Mobile Mining Mk2 (MM Mk2) v1.05 [TC][AP][SCR]

The place to discuss scripting and game modifications for X³: Terran Conflict and X³: Albion Prelude.

Moderators: Moderators for English X Forum, Scripting / Modding Moderators

Post Reply
User avatar
DrBullwinkle
Posts: 5704
Joined: Sat, 17. Dec 11, 02:44

Post by DrBullwinkle » Wed, 28. Aug 13, 20:54

Another workaround would be to use an Aran (or one of the other ships that can dock a TS) as your homebase for the Vultures. That way you could use Marine Repairs and Training to do the repairs in the field.

(Vultures are not great for mining due to their weak shields. The "Vulcan Miner" is sort of a joke. But, with MM Mk2, they should work well enough.)

dubnium
Posts: 1035
Joined: Thu, 12. Feb 09, 10:54

Post by dubnium » Mon, 30. Sep 13, 04:09

how about sending the player a message and/or changing the name of the homebase ship when its cargo hold is getting full? this would be helpful for nividium trading where you have to manually buy a ship, load it up with the stuff and sell the ship back.

User avatar
DrBullwinkle
Posts: 5704
Joined: Sat, 17. Dec 11, 02:44

Post by DrBullwinkle » Mon, 30. Sep 13, 04:44

Good idea.

Personally, I just sell Nvidium from my PHQ. Traders will sell it over time -- at a higher price than you get at a shipyard.

dubnium
Posts: 1035
Joined: Thu, 12. Feb 09, 10:54

Post by dubnium » Mon, 30. Sep 13, 05:14

i always thought nividium market is so small that it can be considered non-existent. has this changed in AP?

User avatar
DrBullwinkle
Posts: 5704
Joined: Sat, 17. Dec 11, 02:44

Post by DrBullwinkle » Mon, 30. Sep 13, 05:36

Urban legend.

It was never true -- not in TC or AP, AFAIK.

dubnium
Posts: 1035
Joined: Thu, 12. Feb 09, 10:54

Post by dubnium » Mon, 30. Sep 13, 07:09

from what i know there are about 5 places in the universe that buy at most 10 units of nividium. even if that nvidium is instantly destroyed to make way for new sales you would need a constant stream of ships capable of carrying XL cargo flying there to offload nividum at the rate it is being mined.

User avatar
DrBullwinkle
Posts: 5704
Joined: Sat, 17. Dec 11, 02:44

Post by DrBullwinkle » Mon, 30. Sep 13, 07:31

Traders won't buy all of your stock instantly. It takes time to sell your Nividium from your PHQ. But it is faster than you think. And easier, as well.

dubnium
Posts: 1035
Joined: Thu, 12. Feb 09, 10:54

Post by dubnium » Mon, 30. Sep 13, 07:55

how many simultaneous miners can one run with a setup like that without a surplus building up? also, in one of your earlier posts you spoke about traders selling your nividium, which implies player-owned traders, while in the most recent one you speak about traders buying your nividium, which implies npcs traders (which seems more feasible to me as npc traders are too stupid to realise that every other trader in the universe is buying the same nividium that is almost impossible to sell); which is it? if it's npc traders, how low does the price need to be to attract them? if you mean player-owned traders, where do they go to sell it, corporate HQs?

User avatar
DrBullwinkle
Posts: 5704
Joined: Sat, 17. Dec 11, 02:44

Post by DrBullwinkle » Mon, 30. Sep 13, 09:52

Both. Try it.

I use gnasirator's Improved Mk3's for most trading, and Shimrod's new(ish) traders are awesome as well. While it is possible to do a lot of trading with CLS2 and CAG, I find it more trouble than it is worth.

Your mileage may vary.

dubnium
Posts: 1035
Joined: Thu, 12. Feb 09, 10:54

Post by dubnium » Tue, 1. Oct 13, 09:20

how many miners can work simultaneously without building up a surplus?

