EnglishGermanFrenchRussianPolishItalianSpanish
Log inRegister
 
Drone Carrier Software 2 (DCS2) v2.07a
Post new topic Reply to topic Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 35, 36, 37, 38  Next
View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
DrBullwinkle





Joined: 17 Dec 2011
Posts: 5704 on topic
Location: Boston, USA
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Mon, 16. Feb 15, 06:45    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

As I said earlier, drones don't launch with missiles (carrier task).

They are supplied in the drone task.


_________________
Peace through superior firepower

Bullwinkle's List | Marine Repairs and Training | Mobile Mining Mk2 | Drone Carrier Software 2 (DCS2) | Ship Tricks: Mini-Guides (with Video)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
HeartlesJosh





Joined: 13 Feb 2015



PostPosted: Mon, 16. Feb 15, 09:31    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

There seems to be some fault in communication here.
I said that I had double checked all the missiles to make sure that something like what I had found earlier in the carrier task, with commonwealth bombers reduced to PBGs and ships like the Spitfyre being completely devoid of weapons due to discrepancies in the constants at the top of the carrier task pointing to the wrong weapons or ships being incompatible with weapons they could use in vanilla.. I was not looking for the equipping of missiles in the carrier task.

Everything in the AddMissile section of the drone task looks like it should work but it's not, so either I can't see the problem in AddMissile, or it's going wrong earlier in the script. You are familiar with your own scripting so I'm asking for your aid in troubleshooting because you will undoubtedly be able to find where the script is hanging faster than I.

I'm a guy with no XML coding experience beyond digging into the files of another game nary a month ago to find out the exact science of how an element in said game works to give that info to other players of the game and it took me a couple hours to get familiar enough with your code to feel confident in making even just a few relatively minor changes (racial weapons in the carrier task, as noted a few posts back). In fact, looking at the edits I did, I need to add a check for whether a drone is a Boron drone or not and if it is, fit Ion weapons, otherwise skip over the fitting of Ion weapons if it is not. The heavier Argon fighters introduced by XRM can fit Ion weapons and thus, get a full rack of them which was not my intention.

My completely newbie impression is that we're just not getting as far as the equipping of fighters so AddMissile is not being called and never comes into play. Even setting the homebase of the drones as their weapon depot and filling the cargo bay with the appropriate missiles, they're not being fitted regardless, which is why I get the feeling the script isn't getting as far as AddMissile. I don't know if there any tools that can monitor a script whenever it's used and see just how much of it is used but those would probably help greatly.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DrBullwinkle





Joined: 17 Dec 2011
Posts: 5704 on topic
Location: Boston, USA
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Tue, 17. Feb 15, 00:58    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

In the drone task, Torpedoes are only added to ships that have the $drone.is.bomber flag set.

That flag is set in the carrier task in sub DroneType:. Look at lines 990-1002.

It is possible that the flag $drone.is.bomber is not set correctly before line 990, which would cause selection of XRM types from the text file to not work.

Since nobody has reported that problem, including you... well, I don't know why are you not getting torpedoes in XRM.

The simple solution is to stop using XRM. Wink

In the future, I will allow more flexible arming options that should be compatible with any mod.

For now, you can supply the missiles yourself. Set the ship to pull missiles from the carrier. ('g' key).

* - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
If the $drone.is.bomber is the culprit, then MAYBE you might be able to work around it by adding your torpedoes to the "else" part of the "if $drone.is.bomber" statement in the drone task at around line 426.

MAYBE.
* - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -


Beyond that, you are on your own. I don't play XRM and have no good way to test it. I do know that many XRM players use DCS2. That's all I know, really.


_________________
Peace through superior firepower

Bullwinkle's List | Marine Repairs and Training | Mobile Mining Mk2 | Drone Carrier Software 2 (DCS2) | Ship Tricks: Mini-Guides (with Video)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
HeartlesJosh





Joined: 13 Feb 2015



PostPosted: Tue, 17. Feb 15, 21:20    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

That still didn't manage to alleviate the issue. I set the types for each of the racial M3Bs to no avail. Drones are just really allergic to missiles. So one last request for assistance, is it possible to comment out drone bomber production? Maybe change the assigned bomber types in the language file to a ship that doesn't exist?

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DrBullwinkle





Joined: 17 Dec 2011
Posts: 5704 on topic
Location: Boston, USA
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Tue, 17. Feb 15, 21:33    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

Change the bomber type to an interceptor (non-bomber).


_________________
Peace through superior firepower

Bullwinkle's List | Marine Repairs and Training | Mobile Mining Mk2 | Drone Carrier Software 2 (DCS2) | Ship Tricks: Mini-Guides (with Video)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
HeartlesJosh





Joined: 13 Feb 2015



PostPosted: Wed, 18. Feb 15, 00:34    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

Mm, good enough. Was hoping for the ability to turn them off entirely instead of having a Split carrier with Split fighters and Terran "bombers" from playing an earlier save as Terrans.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DrBullwinkle





Joined: 17 Dec 2011
Posts: 5704 on topic
Location: Boston, USA
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Wed, 18. Feb 15, 00:58    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

You can assign the same ship type to both your custom interceptors and to your "bombers". You just won't get any real bombers, that's all.


