[MOD] SilenceYouAll - Skip chatter!

The place to discuss scripting and game modifications for X Rebirth.

Moderators: Moderators for English X Forum, Scripting / Modding Moderators

pref
Posts: 5607
Joined: Sat, 10. Nov 12, 17:55
x4

Post by pref » Fri, 13. Nov 15, 14:52

strude wrote:removing the cut scene that plays when crew enter or exit the skunk.
I did this too now, removed every one of them.

Ezarkal
Posts: 1610
Joined: Wed, 22. Apr 15, 02:27
x4

Post by Ezarkal » Sat, 14. Nov 15, 17:47

Thanks for bringing back those "build complete" messages. Removing the animations was a nifty idea, too.

I gave it a good run yesterday. It works pretty well! I'll let you know if I find bugs or possible improvements.
Humans are deuterostomes, which means that when they develop in the womb the first opening they develop is the anus.
This means that at one point you were nothing but an asshole.

Some people never develop beyond this stage.

User avatar
YorrickVander
Posts: 2705
Joined: Tue, 29. Oct 13, 21:59
x4

Post by YorrickVander » Sat, 14. Nov 15, 18:01

Small suggestion, if not added already (currently testing with no mods), for notifications.xml :

Code: Select all

<remove sel="//cue[@name='Docking']"/>
for silent docking
X Rebirth - A Sirius Cybernetics Corporation Product

Split irritate visiting pilot with strange vocal patterns.

pref
Posts: 5607
Joined: Sat, 10. Nov 12, 17:55
x4

Post by pref » Sat, 14. Nov 15, 22:01

Ezarkal wrote:I gave it a good run yesterday. It works pretty well! I'll let you know if I find bugs or possible improvements.
Cheers! Let me know if there is more. The build complete was a nice find.


YorrickVander wrote:Small suggestion, if not added already (currently testing with no mods), for notifications.xml :

Code: Select all

<remove sel="//cue[@name='Docking']"/>
for silent docking

Thanks Yorrick!
I was just about to remove that, this helped me a lot finding the location.
Hiding that whole cue would have resulted in the the loss of 'max_upgrade' achievment and autosaves - so finally i removed only the welcome speech.

I also removed that sneaky ticking sound when shield regenerates.
First i thought my HDD was dying, then the CPU vent... finally i realized it was coming from the game, grrr :D

User avatar
YorrickVander
Posts: 2705
Joined: Tue, 29. Oct 13, 21:59
x4

Post by YorrickVander » Sun, 15. Nov 15, 01:03

That cue only does the speech from yisha and the station staff, undocking is not affected and autosaves continue to function on undock.
X Rebirth - A Sirius Cybernetics Corporation Product

Split irritate visiting pilot with strange vocal patterns.

pref
Posts: 5607
Joined: Sat, 10. Nov 12, 17:55
x4

Post by pref » Sun, 15. Nov 15, 01:16

strude wrote: Nar, all the information for the missions is provided in the text and animations. The spoken parts I removed are generic repetitive stuff like greetings/farewells/"So you want the job?"/"I knew you were the one for this job"/etc
Yeah, right. The hi/bye wasn't really necessary.. or tolerable after trying a few missions :D
Since control works while the main mission voice plays, i left that in. I need a sec or two to see whats in the briefing anyway.
YorrickVander wrote:That cue only does the speech from yisha and the station staff, undocking is not affected and autosaves continue to function on undock.
Oh.
I found these in subcues of "Docking":

Code: Select all

        <signal_cue cue="PrepareAutoSaveOnUndock"/>

        <unlock_achievement name="MAX_UPGRADES"/>
I thought if i remove the whole Docking cue these would never execute either. Might be im mistaken..?
I interpreted signal_cue as a manual trigger of that cue.

User avatar
YorrickVander
Posts: 2705
Joined: Tue, 29. Oct 13, 21:59
x4

Post by YorrickVander » Sun, 15. Nov 15, 10:03

You are both quite correct on re-examination. Odd however that on testing undocking still functioned as expected. Ignore my lazy modding! Score that one as E- more effort needed from the boy Vander.
X Rebirth - A Sirius Cybernetics Corporation Product

Split irritate visiting pilot with strange vocal patterns.

strude
Posts: 1471
Joined: Wed, 3. Aug 05, 08:15
x4

Post by strude » Sun, 15. Nov 15, 10:34

YorrickVander wrote:You are both quite correct on re-examination. Odd however that on testing undocking still functioned as expected. Ignore my lazy modding! Score that one as E- more effort needed from the boy Vander.
Did you test it by saving while docked, making the changes, then reloading and undocking? The undocking cue is a subcue of the docking cue. I'd assume that the docking cue is created when you dock, so that even if you changed the undocking cue (or removed it), the instance of the docking cue you currently had active wouldn't be affected, as that cue was already created with the unmodified undocking cue.