Sanjor
Posts: 64
Joined: Sun, 18. Sep 11, 14:59

Post by Sanjor » Thu, 21. Nov 13, 07:23

Code: Select all

* Subroutine: Transport wares to specified TL
SubMineralsTL:
skip if $station->exists
  endsub

* Sanjor: \/====================\/
do if [THIS]->get amount of ware {Transporter Device} in cargo bay
  $TransporterDevice = [TRUE]
do if $station->get amount of ware {Transporter Device} in cargo bay
  $TransporterDevice = [TRUE]

* Move to target if in jumprange
if $follow AND $TransporterDevice
  $tmp = [THIS]->call script '!move.movetoobject' : Target=$station  Range=4500
else if $TransporterDevice
  $tmp = [THIS]->call script '!move.movetoobject.samesector' : Target=$station  Range=4500
  
else
  gosub SubMineralsTLDock
end

if $tmp == {FLRET_TARGETREACHED}
  do if [THIS]->get amount of ware {Transporter Device} in cargo bay
    $TransporterDevice = [TRUE]
  do if $station->get amount of ware {Transporter Device} in cargo bay
    $TransporterDevice = [TRUE]
  if $TransporterDevice
* Sanjor: ^====================^
    
    $x = [THIS]->get amount of ware $mineral in cargo bay
    $y = $station->get free amount of ware $mineral in cargo bay
    do if $y < $x
      $x = $y
    = $station->add $x units of $mineral
    $x = -$x
    = [THIS]->add $x units of $mineral
    
* Sanjor: \/====================\/
  else
    gosub SubMineralsTLDock
  end
end
endsub

* Subroutine: Dock and unload wares to specified TL
SubMineralsTLDock:
skip if [THIS]->is docking allowed at $station
  return 'error.CannotTransferMineralsToTL'
* Return Error.  I don't even know if I'm doing this wrong. -Sanjor

* I don't know how it will handle the TL being in an unconnected sector. 
* The station subroutine didn't check for that, so I guess it's safe. -Sanjor
$ tmp = [THIS]-> fly to home base
if $tmp == {FLRET_LANDED}
  $x = [THIS]->get amount of ware $mineral in cargo bay
  = [THIS]->unload $x units of $mineral
end
endsub
* Sanjor: ^====================^

return null
I took a crack at transferring freight from either miner- or Homebase-based Transporter Devices and allow transfer via docking.
The unload command doesn't behave as I had hoped, leaving my miners docked and full of ore. I could replace it with the code used for the Transporter Device-based transfer, but I'd like to use trade commands if an appropriate one exists.
It occurs to me that I could use $tmp in place of $TransporterDevice at the expense of some readability.

Lakz
Posts: 107
Joined: Tue, 19. Feb 13, 05:20

Post by Lakz » Thu, 28. Nov 13, 17:38

Thanks for that script. The wing command has been an absolute godsend

Ferenczy66
Posts: 142
Joined: Sat, 14. May 11, 07:09

Re: Mobile Mining Mk2 (MM Mk2) v1.05 [TC][AP][SCR]

Post by Ferenczy66 » Sat, 1. Mar 14, 08:44

DrBullwinkle wrote:.

If you ask me whether it works with XRM, I'm going to tell you to punch yourself for asking. :)
Just a side note Doc...

XRM removes (as far as a quick scan goes) all XL cargo from fighters...meaning Falcon Haulers wont work in that scenario, unless players edit their Tships.

I'm doing that now...as I want to compare productivity of some of Lucike's scripts with their counterparts from other authors.

User avatar
DrBullwinkle
Posts: 5704
Joined: Sat, 17. Dec 11, 02:44

Post by DrBullwinkle » Sat, 1. Mar 14, 08:50

Yet another reason not to use XRM. ;)

(Just kidding. Editing the parts that don't make sense is probably the right thing to do. There are several. Otherwise, though, it has some great features.)

Lakz
Posts: 107
Joined: Tue, 19. Feb 13, 05:20

Re: Mobile Mining Mk2 (MM Mk2) v1.05 [TC][AP][SCR]

Post by Lakz » Sat, 1. Mar 14, 17:53

Ferenczy66 wrote: Just a side note Doc...

XRM removes (as far as a quick scan goes) all XL cargo from fighters...meaning Falcon Haulers wont work in that scenario, unless players edit their Tships.

I'm doing that now...as I want to compare productivity of some of Lucike's scripts with their counterparts from other authors.
Not true, there are a few fighters having an XL cargo hold. Mostly goner crafts. They're fast and have outstanding shields, making them perfect miners. However, they're pretty expensive . You can always cap them, if you have the bailing script (plenty to find in Yaki territory). Coupled with a light carrier and a TS for CLS, they make a good little mining solution.

But if you want to be serious about it, I recommend buying a large fleet of Mercury MK1 (80+), a Mammoth with a few marines (for eventual repairs) and a good TS for CLS (i.e. Mistral). Have also a few military assets patrolling, depending on the sector (rapid corvettes with a light carrier wing should work well).

Post Reply

Return to “X³: Terran Conflict / Albion Prelude - Scripts and Modding”