EnglishGermanFrenchRussianItalianSpanish
Log inRegister
 
[TC] Bone 'Idle' station traders
Post new topic Reply to topic
View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
Crustyfur



MEDAL

Joined: 10 Oct 2006
Posts: 67 on topic
Location: The Real Farnham's Legend
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Tue, 21. Apr 15, 13:32    Post subject: [TC] Bone 'Idle' station traders Reply with quote Print

I have a problem, hoping someone can suggest something I haven't thought of yet.

I have a 2 x Cahoona Bakery L Complex in Antigone Memorial, it has 8 traders assigned to it, buying and selling wares etc. While I as AFK a Pirate Nova did a job on one of the stations. So hub was destroyed along with a few docked ships. No bother I thought, I bought a new Cahoona L and CCK and set the thing back up, ordered some new freighters and jobs a goodun (My previous save was too old, hence the rebuild). Or so I thought...

Now everything homebased to this station just goes Idle. I have re-homebased, restored CLS & CAG settings and reprogrammed everyone etc. Still they just go to Idle.

I have one CLS who loads EC and then sells them on to one of my other Complexes. I added his waypoints back in, one at a time and he 'worked', as soon as I add the waypoint to interact with another station, he goes Idle again. The CAG Sellers - Idle, despite have 30k Cahoonas to sell at AVG, I checked all the buying prices in the local area and they are buying way above average, so that's not the problem. My CAG buyer for EC wont budge, despite all the local SPP offering 12cr EC's, he is set to buy at 13cr.

So if anyone can think of something I haven't checked yet, I'd appreciate it. Unless the repairing of the station has caused it, then I am screwed and I'll have to shut it down completely.

Cheers


_________________
"...can you please get me a couple of things?"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Grape





Joined: 15 May 2013
Posts: 78 on topic

Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Tue, 21. Apr 15, 14:05    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

Couple things spring to mind, firstly cash at the station so they can buy stuff or Friend/Foe settings for the ships. I have also had Idle ships for what appeared to be no reason as well and found the Friend/Foe thing to be the reason.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Crustyfur



MEDAL

Joined: 10 Oct 2006
Posts: 67 on topic
Location: The Real Farnham's Legend
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Tue, 21. Apr 15, 15:54    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

Station has 49m cr in it so its not that. I did double check the Friend/Foe settings, which are fine but thanks for reminding me to check those! Its a mystery!


_________________
"...can you please get me a couple of things?"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Timsup2nothin





Joined: 22 Jan 2009



PostPosted: Tue, 21. Apr 15, 17:03    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

Idle, as opposed to standby, has two sources.

One. The pilots aren't getting paid. You said the station has funds, but are they set to draw pilot pay from homebase? The default has them paid from your ship account. One time I was at that 'scrimp and save for my own TL' stage early in a game and got just enough to buy my Elephant. I was mostly just flying around and loading it up with my stray small craft when I realized my entire trade network had stopped.

Two. Hostiles. CLS and CAG pilots have that union thing going. If they know there are hostiles they just won't go. And their information is better than yours. In this case I would give twenty to one odds that somewhere in the distant reaches of Antigone Memorial there is a Khaak cluster drifting around.


_________________
Trapper Tim's Guide to CLS 2

On Her Majesty's Secret Service-Dead is Dead, and he is DEAD

Not a DiD, so I guess it's a DiDn't, the story of my first try at AP
Part One, in progress

HEY! AP!! That's new!!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
RayF





Joined: 22 May 2013



PostPosted: Tue, 21. Apr 15, 17:09    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

Continuing from Tim,

the third reason is:

+ Your pilots aren't trained. An apprentice CAG for example cant sell anything:)


_________________
The Laser thingy! now on Steroids!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Timsup2nothin





Joined: 22 Jan 2009



PostPosted: Tue, 21. Apr 15, 17:54    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

RayF wrote:
Continuing from Tim,

the third reason is:

+ Your pilots aren't trained. An apprentice CAG for example cant sell anything:)


I'm not as familiar with CAG as with CLS, but I think that CAG would go on standby, not idle. A CLS with any situation that could be described as 'nothing to do' will always go to standby rather than idle.


