EnglishGermanFrenchRussianItalianSpanish
Log inRegister
 
[Mod by Clownmug] Boarding Options (updated on 17.03.2015)
Post new topic Reply to topic Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next
View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
Sparky Sparkycorp
Moderator (English)
Moderator (English)



Joined: 30 Mar 2004
Posts: 6816 on topic
Location: UK
Thank you for registering your game
modified
PostPosted: Sun, 2. Nov 14, 01:17    Post subject: [Mod by Clownmug] Boarding Options (updated on 17.03.2015) Reply with quote Print

Posting to let people know about the following Steam Workshop mod. It personally made my day for the simple reason it can stop Yisha selecting the Drone Bay and Capital Shield Generators during boarding Smile (but there are other options too!)

The author (Clownmug) is called camus on Steam.

camus wrote:

Here's a simple mod that adds a few menu prompts for handling a boarding mission. This mod also adds a display that shows you marines' strength and the target ship's boarding resistance.

Here are the current menu options at each part of the boarding process:

Stage 1 - Pre-Boarding Options

Option 1: Disable Engines/Jumpdrive
Option 2: Disable Weapons
Option 3: Launch Pods
Option 4: Abort

Stage 1B - Target Moving Too Fast / Pods Not Launched Yet

Option 1: Disable Engines
Option 2: Attempt Boarding
Option 3: Abort

Stage 2 - Pods Landed / Support Options

Option 1: Normal Support
Option 2: Target Weapons Only
Option 3: Use Hacking Only

Stage 2B - Pods Landed / Hacking Options
Option 1: Start/Continue Hacking
Option 2: Find A New Target
Option 3: Disable Hacking
----------- 
Change log

Version 1.10:
- Updated marine strength calculation.

Version 1.09:
A repeated hint noise was fixed.

Version 1.08: 
- Added display of target ship's boarding resistance and your marines' total strength.

Version 1.07: 
- Updated to work with 3.0.

http://steamcommunity.com/sharedfiles/filedetails/?id=330045116


_________________
X:R mod list. X:R Wiki.
Updated TC/AP Bonus Pack. AP TS efficiency.


Last edited by Sparky Sparkycorp on Sun, 2. Aug 15, 10:21; edited 6 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wwdragon





Joined: 01 Oct 2007
Posts: 2583 on topic

Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Mon, 3. Nov 14, 01:22    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

Interesting. I would like to be able to just use hacking on some ships, since they are in hot zones.


_________________
Editing posts since long before I remember.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
LordSneazy





Joined: 11 Dec 2013



PostPosted: Wed, 12. Nov 14, 20:13    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

When I try to board a ship it now just explodes....

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Sparky Sparkycorp
Moderator (English)
Moderator (English)



Joined: 30 Mar 2004
Posts: 6816 on topic
Location: UK
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Wed, 12. Nov 14, 20:39    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

LordSneazy wrote:
When I try to board a ship it now just explodes....

Is that in v2.51 or the beta? The mod hasn't been updated again yet.


_________________
X:R mod list. X:R Wiki.
Updated TC/AP Bonus Pack. AP TS efficiency.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
LordSneazy





Joined: 11 Dec 2013



PostPosted: Thu, 13. Nov 14, 08:50    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

3.00 Beta2

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Sparky Sparkycorp
Moderator (English)
Moderator (English)



Joined: 30 Mar 2004
Posts: 6816 on topic
Location: UK
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Thu, 13. Nov 14, 09:41    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

Thanks, good to know.

The author communicates through the Steam forum linked above, feel free to let him know.


_________________
X:R mod list. X:R Wiki.
Updated TC/AP Bonus Pack. AP TS efficiency.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Clownmug





Joined: 11 Dec 2013
Posts: 183 on topic

Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Thu, 13. Nov 14, 16:53    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

There's a lot of bugs in the beta right now, don't know if that has anything to do with a ship randomly exploding though. Is it possible they were being shot up by other ships/nearby stations?

(I'm the mod author btw) Wink

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Litauen





Joined: 22 Nov 2013



PostPosted: Thu, 13. Nov 14, 18:14    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

This mod works great for me on 3.00 beta2.

Capped ~10 Titurels with it. Very convenient when it is not required to blow engines/jumpdrive when capping.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
LordSneazy





Joined: 11 Dec 2013



PostPosted: Thu, 13. Nov 14, 18:58    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

I saved right before it happened reloaded and checked, and the ship had shields still working and hull left, everytime I send the marines, when they arrive it just explodes.

I don't know if it has anything to do with it but it was a mission created balor.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Sparky Sparkycorp
Moderator (English)
Moderator (English)



Joined: 30 Mar 2004
Posts: 6816 on topic
Location: UK
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Fri, 12. Dec 14, 01:23    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

Clownmug wrote:

(I'm the mod author btw) Wink


Mod Author! Hi Smile

Sorry, I totally missed you wrote this here....

