Seperate versions of X Rebirth running on the same computer.

General discussions about X Rebirth.

Moderator: Moderators for English X Forum

birdtable
Posts: 1691
Joined: Sat, 7. Feb 04, 21:42
x4

Seperate versions of X Rebirth running on the same computer.

Post by birdtable » Sun, 27. Mar 16, 21:07

My grandson (10 yrs) wants to learn to play and I was wondering if it possible to have 2 versions running,, one unmodded while he learns along side my modded version..... I thought if I bought from GOG I could then install on 2nd hard drive....is this feasible or would save locations etc cause problems...?

Sparky Sparkycorp
Moderator (English)
Moderator (English)
Posts: 7876
Joined: Tue, 30. Mar 04, 12:28
x4

Post by Sparky Sparkycorp » Sun, 27. Mar 16, 21:21

I think non-Steam saves should be in a seperate place to your Steam saves because only the Steam a save location will include your SteamId in the address string.

That said, unfortunately I don't know if two installs will work OK together or not.

birdtable
Posts: 1691
Joined: Sat, 7. Feb 04, 21:42
x4

Post by birdtable » Sun, 27. Mar 16, 21:27

Thanks Sparky, all my Egosoft games save into "documents" so that is what my main concern is...

UniTrader
Moderator (Script&Mod)
Moderator (Script&Mod)
Posts: 13949
Joined: Sun, 20. Nov 05, 23:45
x4

Post by UniTrader » Sun, 27. Mar 16, 21:34

ubuntufreakdragon made some scripts which make it possible to have serveral diffrent states of XR and keep them all seperate.. not sure where the Topic is though..
if not stated otherwise everything i post is licensed under WTFPL

Ich mache keine S&M-Auftragsarbeiten, aber wenn es fragen gibt wie man etwas umsetzen kann helfe ich gerne weiter ;)

I wont do Script&Mod Request work, but if there are questions how to do something i will GLaDly help ;)

Sparky Sparkycorp
Moderator (English)
Moderator (English)
Posts: 7876
Joined: Tue, 30. Mar 04, 12:28
x4

Post by Sparky Sparkycorp » Sun, 27. Mar 16, 21:40

UniTrader wrote:ubuntufreakdragon made some scripts which make it possible to have serveral diffrent states of XR and keep them all seperate.. not sure where the Topic is though..
Ah, good thinking. This is the guide, I think:

https://www.egosoft.com:8444/confluence ... ups+for+XR

birdtable
Posts: 1691
Joined: Sat, 7. Feb 04, 21:42
x4

Post by birdtable » Sun, 27. Mar 16, 21:49

:) The heading in red .... caused some consternation ... :? :? :?

Copy and paste the save folder appears to be favourite at the moment, he will have to learn a modded version.. :)

User avatar
X2-Illuminatus
Moderator (Deutsch)
Moderator (Deutsch)
Posts: 21934
Joined: Sun, 2. Apr 06, 16:38
x4

Post by X2-Illuminatus » Sun, 27. Mar 16, 22:01

Since version 4.0 there's a NoSteam.exe available from the X Rebirth Downloads page. Creating a second installation should be as easy as copying the whole X Rebirth installation folder to a different place and extracting the X Rebirth NoSteam.exe to that new directory. This is then totally independet from the X Rebirth Steam installation, even the saves are by default stored in a different directory, as Sparky already mentioned. See also this FAQ article for reference.

With a game version from GOG creating a second installation by copying the whole installation folder should work the same. Whereby you then most-likely run into the described problem of the saves being stored in the same location.
Die komplette X-Roman-Reihe jetzt als Kindle E-Books! (Farnhams Legende, Nopileos, X3: Yoshiko, X3: Hüter der Tore, X3: Wächter der Erde)

Neuauflage der fünf X-Romane als Taschenbuch

The official X-novels Farnham's Legend and Nopileos as Kindle e-books! (NOW also available: X3: Yoshiko!)

