EnglishGermanFrenchRussianItalianSpanish
Log inRegister
 
[AP][MISSIONS]Mission briefing fix for stock missions, vanilla-friendly
Post new topic Reply to topic Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next
View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
dillpickle



MEDALMEDAL

Joined: 03 Nov 2008
Posts: 1154 on topic

Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Sun, 6. May 12, 21:55    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

kurush wrote:
-eni- wrote:
A realy nice one. Is there any chance to inlcude more details to trade/passenger missions too? An information about how much cargospace is required would be good.

One thing I am not sure is whether I can do any math in the language files, but I assume that probably not. I am also not sure whether there is a macro that gives you the # of cargo units required for one ware of this type. If there is, I can probably put it on the briefing. Otherwise, it would require a modification of the actual MD files and this is something that will be breaking with each new release. For passengers it is always 6 * # of passengers though, seems to be simple enough to calculate without modding. And for wares you can just print yourself a table of their size and then do some math practice Smile


For the Group Passenger Transport Missions (2.130 Generic Group Transport), you can use {value@L2M130.NeededSpace} for the cargo space needed - from:
Code:
<set_value name="L2M130.NeededSpace" exact="{value@L2M130.Passenger Count}*{lookup.type.cargospace@SS_WARE_PASSENGER}"/>

Number of passengers * passenger cargo space - already in the mission code.

The Cargo Transport Missions (2.116 Cargo Transport - Entertainment Chips etc...), the total space needed isn't calculated until after the briefing is created.
However as each ware has its own individual text, you could add the cargo class - {lookup.type.cargoclass.name@SS_WARE_RWASTE} - {already in radioactive waste briefing) telling the player they need a ship to carry XL cargo. There is also {lookup.type.cargospace@SS_WARE_RWASTE}, which will give the Cargo space per unit of the specified type, as you are already told the number to collect it should be simple maths.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kurush



MEDALMEDALMEDAL

Joined: 07 Nov 2005
Posts: 3952 on topic

Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Mon, 7. May 12, 18:51    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

dillpickle wrote:

For the Group Passenger Transport Missions (2.130 Generic Group Transport), you can use {value@L2M130.NeededSpace} for the cargo space needed - from:

After you did all the hard work I guess I have no excuse not it include it Smile Thanks! The links are updated. I also added Escort convoy missions and it really covers all I can think of. BTW, is there any sort of reference for properties available on each object and what is available as lookup.* ?

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Nanook
Moderator (English)
Moderator (English)



Joined: 15 May 2003
Posts: 25865 on topic
Location: In the X-Universe spanning two millenia
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Thu, 10. May 12, 22:00    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

kurush wrote:
...or if somebody asks for TC support...


[Raises hand and asks politely].

Pretty please? Very Happy


_________________
Having an Acronym Attack? See the Ego FAQ. Also now for Terran Conflict and Albion Prelude.
NOT an Egosoft employee.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kurush



MEDALMEDALMEDAL

Joined: 07 Nov 2005
Posts: 3952 on topic

Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Fri, 11. May 12, 00:20    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

Nanook wrote:
Pretty please? Very Happy

SPK version should work on both AP and TC. If you prefer to stay vanilla, I added a download link for TC prepared using cattafett's method. Please let me know if it works - I currently can't test it.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cattafett



MEDALMEDALMEDAL

Joined: 30 Aug 2007
Posts: 711 on topic
Location: In your fridge eating your food
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Fri, 11. May 12, 00:45    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

just so you know the TC vanilla safe version should work in AP as well
as all the AP 0003 tfile contains is the text for the AP uplink and i had no problems with my colour freight menus when trying to upload my AP stats
may make it easier for people to merge instead of using all of 0001 tfile

also if you haven't wiped your hands of this as finished
for the return ship missions any way to tell where the ship is before you say you'll get the ship
and
Courier missions - displays the size of one ware in cargo units
this is FREAKING GENIUS

now all you have to do is back date this to X3r and X2 Wink


_________________
those UFOs you hear about are just what you tried to explaine to me going over my head
Advanced Complex-Hub you know you need it Catta Fett's D.O.G.S Vanilla safe mod collectionyou don't need them but you want them
Friendship is like peeing on yourself: everyone can see it, but only you get the warm feeling that it brings
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kurush



MEDALMEDALMEDAL

Joined: 07 Nov 2005
Posts: 3952 on topic

Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Fri, 11. May 12, 01:00    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

cattafett wrote:
just so you know the TC vanilla safe version should work in AP as well
as all the AP 0003 tfile contains is the text for the AP uplink and i had no problems with my colour freight menus when trying to upload my AP stats
may make it easier for people to merge instead of using all of 0001 tfile

Figured that, the only issue is that your upload dialog will say "X3TC" instead of "X3AP". I'll probably put some game-neutral text there if I ever manage to add the sector for return ship. It also seems to be a good location for shameless advertisement of running modded games as vanilla, Laughing

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cattafett



MEDALMEDALMEDAL

Joined: 30 Aug 2007
Posts: 711 on topic
Location: In your fridge eating your food
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Fri, 11. May 12, 02:18    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

are you sure as i thought that the TC uplink was somewhere on the 0002 tfile.