Thanks very much for taking on-board my feedback about the Drone Bay and Capital Shields Wink


_________________
X:R mod list. X:R Wiki.
Updated TC/AP Bonus Pack. AP TS efficiency.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NZ-Wanderer





Joined: 05 Aug 2004
Posts: 1463 on topic
Location: Christchurch, New Zealand
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Fri, 12. Dec 14, 01:29    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

Glad this has been updated for 3.0, I think I kinda gonna need it really bad now that capping ships is next to impossible. Now at least I should be able to take out all defenses before I send my marines over Smile


_________________
Link to the list of Mods working in 2.50 - 4.3x

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
w.evans





Joined: 18 Nov 2014
Posts: 2954 on topic

Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Sat, 10. Jan 15, 14:56    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

Hey Clownmug,

Just thought you might want to know that your recent change with the sound_library.xml is causing a minor issue with Litauen's use of sel="/soundlibrary/sound[@id='notification_hint']" in his capital ship bridge mod.

Have no idea what it does since I haven't yet landed on a capital since your update. Probably just some notifications on the bridge mod failing to fire.

And thought it best to report it here rather than in your steam workshop mod page. Please let me know if you would prefer reports posted there instead.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Clownmug





Joined: 11 Dec 2013
Posts: 183 on topic

Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Sun, 11. Jan 15, 04:39    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

w.evans wrote:
Hey Clownmug,

Just thought you might want to know that your recent change with the sound_library.xml is causing a minor issue with Litauen's use of sel="/soundlibrary/sound[@id='notification_hint']" in his capital ship bridge mod.

Have no idea what it does since I haven't yet landed on a capital since your update. Probably just some notifications on the bridge mod failing to fire.

And thought it best to report it here rather than in your steam workshop mod page. Please let me know if you would prefer reports posted there instead.


The display for "Target Resistance" and "Marine Strength" uses the <show_help> command which the capital ship bridge mod also uses to show hull and shield percentages. That notifcation_hint sound goes off every time the <show_help> is used. I just copied the code from the capital bridge mod to remove the sound. As far as I can tell there should be no problems.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
w.evans





Joined: 18 Nov 2014
Posts: 2954 on topic

Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Sun, 11. Jan 15, 10:32    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

Ah, sorry about that. I checked after you mentioned it, and it turns out that there seems to be a conflict because both mods are trying to remove the same thing. Should have checked before I submitted the report. Sorry, again.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Rubini





Joined: 07 May 2007
Posts: 451 on topic

Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Tue, 13. Jan 15, 04:39    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

Hi mate,

I like so much Boarding Options mod, thanks a lot by your effort on it. I also liked so much the "Balance' of forces that MR mod does. But I was fixed on find a way to have also the prescan phase optional as you did for hacker phase. This is exactly what i achieve, in a semi automatically way, preserving both mods total functionality. If you want to look at the code please let me know where to send it. (i just added 3 new lines and moved a small 3 lines block on your BO boarding.xml file)

I just posted the below on Marine Rebalance mod thread (and excuse me my english, isn´t my native language):

Quote:
Finally achieve to make the prescan totally optional. No need to exclude any ship (neither Balor anymore). The changes were made on BO mod. I added three lines and moved a small 3 lines block (obviously observing the XR original boarding.xml file). Now when you choose on the onscreen BO menu to "Disable engines/jumpdrive" or "Disable weapons" the routine will turn on the prescan just for that options automatically. If you are in a hurry or don´t want prescan you can then just choose "launch pods". If you already disabled the engines/jumpdrive or weapons but want the prescan, no problems, just choose one of them that you will do a prescan followed by the launch of pods.

This was for me the best compromise. Now the Prescan is really optional and strategic. I can´t publish it because it made small changes on BO mod itself. But if anyone want it we could ask to BO author to make it, perhaps, an optional "official" BO mod. It don´t change any functionality of both MR or Bo mod. Even the MR prescan output changes on fight progress is preserved, not was changed.

It was also possible to add a new on screen menu like "Make Prescan" but this will then change the BO mod a bit too much, so I choose to made it semi automatic, works without flaws and it is that simple in syntax.


Rubini.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic Reply to topic Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next
 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum
Control Panel
Login Data
The time now is Mon, 20. Aug 18, 01:25

All times are GMT + 2 Hours

[ Disclaimer / Impressum ] | [ Privacy Policy / Datenschutz ]

Board Security

Copyright © EGOSOFT 1989-2018
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Template created by Avatar & BurnIt!
Debug: page generation = 0.14040 seconds, sql queries = 30