User avatar
ubuntufreakdragon
Posts: 4456
Joined: Thu, 23. Jun 11, 14:57
x4

Post by ubuntufreakdragon » Sun, 27. Mar 16, 22:13

My Guide does exactly what you need as long as you understand it, the is no need for multiple installations like in the previous games, we no longer need fake-patches, as XR now allows en/disabling multiple mod directories, though the content.xml, so all you need to do is having multiple installations of the content.xml, btw. this file is in your user folder so you wont get any advantage though multiple installations anyway.
My X3 Mods

XRebirth, things left to patch:
In General; On Firing NPC's; In De Vries; Out Of Zone; And the Antiwishlist

strude
Posts: 1435
Joined: Wed, 3. Aug 05, 08:15
x4

Post by strude » Mon, 28. Mar 16, 03:22

I would have thought the CPU load would be the bigger issue here. Even top rated PCs struggle at times. Having two X Universe simulations would be massive.
Gaming PC: Gigabyte H270M-D3H | i7 7700 | 16Gb DDR4 | Gigabyte GTX1060 6Gb OC | Asus Xonar DGX | Window 10 Home 64bit | Samsung 256Gb SSD

UniTrader
Moderator (Script&Mod)
Moderator (Script&Mod)
Posts: 13949
Joined: Sun, 20. Nov 05, 23:45
x4

Post by UniTrader » Mon, 28. Mar 16, 03:33

the point here is to have two diffrent mod configurations not messing with each other, not running 2 instances at the same time...
if not stated otherwise everything i post is licensed under WTFPL

Ich mache keine S&M-Auftragsarbeiten, aber wenn es fragen gibt wie man etwas umsetzen kann helfe ich gerne weiter ;)

I wont do Script&Mod Request work, but if there are questions how to do something i will GLaDly help ;)

strude
Posts: 1435
Joined: Wed, 3. Aug 05, 08:15
x4

Post by strude » Mon, 28. Mar 16, 03:40

UniTrader wrote:the point here is to have two diffrent mod configurations not messing with each other, not running 2 instances at the same time...
Ah yes. I re-read the OP and that makes more sense. I took the (para)phrase "running along side" to be running simultaneously.
Gaming PC: Gigabyte H270M-D3H | i7 7700 | 16Gb DDR4 | Gigabyte GTX1060 6Gb OC | Asus Xonar DGX | Window 10 Home 64bit | Samsung 256Gb SSD

User avatar
Lander1979
Posts: 955
Joined: Mon, 4. Aug 14, 05:18
x4

Post by Lander1979 » Mon, 28. Mar 16, 05:06

If you don't want to use scripts, The manual process would be this;

To go from "Modded" to "Vanilla";
1. Back up your Modded "\Extensions" folder somewhere safe.
2. Back up your Modded "\Saves" folder somewhere safe.
3. In Game disable all extensions and steam updates (Except for DLC if you want to use it).
4. Delete the contents of the \Extensions Folder (Except for DLC if you want to use it).
5. Delete the contents of the "\Saves" Folder.
6. If you have Vanilla Saves backed up somewhere safe, copy them back to the empty "\Saves" folder.
Game should now be in "Vanilla" Mode.

To Go from "Vanilla" to "Modded";
1. Back up your vanilla "\Saves" Folder to a safe location.
2. Delete the contents of the "\Saves" Folder.
3. Copy the back up Modded Saves to the "\Saves" Folder.
4. Copy the back up of Extensions to "\Extensions" folder.
5. Launch game and enable extensions and steam updates.
6. Re-Launch Game to enable changes and update Mods.
Game should now be in "Modded" Mode.

This is the method I use, although I rarely swap it around. If you are swapping on a regular basis it would probably be a lot easier to use ubuntufreakdragon's Script method.
0101...0011...0011...0101...2!

birdtable
Posts: 1691
Joined: Sat, 7. Feb 04, 21:42
x4

Post by birdtable » Mon, 28. Mar 16, 11:30

@ ubuntufreakdragon ... Thanks but the "as long as you understand it" concluded that advice .... :)

@ Lander1979 ... Thanks but too many steps where errors could be introduced ..... :)

@ X2-Illuminatus .... Perfect solution,, working ..... :)
Now has a clean vanilla game to learn on....

Next question ... How do I reset controls to the original default mouse / keyboard commands.......?
I had better add that the folder that stores the key bindings does not exist/or I cannot find in the 2nd game.

w.evans
Posts: 2962
Joined: Tue, 18. Nov 14, 17:23
x4

Post by w.evans » Mon, 28. Mar 16, 13:40

birdtable wrote:How do I reset controls to the original default mouse / keyboard commands.......?
On your new non-steam install? Think it should already be reset since it wouldn't be able to find your steam-install settings, although am not sure. Did it keep your old settings?

birdtable
Posts: 1691
Joined: Sat, 7. Feb 04, 21:42
x4

Post by birdtable » Mon, 28. Mar 16, 14:16

Hi w.e They appear to be reset with just one or two still showing joystick bindings, I have no joystick control. If I change those few back to default where would they be stored or would this not be a problem...

Post Reply

Return to “X Rebirth Universe”