "one reseved for player" bay) or enroute to the station (rpobably in the same sector).


One can buy an unlimited number of ships from a Shipyard with no traffic congestion. It is only after they undock for the first time that they become "real and counted for".


On the other hand, if I buy 10 ships, make 9 of them follow the 10th, and order that "leader" to dock a different SY, they all try to dock there, but at most 4 of the followers can be docked at any time and the docking/undocking is continuous/frequent OOS.


_________________
Goner Pancake Protector X
Insanity included at no extra charge.
There is no Box. I am the sand.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Doktor Teufel





Joined: 22 Mar 2006
Posts: 221 on topic
Location: Roanoke, VA
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Sun, 5. Mar 17, 22:12    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

jlehtone wrote:
One can buy an unlimited number of ships from a Shipyard with no traffic congestion. It is only after they undock for the first time that they become "real and counted for".


I don't know that I ever knew this. Of course, I've forgotten a lot of stuff in the... seven years since I last played?

At this moment I'm taking my Ariadne to scoop up some CLS training M5s and get them all equipped, and I was wondering about exactly that. Perfect timing. Thanks!

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail AIM Address
jorganos





Joined: 12 Aug 2004
Posts: 320 on topic

Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Mon, 6. Mar 17, 00:12    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

Just yesterday I wanted to buy a used ship from a shipyard just to resell it at once, and after I talked to its pilot to make the deal, the ship had undocked, and needed longer to re-dock than my at that moment really tight time and financial schedule could tolerate.

It is possible to dock more than one small player-owned ship at a regular shipyard, just not during rush-hour. If you have a hired TL docked to the same ship yard, its escort will often block four of the five available docking slots. Command it to undock, and enjoy five empty docking slots...


_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Doktor Teufel





Joined: 22 Mar 2006
Posts: 221 on topic
Location: Roanoke, VA
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Mon, 6. Mar 17, 00:30    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

As long as there's a thread about docking, I might as well ask here. I tried to remotely dock my new Demeter with my Ariadne while aboard the Ariadne, in addition to setting the Ariadne as the Demeter's home base.

The Demeter moved to the external docking port and then seemed to do very little for a minor eternity, even with SETA going. I tried ordering it to home base, thinking maybe something was off, and it promptly exploded. Laughing

I'm guessing it just takes a minor eternity to dock when controlled by the AI? Anyone noticed any issues docking TS with Ariadne/Guppy? I just reloaded docked it myself with a docking computer instead, so all's well that ends well.

Edit: It's probably just really, really, really slow... and I might have moved the carrier slightly. All I know is that I sat there with SETA on for a full minute and it just seemed to sit below the carrier at a slight angle doing nothing.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail AIM Address
jorganos





Joined: 12 Aug 2004
Posts: 320 on topic

Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Mon, 6. Mar 17, 10:02    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

Doktor Teufel wrote:
As long as there's a thread about docking, I might as well ask here. I tried to remotely dock my new Demeter with my Ariadne while aboard the Ariadne, in addition to setting the Ariadne as the Demeter's home base.

The Demeter moved to the external docking port and then seemed to do very little for a minor eternity, even with SETA going. I tried ordering it to home base, thinking maybe something was off, and it promptly exploded. Laughing


Docking on carriers often has issues with collision avoidance. I've seen this behavior over and over again with fighter class ships while sitting in a TM or frigate.

One way to deal with it is to move the carrier slightly and repeat the command.

My usual way of dealing with this is to transfer the docking computer from the carrier, transfer myself, dock with the docking computer and transfer the bloody thing back to the carrier.

Doktor Teufel wrote:

I'm guessing it just takes a minor eternity to dock when controlled by the AI? Anyone noticed any issues docking TS with Ariadne/Guppy? I just reloaded docked it myself with a docking computer instead, so all's well that ends well.


I prefer to do that while OOS, obviating all collision alert problems.
Doktor Teufel wrote:

Edit: It's probably just really, really, really slow... and I might have moved the carrier slightly. All I know is that I sat there with SETA on for a full minute and it just seemed to sit below the carrier at a slight angle doing nothing.

SETA is to blame here. You are taking necessary steps out of the collision avoidance. What works fine against M5 attacking a station works against ships docking on carriers, too.

