[X3LU] Mayhem 2.7.6

The place to discuss scripting and game modifications for X³: Terran Conflict and X³: Albion Prelude.

Moderators: Moderators for English X Forum, Scripting / Modding Moderators

Post Reply
dreamer2008
Posts: 203
Joined: Sat, 24. Dec 11, 12:14

Post by dreamer2008 » Fri, 12. Jan 18, 23:27

Joubarbe wrote:20 hours of Elite, it gets boring! Phew, at last...

It gives me an idea for Mayhem 3: you start in an M5 and you never get rich enough to buy an M4. You struggle to have a better social rank, but that goes nowhere and you make no friends at all. At day 3, OCV chase you and destroy all your assets, which consist of... well, nothing.

Oh, and your wife left you for a M3 pilot.
Even better, we should be forced to grind for faction reputation 8 to get an M4, that is true fun, the Elite way. :D

A warning, Elite D gets veeery boring, its the most fun at the beginning. My steam shows 250 hours, I have no idea how I had that much patience. And I still didn't grind enough rank for Corvette and Cutter, I just can't do it anymore.
Last edited by dreamer2008 on Sat, 13. Jan 18, 15:28, edited 1 time in total.
Image

Falcrack
Posts: 1219
Joined: Wed, 29. Jul 09, 00:46

Post by Falcrack » Sat, 13. Jan 18, 04:20

rlg85 wrote:RE: The jumpdrive question. I think a workable compromise would be to make ALL gates trans orbital accelerators. But allow jumping on friendly beacons.

You then make placement and defense of jump beacons part of infrastructure building, and it also becomes a bit of a "home field advantage" in that once you set up your jump beacons, you can jump in a defensive fleet against a border incursion, but can't jump on an enemy beacon and so can't simply jump into enemy territory.

Friendly traders can also utilize a friendly jump beacon network.

If possible, add AI raids on jump beacon infrastructure part of enemy strategy, possibly in preparation for a general assault.
I have long wanted a system just like you described, only instead of getting rid of all jumpgates, make them somewhat rare (ie gate that border between empire boundaries, each cluster of sectors would thus represent a single system).

Jonzac
Posts: 280
Joined: Sun, 27. Feb 05, 23:59

Post by Jonzac » Sat, 13. Jan 18, 09:08

Falcrack wrote:
rlg85 wrote:RE: The jumpdrive question. I think a workable compromise would be to make ALL gates trans orbital accelerators. But allow jumping on friendly beacons.

You then make placement and defense of jump beacons part of infrastructure building, and it also becomes a bit of a "home field advantage" in that once you set up your jump beacons, you can jump in a defensive fleet against a border incursion, but can't jump on an enemy beacon and so can't simply jump into enemy territory.

Friendly traders can also utilize a friendly jump beacon network.

If possible, add AI raids on jump beacon infrastructure part of enemy strategy, possibly in preparation for a general assault.
You all know that this is exactly what XR did and the community at large lost its collective mind. I don't disagree with you. I like the idea of only jumping to beacons that are only placed in sectors you own.

Of course that removes UTs from the game, as well as, the ability to buy materials from NPCs in any type of usable time frame. Which would mean that there would be little to no change of combating the OCV first wave....especially from the "scratch" start

I have long wanted a system just like you described, only instead of getting rid of all jumpgates, make them somewhat rare (ie gate that border between empire boundaries, each cluster of sectors would thus represent a single system).

VincentTH
Posts: 5711
Joined: Wed, 6. Nov 02, 21:31

Post by VincentTH » Sun, 14. Jan 18, 06:30

@Joubarbe,

I need to take down a Medium OWP, (in preparation for the OWP all-out attack) and replace it with a Large OWP. However, I can't figure out how to do it. The Advanced command does not have the option to disassemble the OWP.

Do I miss anything? Do I need to use a recycle perk to do it? If so I am hosed because I have used up all perks for that Sanctuary.

[EDIT] Oops, never mind!!! Found the Self Destruct command!!!!

hanuland
Posts: 137
Joined: Tue, 27. Oct 15, 01:26

Post by hanuland » Sun, 14. Jan 18, 17:31

Joubarbe wrote:20 hours of Elite, it gets boring! Phew, at last...

It gives me an idea for Mayhem 3: you start in an M5 and you never get rich enough to buy an M4. You struggle to have a better social rank, but that goes nowhere and you make no friends at all. At day 3, OCV chase you and destroy all your assets, which consist of... well, nothing.

Oh, and your wife left you for a M3 pilot.
If you do not POWERPLAY in Elite, you will soon get bored. As most players do, you will do just grinding without purpose. To enjoy the Elite properly, I think that you need to find out for the endless Cold War between Empire and Federal with 11 Powers. I played 3,914 hours, and I still have a lot of work to do there.
Maybe I think this Cold War might give you more good idea of Mayhem 3.