_________________
Trapper Tim's Guide to CLS 2

On Her Majesty's Secret Service-Dead is Dead, and he is DEAD

Not a DiD, so I guess it's a DiDn't, the story of my first try at AP
Part One, in progress

HEY! AP!! That's new!!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ancienthighway





Joined: 24 Apr 2007
Posts: 1662 on topic

Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Tue, 21. Apr 15, 18:07    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

Are pirates still in the area? Perhaps a pirate base was built in sector and you need to discover it, then destroy it because hostile craft are based there. If you have CAGs and CLS traders based in other sectors operating normally, hostiles are the most likely reason.

And just to confirm the routes, have you redefined the routes of the surviving transports to work with the new complex?

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
RayF





Joined: 22 May 2013



PostPosted: Tue, 21. Apr 15, 19:32    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

Timsup2nothin wrote:
RayF wrote:
Continuing from Tim,

the third reason is:

+ Your pilots aren't trained. An apprentice CAG for example cant sell anything:)


I'm not as familiar with CAG as with CLS, but I think that CAG would go on standby, not idle. A CLS with any situation that could be described as 'nothing to do' will always go to standby rather than idle.



That may be totally true Tim..Truth is i never distinguished the difference of the two Laughing


_________________
The Laser thingy! now on Steroids!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Grape





Joined: 15 May 2013
Posts: 78 on topic

Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Tue, 21. Apr 15, 19:40    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

Both CAG and CLS act the same for Hostiles either in the docked at system or the delivering to system in that they will both go "Idle". For Standby in the case of the CAG its due to it waiting for the right price either to sell or buy and for the CLS its due to whatever supply/resupply conditions you have set be it waiting for the correct amount of cargo to be picked up or space made available at the delivery end.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Sinxar



MEDALMEDALMEDAL

Joined: 22 Mar 2011
Posts: 1160 on topic
Location: a dumpster
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Tue, 21. Apr 15, 19:59    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

Have you checked your message log yet? If there are hostiles they will tell you but it doesn't cause the icon to flash.

If they are reporting hostiles go do a manual sweep around the edges of the sector looking for Khaak clusters.


_________________



Vanilla Friendly TC/AP visual enhancement
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Timsup2nothin





Joined: 22 Jan 2009



PostPosted: Wed, 22. Apr 15, 00:03    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

Sinxar wrote:
Have you checked your message log yet? If there are hostiles they will tell you but it doesn't cause the icon to flash.

If they are reporting hostiles go do a manual sweep around the edges of the sector looking for Khaak clusters.


Laughing

Learn a new thing every day. I've never noticed the hostiles being reported. I usually have enough crisscrossing CLS routes that I can figure out what sector is being avoided and just go there...and there is always some cluster out in the weeds or a lame and lonely red pirate M5 pot shotting at some off the trail station.


_________________
Trapper Tim's Guide to CLS 2

On Her Majesty's Secret Service-Dead is Dead, and he is DEAD

Not a DiD, so I guess it's a DiDn't, the story of my first try at AP
Part One, in progress

HEY! AP!! That's new!!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Crustyfur



MEDAL

Joined: 10 Oct 2006
Posts: 67 on topic
Location: The Real Farnham's Legend
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Thu, 23. Apr 15, 09:03    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

Thanks guys, I worked through the suggestions and a proper sector sweep revealed a Khaak cluster hidden in the corner. Once taken care of, work resumed. As I didn't see any hostiles on the sector map I wrongly assumed there were any.


_________________
"...can you please get me a couple of things?"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Timsup2nothin





Joined: 22 Jan 2009



PostPosted: Fri, 24. Apr 15, 01:49    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

Crustyfur wrote:
Thanks guys, I worked through the suggestions and a proper sector sweep revealed a Khaak cluster hidden in the corner. Once taken care of, work resumed. As I didn't see any hostiles on the sector map I wrongly assumed there were any.


Yeah. CLS and CAG pilots know stuff is there long before you do. Bit of a pain sometimes, since that Khaak cluster way out there in the weeds can drift around for hours disrupting your traders without having any real necessary impact on anything.


_________________
Trapper Tim's Guide to CLS 2

On Her Majesty's Secret Service-Dead is Dead, and he is DEAD

Not a DiD, so I guess it's a DiDn't, the story of my first try at AP
Part One, in progress

HEY! AP!! That's new!!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic Reply to topic
 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum
Control Panel
Login Data
The time now is Fri, 17. Aug 18, 15:43

All times are GMT + 2 Hours

[ Disclaimer / Impressum ] | [ Privacy Policy / Datenschutz ]

Board Security

Copyright © EGOSOFT 1989-2018
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Template created by Avatar & BurnIt!
Debug: page generation = 0.09437 seconds, sql queries = 27