Either that, or maybe the change you made had an error that you didn't notice, and the change to the node was ignored?
Gaming PC: Gigabyte H270M-D3H | i7 7700 | 16Gb DDR4 | Gigabyte GTX1060 6Gb OC | Asus Xonar DGX | Window 10 Home 64bit | Samsung 256Gb SSD

pref
Posts: 5607
Joined: Sat, 10. Nov 12, 17:55
x4

Post by pref » Sun, 15. Nov 15, 14:33

Still weird that you got the autosave after undock. Not sure if my theory is 100% correct... maybe there is another trigger or such.

I decided to keep the welcome speech anyway - its rep dependent after all so holds some info. And i dont want to get too lonely :D

By the way i tried to use signal_cue but didn't work out.
Does that bypass the event conditions? Not really sure how it works.
I wanted to launch a que that had an event condition that was never true (i removed the command that was supposed to trigger it).
Not sure how to force a que to exec.

UniTrader
Moderator (Script&Mod)
Moderator (Script&Mod)
Posts: 14571
Joined: Sun, 20. Nov 05, 22:45
x4

Post by UniTrader » Sun, 15. Nov 15, 14:44

signal_cue only triggers cues which have the condition event_cue_signalled - default is they themselves are signalled

if you want to force a cue use force_cue but this will print an error to the debuglog because its not supposed to be used regulary...
if not stated otherwise everything i post is licensed under WTFPL

Ich mache keine S&M-Auftragsarbeiten, aber wenn es fragen gibt wie man etwas umsetzen kann helfe ich gerne weiter ;)

I wont do Script&Mod Request work, but if there are questions how to do something i will GLaDly help ;)

pref
Posts: 5607
Joined: Sat, 10. Nov 12, 17:55
x4

Post by pref » Sun, 15. Nov 15, 14:47

Thanks!
Is there a reference for all commands? I checked an MD pdf from ES but it seems to contain so little, just a few pages.

Sparky Sparkycorp
Moderator (English)
Moderator (English)
Posts: 8074
Joined: Tue, 30. Mar 04, 12:28
x4

Post by Sparky Sparkycorp » Sun, 15. Nov 15, 14:54

I'm not sure if what you need will be there or not but Ego regularly update some of their info pages on the wiki. The child pages below the following may help.

https://www.egosoft.com:8444/confluence ... ng+support

UniTrader
Moderator (Script&Mod)
Moderator (Script&Mod)
Posts: 14571
Joined: Sun, 20. Nov 05, 22:45
x4

Post by UniTrader » Sun, 15. Nov 15, 15:02

pref wrote:Thanks!
Is there a reference for all commands? I checked an MD pdf from ES but it seems to contain so little, just a few pages.
libraries/md.sxd, libraries/aiscript.xsd and libraries/common.xsd
also dont forget the scriptproperties.html
if not stated otherwise everything i post is licensed under WTFPL

Ich mache keine S&M-Auftragsarbeiten, aber wenn es fragen gibt wie man etwas umsetzen kann helfe ich gerne weiter ;)

I wont do Script&Mod Request work, but if there are questions how to do something i will GLaDly help ;)

pref
Posts: 5607
Joined: Sat, 10. Nov 12, 17:55
x4

Post by pref » Sun, 15. Nov 15, 15:22

Ops, thats unexpected.
Maybe even code completion could work in a better editor?
It even has hints, lol.

@Sparky: Thanks! I only found the MD doc so far, see there is UI info as well.

pref
Posts: 5607
Joined: Sat, 10. Nov 12, 17:55
x4

Post by pref » Thu, 19. Nov 15, 17:40

If anyone misses the refusal speech from NPCs let me know. I was not sure if those should be kept or not.
I mean the cases where the NPC cannot be hired, or they dont like you enough to provide guidance.
In these cases the UI just closes, but i was thinking someone might miss some feedback from the game. The disabled speech iirc is something like 'No!', or 'Im not an information store' and things like that.
I keep them disabled in case i get no feedback.

