EnglishGermanFrenchRussianItalianSpanish
Log inRegister
 
[Tool] .xmf/.xac <-> .dae converter
Post new topic Reply to topic Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 8, 9, 10, 11  Next
View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
Observe





Joined: 30 Dec 2005
Posts: 2560 on topic
Location: Oregon, USA
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Wed, 14. Jan 15, 07:25    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

antoniut wrote:
We are waiting (im)patienly for it! Rolling Eyes

Here is my first installment for a 3D modeling tutorial. More to come time permitting. Smile

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
antoniut





Joined: 04 Oct 2014
Posts: 197 on topic

Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Wed, 14. Jan 15, 12:41    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

Thanks Observe for your dedication. However, I've been working with xacs for several hours without succes. Dunno if the problem is in xac converter or in blender. I've been trying all blender techninques I've founded on the net. I can't loose more time with this. I'm totaly frustrated.

Thanks again Smile

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
denison10





Joined: 12 Oct 2014



PostPosted: Fri, 23. Jan 15, 13:44    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

if my Windows x64 the converter works?

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address
UniTrader
Moderator (Script&Mod)
Moderator (Script&Mod)

MEDAL

Joined: 20 Nov 2005
Posts: 13529 on topic

Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Fri, 23. Jan 15, 14:30    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

yep. but its still a command line tool, so double-clicking it wont work, it expects some parameters you need to deliver on startup.

btw: i wonder if there would be intrest in some Extraction Scripts for XR which extracts the whole Game from the Cats/Dats and converts everything possible to work-able formats?


_________________
if not stated otherwise everything i post is licensed under WTFPL

Ich mache keine S&M-Auftragsarbeiten, aber wenn es fragen gibt wie man etwas umsetzen kann helfe ich gerne weiter Wink

I wont do Script&Mod Request work, but if there are questions how to do something i will GLaDly help Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
antoniut





Joined: 04 Oct 2014
Posts: 197 on topic

Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Fri, 23. Jan 15, 14:35    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

Sure! Very Happy

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
antoniut





Joined: 04 Oct 2014
Posts: 197 on topic

Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Fri, 23. Jan 15, 16:07    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

Any advancements in xac<-->dae conversion?

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
oliverjanda





Joined: 14 Feb 2010
Posts: 288 on topic

Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Mon, 23. Feb 15, 19:12    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

the crates example does not work for me, it just crashes.
i'm using win7 64bit

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Spami





Joined: 01 Jun 2008



PostPosted: Mon, 23. Feb 15, 20:48    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

oliverjanda wrote:
the crates example does not work for me, it just crashes.
i'm using win7 64bit


How do you now it crashes?
The CMD/.bat window will disappear if it succeeds or not.
Place a "Pause" in the .bat file at the end so that you can read what it prints out in the console if any.


_________________
Spami

Learn from yesterday, live for today, hope for tomorrow. The important thing is not to stop questioning.
- Albert Einstein
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
oliverjanda





Joined: 14 Feb 2010
Posts: 288 on topic

Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Tue, 24. Feb 15, 10:33    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

A popup shows up saying that the program stoped working (or something similar), no output file.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
oliverjanda





Joined: 14 Feb 2010
Posts: 288 on topic

Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Mon, 16. Mar 15, 21:29    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

What programs can deal with xac and xmf natively?

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
UniTrader
Moderator (Script&Mod)
Moderator (Script&Mod)

MEDAL

Joined: 20 Nov 2005
Posts: 13529 on topic

Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Mon, 16. Mar 15, 21:53    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

oliverjanda wrote:
What programs can deal with xac and xmf natively?

X Rebirth. and EGOs internal tools maybe.


_________________
if not stated otherwise everything i post is licensed under WTFPL

Ich mache keine S&M-Auftragsarbeiten, aber wenn es fragen gibt wie man etwas umsetzen kann helfe ich gerne weiter Wink

I wont do Script&Mod Request work, but if there are questions how to do something i will GLaDly help Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Vim Razz





Joined: 02 Nov 2010
Posts: 1797 on topic

Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Mon, 16. Mar 15, 22:07    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

xac/xmf are proprietary formats of a company with a generic sounding name that I don't remember. They come with a license agreement that doesn't allow sharing tools or file specs with third parties, so _arc's deconstruction of them is pretty amazing.

They're used by rendering packages like EMotion FX or maybe Granny.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
oliverjanda





Joined: 14 Feb 2010
Posts: 288 on topic

Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Mon, 16. Mar 15, 22:16    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

thx. unfortunately _arcs converter does not work me.And I can't repair it either Sad

Using that proprietary ***** was probably the worst decision egosoft made

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
antoniut





Joined: 04 Oct 2014
Posts: 197 on topic

Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Mon, 16. Mar 15, 22:20    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

I think that Egosoft has a customized plugin made from Emotion FX Enterprise to work with 3Ds Max (this is my hypothesis, not verified)

It's a pitty that modders can't work with body meshes or ship meshes, like in Skyrim. There are some mods in Skyrim that atracts tons of players.

Maybe in future, modders could have a "Modder license" to work withs xacs and so. Only a wish...

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NodusCursorius





Joined: 13 Jan 2014
Posts: 110 on topic

Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Tue, 17. Mar 15, 00:15    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

Just a note:

I'm using Blender 2.73a (latest) and the converter on the first page and it is working perfectly, so far.

Importing with the built-in COLLADA plugin that Blender comes with and choosing "Import Units" as an option (not sure if that is even needed). Modifying things in Blender, exporting it with the default COLLADA settings. Using arc_'s tool to convert prior, and afterwards of course.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic Reply to topic Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 8, 9, 10, 11  Next
 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum
Control Panel
Login Data
The time now is Sat, 20. Jan 18, 11:20

All times are GMT + 2 Hours


Board Security

Copyright © EGOSOFT 1989-2018
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Template created by Avatar & BurnIt!
Debug: page generation = 0.07660 seconds, sql queries = 29