_________________
Peace through superior firepower

Bullwinkle's List | Marine Repairs and Training | Mobile Mining Mk2 | Drone Carrier Software 2 (DCS2) | Ship Tricks: Mini-Guides (with Video)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
HeartlesJosh





Joined: 13 Feb 2015



PostPosted: Wed, 18. Feb 15, 03:24    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

Yes, but if I wanted to play a different save, I would then have to go dig into the language file again and change the bomber appropriately otherwise I would have the fighters of another race being built. As I said, I would end up in scenarios such as flying a Split carrier with Split interceptors but Terran bombers unless I went and changed the designated bomber ship to also be a Split ship. And then go back in and change it once more if I wanted to hop back on the Terran save. Repeat for all races.

This is why I was asking for a way to turn off bomber production entirely and be left with only the interceptors I select in-game as the ships being built.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DrBullwinkle





Joined: 17 Dec 2011
Posts: 5704 on topic
Location: Boston, USA
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Wed, 18. Feb 15, 04:40    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

It takes less than a minute to change a t file.

Changes take place immediately, in-game.


_________________
Peace through superior firepower

Bullwinkle's List | Marine Repairs and Training | Mobile Mining Mk2 | Drone Carrier Software 2 (DCS2) | Ship Tricks: Mini-Guides (with Video)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
HeartlesJosh





Joined: 13 Feb 2015



PostPosted: Wed, 18. Feb 15, 09:16    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

Is it not possible to disable bomber production?

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DrBullwinkle





Joined: 17 Dec 2011
Posts: 5704 on topic
Location: Boston, USA
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Wed, 18. Feb 15, 09:22    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

About line 931 in the carrier task, you can try adding:

$rnd = random value between 1 and 7

(Just before "if $rnd < 7 AND $Interceptor.Type")

That should force sub DroneType: to always build interceptors.


_________________
Peace through superior firepower

Bullwinkle's List | Marine Repairs and Training | Mobile Mining Mk2 | Drone Carrier Software 2 (DCS2) | Ship Tricks: Mini-Guides (with Video)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
HeartlesJosh





Joined: 13 Feb 2015



PostPosted: Wed, 18. Feb 15, 11:03    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

Hasn't worked. Scrapped all the drones to rebuild a fresh carrier's worth and got about half and half bombers and interceptors regardless.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DrBullwinkle





Joined: 17 Dec 2011
Posts: 5704 on topic
Location: Boston, USA
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Wed, 18. Feb 15, 22:11    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

well, I have given you several viable options to choose from.

Pick one and be happy.


_________________
Peace through superior firepower

Bullwinkle's List | Marine Repairs and Training | Mobile Mining Mk2 | Drone Carrier Software 2 (DCS2) | Ship Tricks: Mini-Guides (with Video)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
redagent





Joined: 20 Feb 2015

Location: Moscow, Russia.

PostPosted: Thu, 26. Feb 15, 23:02    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

Just installed DSC2. After a lot of reading didn't catch few things. So please help me.
In options menu "ADS -Active/Not Active" - What does it mean?

Enable Producing drones, didn't touch anything else and get 49 drones on my Xenon J. It is ok. But I do not understand two things - why there is Bombers M3 (which is unknown object from the first post) and WHY there interceptors M4 with Mass Drivers and EBC - My carrier has no MD, MD-ammo, EBC and EBC-ammo. It is kind a test version of producing and I have to choose exact type of Interceptors? Or mayby it is a special division for enemy harassment?
I didn't touch Weapon Depot option.

One more question - when I gave an order "follow me" to the carrier with active Drone production and Engage enemy he remained standing on the spot. Is it intended?

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DrBullwinkle





Joined: 17 Dec 2011
Posts: 5704 on topic
Location: Boston, USA
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Thu, 26. Feb 15, 23:27    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

redagent wrote:
In options menu "ADS -Active/Not Active" - What does it mean?


ADS = Anarkis Defense System.

CODEA and ADS are optional carrier-AI scripts. They are not required. However, if you use them, then there are options on the menu to make DCS2 compatible with them. Mostly the options turn off some DCS2 features that CODEA or ADS replace.


redagent wrote:
why there is Bombers M3?


The default drone interceptors are light M4's. They could never kill a large ship. So DCS2 creates a few robust bombers for that job. If DCS2 detects an enemy capital ship nearby, then it will create more bombers and fewer interceptors.

After some time, the number of bombers will reduce back to "peacetime" numbers.



redagent wrote:
WHY there interceptors M4 with Mass Drivers and EBC?


Most interceptors have very small laser generators. EBCG and MD use much less energy than other lasers, so they are preferred (IF the ship can mount them).

Ammunition is manufactured automatically by the DCS2 carrier onboard droids. It is supplied to the drones via prototype long-range transporter technology.


redagent wrote:
when I gave an order "follow me" to the carrier with active Drone production and Engage enemy he remained standing on the spot. Is it intended?


Not intended.

The carrier may avoid enemies automatically because carriers are expensive and vulnerable; they should not normally get involved in combat. There is a setting in the menu to turn off that feature if you wish.

Other than avoiding enemies, the carrier should accept any order that you give it.


_________________
Peace through superior firepower

Bullwinkle's List | Marine Repairs and Training | Mobile Mining Mk2 | Drone Carrier Software 2 (DCS2) | Ship Tricks: Mini-Guides (with Video)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic Reply to topic Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 35, 36, 37, 38  Next
 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum
Control Panel
Login Data
The time now is Fri, 22. Sep 17, 20:36

All times are GMT + 2 Hours


Board Security

Copyright © EGOSOFT 1989-2017
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Template created by Avatar & BurnIt!
Debug: page generation = 0.55297 seconds, sql queries = 29