[TC] Any tips to reach X-TREME trading?

General discussions about the games by Egosoft including X-BTF, XT, X², X³: Reunion, X³: Terran Conflict and X³: Albion Prelude.

Moderator: Moderators for English X Forum

Blue Wraith

[TC] Any tips to reach X-TREME trading?

Post by Blue Wraith » Wed, 27. Mar 13, 17:38

I know that the key is the ship making the buys below avg and sales above avg, not stations directly selling (which is how I made most of my money so far). So essentially I'm just getting started with this achievement. (Master Industrialist, all plots complete, plenty of cash).

The two methods I'm thinking of are CLS routes for buying and selling and single-station-type complexes where the CAGs buy resources and sell products themselves. So this way, they double-dip and get rank on buying and selling. UTs could be a possibility, but they don't seem as profitable as CLS/CAG in my experience.

CAGs are easier, but CLSs seem to have more potential for profit. From the menus and the CAG script description, I'm having a hard time figuring out how to set the max buy and min sell prices. I am assuming they always buy below and sell above avg by default.

Does anyone have any specific tips to make rank faster? CAG tips? Decent routes or station locations? (Spoiler tags welcome)

Alan Phipps
Moderator (English)
Moderator (English)
x4

Post by Alan Phipps » Wed, 27. Mar 13, 17:51

Have look here for some ideas and advice.
A dog has a master; a cat has domestic staff.

Blue Wraith

Post by Blue Wraith » Wed, 27. Mar 13, 18:29

Thanks Alan. Yes, I've seen this thread before. I've researched and am aware of the general rules for gaining rank. I was just hoping for some specific tips.

For instance, I see in CAGs how to set a price, but I don't know if that's buy or sale price. How do I set both? I have searched and can't really find good CAG instructions (lots on CLS tho).