Sparky Sparkycorp
Moderator (English)
Moderator (English)
Posts: 8074
Joined: Tue, 30. Mar 04, 12:28
x4

Post by Sparky Sparkycorp » Thu, 19. Nov 15, 17:49

pref wrote:If anyone misses the refusal speech from NPCs let me know. I was not sure if those should be kept or not.
I mean the cases where the NPC cannot be hired, or they dont like you enough to provide guidance.
In these cases the UI just closes, but i was thinking someone might miss some feedback from the game. The disabled speech iirc is something like 'No!', or 'Im not an information store' and things like that.
I keep them disabled in case i get no feedback.
Playing vanilla at the moment so maybe it is a bit outside of scope but when looking for SmallTalking NPCs to hire as Trade Agents, if a hirable NPC speaks first, I use the reply of "No!" to tell me that the NPC can be a Trade Agent.

It's not a critical issue since if playing modded, there are mods to make small-talking and Trade Agent acquisition easier. Just mentioning for info really.

pref
Posts: 5607
Joined: Sat, 10. Nov 12, 17:55
x4

Post by pref » Thu, 19. Nov 15, 18:02

Thanks for the info!
So you mean the No! answer could be useful?

As far as i saw in each context the only possible outcome where the UI closes automatically are these refuse cases. So the UI autoclosing even without speech can only mean one thing in each situation - does this hold?
So for ex - if i did not miss anything - when the manager finishes the conversation, it means that he/she is not for hire without doubt.

Even if it is so, im not sure if the player might need a stronger message from the game, not just closing the window/selection menu.

I use some mods, and rarely ever smalltalk so there might be cases i missed.

Sparky Sparkycorp
Moderator (English)
Moderator (English)
Posts: 8074
Joined: Tue, 30. Mar 04, 12:28
x4

Post by Sparky Sparkycorp » Thu, 19. Nov 15, 18:20

pref wrote:Thanks for the info!
So you mean the No! answer could be useful?
Yes, but only in the specific case of hunting for Trade Agents AFAIK.
pref wrote: As far as i saw in each context the only possible outcome where the UI closes automatically are these refuse cases. So the UI autoclosing even without speech can only mean one thing in each situation - does this hold?
I'm not sure. In the general case of a randomly-spawned NPC saying "No!" to the hiring question, I think that yes, the UI will always close. However, IIRC, some specific mission-related NPCs can also have a convo UI that flashes open briefly and closed. Or maybe I am remembering wrong and it never opens (sorry, I can't be more specific from memory).
pref wrote: So for ex - if i did not miss anything - when the manager finishes the conversation, it means that he/she is not for hire without doubt.
I think that could be a bit ambiguous so I would say:

- If a SmallTalking Manager/DO/etc will open the crew hiring menu when asked, they will not offer to be a Trade Agent.
- If a SmallTalking Manager/DO/etc says "No!" when asked about being hired as crew, they can be a Trade Agent.
pref wrote: Even if it is so, im not sure if the player might need a stronger message from the game, not just closing the window/selection menu.
It could be stronger, yeah. The only thing about the vanilla scenario is that I think I am not using the UI as intended. I don't think Egosoft meant "No!" to mean that they could be Trade Agents, but that is just a guess.

pref
Posts: 5607
Joined: Sat, 10. Nov 12, 17:55
x4

Post by pref » Thu, 19. Nov 15, 18:31

More or less what i was thinking, and i think we have a different pov regarding the game so that just makes it stronger.. probably a candidate for next update.

I think the No! answer means that they are not for hire, it is just a coincidence that in that case they can be trade agents.

Thanks for your thoughts!

********

And i figured a modding question too - is there a way to influence load order?
Probably mine should be run before anything that adds content, not sure if there is a way to achieve this?

Sparky Sparkycorp
Moderator (English)
Moderator (English)
Posts: 8074
Joined: Tue, 30. Mar 04, 12:28
x4

Post by Sparky Sparkycorp » Thu, 19. Nov 15, 18:59

You're welcome!
pref wrote: And i figured a modding question too - is there a way to influence load order?
Probably mine should be run before anything that adds content, not sure if there is a way to achieve this?
not something I am familiar with, but Rebirth v3.53 has the following change log item:
CBJ wrote:• Improved extension handling so that loading order of mods now follows defined dependencies.

Post Reply

Return to “X Rebirth - Scripts and Modding”