VincentTH
Posts: 5711
Joined: Wed, 6. Nov 02, 21:31

Post by VincentTH » Sun, 14. Jan 18, 18:36

imeddyeddy wrote:S'me again, I think I really bricked my game this time. I did an E/I, and in the mess of E/I-ing multiple times to figure out the boarding pods issue, all race shipyards now don't seem to release invasions at all. They just build up credits, their "currently building" just says N/A, even after I've left it on 10x for an hour. Have I totally bricked my game, and is the only recovery method to just start a new game?
I did no E/I and have the same problem: I contributed 50MM to a Boron Shipyard (twice) for an invasion. It took the money and did nothing. It currently has 100MM and does not build anything.

save game



Hopefully @Joubarbe can take some times off Elite Dangerous and take a look at the save game!!! LOL! (Just kidding)

User avatar
Joubarbe
Posts: 3560
Joined: Tue, 31. Oct 06, 13:11

Post by Joubarbe » Sun, 14. Jan 18, 19:06

Not the same problem, will be fixed.

Igor.tverd
Posts: 265
Joined: Sun, 5. Oct 08, 10:06

Post by Igor.tverd » Sun, 14. Jan 18, 19:25

Just want to share this. IMHO the best execution of the jump drive system was in X3R New World mod:
1 - Can't jump to races territories with whom you have negative reputation
2 - Can't jump near enemy stations or ships

Not sure how either of this was done, but it was great.
Fantasy is the impossible made probable. Science fiction is the improbable made possible.

Hector0x
Posts: 410
Joined: Mon, 18. Nov 13, 19:03

Post by Hector0x » Sun, 14. Jan 18, 20:13

Quick question: What happens to the basic and/or increased production bonus if i loose the perks? Does it cap temporarily or do i have to build it up all over again?

condition one - perk get's lost because requirements are no longer met
condition two - perk get's lost because i E/I the game
"Hard pounding, gentlemen. Let's see who pounds the longest." - Arthur Wellesley, Duke of Wellington, British general and Prime Minister

VincentTH
Posts: 5711
Joined: Wed, 6. Nov 02, 21:31

Post by VincentTH » Sun, 14. Jan 18, 20:49

Joubarbe wrote:Not the same problem, will be fixed.
Thanks, appreciate your hard working on the mod!!!!!

User avatar
Joubarbe
Posts: 3560
Joined: Tue, 31. Oct 06, 13:11

Post by Joubarbe » Sun, 14. Jan 18, 20:52

@Hector0x: Mayhem does not just check if you have the perk, it checks if you met the requirements, every time. So if you don't have the perk, you don't have the bonus.

VincentTH
Posts: 5711
Joined: Wed, 6. Nov 02, 21:31

Post by VincentTH » Sun, 14. Jan 18, 21:18

Hector0x wrote:Quick question: What happens to the basic and/or increased production bonus if i loose the perks? Does it cap temporarily or do i have to build it up all over again?

condition one - perk get's lost because requirements are no longer met
condition two - perk get's lost because i E/I the game
It will lose the effect of the perk.

Easy to test it: Remove some population from the sanctuary: that would render the perk disabled (for those that require station level greater than 3, and thus require full population).

Hector0x
Posts: 410
Joined: Mon, 18. Nov 13, 19:03

Post by Hector0x » Sun, 14. Jan 18, 22:12

Joubarbe wrote:@Hector0x: Mayhem does not just check if you have the perk, it checks if you met the requirements, every time. So if you don't have the perk, you don't have the bonus.
I may've asked imprecisely. Here is an example.

Let's say i have the increased laser production perk and bonus is at 37%
- now all perks get disabled; i can't produce any lasers in this sanctuary
- i get the basic laser production perk back

Am i still at 0% bonus, or does it now jump to 30% because it remembered that i had 37% in this sanctuary and 30& is the current allowed maximum?

And does it jump to 37% when i get the increased laser perk back?
"Hard pounding, gentlemen. Let's see who pounds the longest." - Arthur Wellesley, Duke of Wellington, British general and Prime Minister

User avatar
Joubarbe
Posts: 3560
Joined: Tue, 31. Oct 06, 13:11

Post by Joubarbe » Sun, 14. Jan 18, 22:27

Damn you are so complicated :)

Fureimuu
Posts: 318
Joined: Sun, 2. Feb 14, 10:27

Post by Fureimuu » Mon, 15. Jan 18, 00:07

Would be nice if fixes were released separately (as 2.2.5 for example). Up to you of course, but waiting for 3 weeks is ... harder that you may think :D

Post Reply

Return to “X³: Terran Conflict / Albion Prelude - Scripts and Modding”