SETA can also make you miss the event horizon of gates or accelerators if you're approaching in a sufficiently fast vessel. Imagine the same gap crossed by your docking vessel.


_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Alan Phipps
Moderator (English)
Moderator (English)

MEDALMEDALMEDAL

Joined: 16 Apr 2004
Posts: 16948 on topic
Location: Stonehenge, UK
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Mon, 6. Mar 17, 12:07    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

My theory about that is that the AI at that point cannot simply resolve the pathing maths between several non-straightforward route or docking point options. Move or just turn the carrier, or just move the docking ship (I tend to give it a 'fly to the carrier location' command before reissuing the docking order) and it may then be able to choose the best docking path.

Of course if it is already very close to the carrier at that point such that collision is imminent on any unfortunate movement or turn, then I guess that would be an internal war between the docking and collision avoidance orders causing it to go into a coma. Having the docking ship idle or fly away from the carrier for a bit might be an answer, but not guaranteed.

Personally in such situations I transfer to the docking ship and use a docking computer to insta-dock safely.


_________________
A dog has a master; a cat has domestic staff.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Doktor Teufel





Joined: 22 Mar 2006
Posts: 221 on topic
Location: Roanoke, VA
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Mon, 6. Mar 17, 17:04    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

jorganos wrote:
SETA can also make you miss the event horizon of gates or accelerators if you're approaching in a sufficiently fast vessel. Imagine the same gap crossed by your docking vessel.


Sorry, I should have been more clear: I didn't turn SETA on until after the TS had seemed to become motionless. Believe me, I know better than to use SETA when the AI is trying to dock just about anything (smaller ships docking with large stations is usually fine, if traffic is light).

I've not yet had issues docking fighters to the Ariadne, although at one point I punched the throttle before all my fighters had landed, only later realizing that I still had a few trying to land at the low AI docking sequence speed, trailing along behind me for a good minute or two.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail AIM Address
jlehtone



MEDALMEDALMEDAL

Joined: 23 Apr 2005
Posts: 16865 on topic
Location: GalNet BBS
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Mon, 6. Mar 17, 17:37    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

Alan Phipps wrote:
My theory about that is that the AI at that point cannot simply resolve the pathing maths between several non-straightforward route or docking point options.

Quite likely.

Fighters docking to Carrier in X3R had a similar tendency. Moving the Carrier a bit usually did change to "calculations" favourably.

IIRC, docking to Stations can stall too.


I general there is no place like OOS.


_________________
Goner Pancake Protector X
Insanity included at no extra charge.
There is no Box. I am the sand.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Bjazz68





Joined: 05 Jul 2008

Location: London

PostPosted: Mon, 6. Mar 17, 18:49    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

Hi guys,

Thank you for telling me that, I just assumed that once you docked any number of ships somewhere they would just stay there forever or until you sold them.
I now have 5 ships, two of which I gained through capping and they are all at the argon federal shipyard, so I guess I will have to sell them off, I was hoping to slowly build my trading fleet for auto trading, and a wingman small starter fleet for capping. But if this undocking issue keeps happening then it will make it really hard to monitor things throughout each session.

That's a shame, I guess I'll have to figure something else out.
Thanks for letting me know what the deal is,

cheers,
bjazz Smile

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jlehtone



MEDALMEDALMEDAL

Joined: 23 Apr 2005
Posts: 16865 on topic
Location: GalNet BBS
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Mon, 6. Mar 17, 19:06    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

Argon and Teladi Trading Docks have an infinite docking bay for fighters.

Equipment Docks can hold 15(?) non-capital ships. Likewise, arger Factories (e.g. SPP XL) have multiple docking hubs.

(Some?) Larger shipyards have internal docking bay for non-capital ships. Check Cloudbase South-East, if you are in the Argpn Prime region.


_________________
Goner Pancake Protector X
Insanity included at no extra charge.
There is no Box. I am the sand.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies. Goto page 1, 2  Next
 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum
Control Panel
Login Data
The time now is Sun, 19. Nov 17, 14:18

All times are GMT + 2 Hours


Board Security

Copyright © EGOSOFT 1989-2017
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Template created by Avatar & BurnIt!
Debug: page generation = 0.62037 seconds, sql queries = 29