Running X3 in a Virtual Machine/Preventing SETA from stopping.

The place to discuss scripting and game modifications for X³: Terran Conflict and X³: Albion Prelude.

Moderators: Moderators for English X Forum, Scripting / Modding Moderators

Sabuu

Running X3 in a Virtual Machine/Preventing SETA from stopping.

Post by Sabuu » Mon, 22. Oct 12, 18:08

Hey, I started playing X3 yesterday and I find the flighttimes pretty annoying.

I was wondering if I could just use X3 in a VM so I can tab out while the game keeps running.

Well I can, but when I leave X3 with anypossible hotkey, SETA shuts down. The game keeps runnning, but it takes the ship forever to get anywhere.

Any workaround for that?

Cycrow
Moderator (Script&Mod)
Moderator (Script&Mod)
x4

Post by Cycrow » Mon, 22. Oct 12, 19:02

why would you want to run it in a virtual machine ?
VM's are not the best for games as they usually have additional layers between the game and the hardware causing it to slow down.

Sabuu

Re: Running X3 in a Virtual Machine/Preventing SETA from stopping.

Post by Sabuu » Mon, 22. Oct 12, 19:05

Sabuu wrote:I was wondering if I could just use X3 in a VM so I can tab out while the game keeps running.
Thats why im using a VM. The game doesnt take up much ressources and it runs pretty without problems so far. Only thing is the slow pace of my ship right now ;) So, any way to keep SENZA running?

Cycrow
Moderator (Script&Mod)
Moderator (Script&Mod)
x4

Post by Cycrow » Mon, 22. Oct 12, 19:10

but you can do all that without having a VM

Jack08
x3tc

Post by Jack08 » Mon, 22. Oct 12, 19:21

Windowed mode + run in background + alt-tab

works for me, every time.
[ external image ]
"One sure mark of a fool is to dismiss anything that falls outside his experience as being impossible."
―Farengar Secret-Fire

Jumee
x3tc

Post by Jumee » Mon, 22. Oct 12, 19:29