Quote:
if I ever manage to add the sector for return ship


from your tfile

Code:
 <t id="1002">One of our pilots has abandoned a {lookup.type.name@{value@L2M105 Return Ship.Shiptype}} in a nearby sector. We need someone to bring it back.</t>
 <t id="1003">Return Abandoned {lookup.type.name@{value@L2M105 Return Ship.Shiptype}}</t>
 <t id="1004">A pilot abandoned a ship. Return {object.name@{param@ShipName}}, {object.code@{param@ShipName}} in {object.sector.name@{param@ShipName}} to {object.name@{param@DestName}}, {object.sector.name@{param@DestName}}.</t>


line 1002 is the the offer and 1004 is the go and get my ship from message then would this work

Code:
<t id="1002">One of our pilots has abandoned a {lookup.type.name@{value@L2M105 Return Ship.Shiptype}} in sector {object.sector.name@{param@ShipName}}. We need someone to bring it back.</t>


am going to test and will let you know
or if i find out i'm wrong quickly i'll edit my post and hide my stupidity Razz Twisted Evil

EDIT: didn't work, guess if it was that simple you would've done it


_________________
those UFOs you hear about are just what you tried to explaine to me going over my head
Advanced Complex-Hub you know you need it Catta Fett's D.O.G.S Vanilla safe mod collectionyou don't need them but you want them
Friendship is like peeing on yourself: everyone can see it, but only you get the warm feeling that it brings
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kurush



MEDALMEDALMEDAL

Joined: 07 Nov 2005
Posts: 3952 on topic

Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Fri, 11. May 12, 04:04    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

cattafett wrote:
are you sure as i thought that the TC uplink was somewhere on the 0002 tfile.

Nearly 100% Smile I found the same strings in 0001. In AP they just added this override file where they changed X3TC to X3AP in the file path. Don't ask why didn't they just change 0001... Smile I'll look into the sector issue, it makes sense to add it if it is available. I just haven't tried.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kurush



MEDALMEDALMEDAL

Joined: 07 Nov 2005
Posts: 3952 on topic

Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Sat, 12. May 12, 07:55    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

cattafett wrote:

EDIT: didn't work, guess if it was that simple you would've done it

I got it working with a slightly different macro. Links are updated.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kurush



MEDALMEDALMEDAL

Joined: 07 Nov 2005
Posts: 3952 on topic

Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Mon, 14. May 12, 07:59    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

Added station position to the station build mission to help people trying to build something in terran or Albion sectors.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
argon_emperor



MEDAL

Joined: 12 Dec 2005
Posts: 1047 on topic
Location: Townsville, Australia
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Sun, 12. Aug 12, 20:46    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

Just tried it, works like a charm Smile

Just a thought, but for the courier missions, as well as displaying how much volume one ware will take up, also display what freight class? Because several of them don't bother mentioning what size you require, and it's just a bit frustrating...


_________________

***modified***
"You can get more of what you want with kind words and a gun, than you can with just kind words" - Al Capone
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger
RustInPieces



MEDALMEDAL

Joined: 13 Feb 2012
Posts: 83 on topic

Thank you for registering your game
modified
PostPosted: Sun, 26. Aug 12, 02:46    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

To get this working in X3TC, I had to delete E:\Games\steam\steamapps\common\x3 terran conflict\t\0003-L044.pck

It seems to be working now. I'll keep an eye out for different mission types, but a taxi mission listed the needed cargo space.

Edit: 2 different courier missions did not list needed cargo space or size. One was titled Need Wares!, the other Ware Delivery Required.
Defend station worked, said to expect attacks by Pirates.



Last edited by RustInPieces on Sun, 26. Aug 12, 03:04; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DrBullwinkle





Joined: 17 Dec 2011
Posts: 5705 on topic
Location: Boston, USA
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Sun, 26. Aug 12, 03:01    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

RustInPieces wrote:
To get this working in X3TC, I had to delete E:\Games\steam\steamapps\common\x3 terran conflict\t\0003-L044.pck


That file does not exist in my vanilla t folder (Steam - X3TC 3.2b).

.


_________________
Peace through superior firepower

Bullwinkle's List | Marine Repairs and Training | Mobile Mining Mk2 | Drone Carrier Software 2 (DCS2) | Ship Tricks: Mini-Guides (with Video)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
RustInPieces



MEDALMEDAL

Joined: 13 Feb 2012
Posts: 83 on topic

Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Sun, 26. Aug 12, 03:11    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

Sorry.
After looking through all of the mods I installed, it was installed by Graxster's Remove: Press (KEY) to turn off Classic Flight Mode http://forum.egosoft.com/viewtopic.php?t=225356

I guess I can only use one of them?


Edit:
I opened Graxster's 0003_L044.pck file with 7zip, extracted the file inside of it, and added a .xml extension to it. Opened it in Notepad++, and copied the section
Code:
<page id="350035" title="Menu strings misc" descr="0" voice="no">
 <t id="4600"></t>
 <t id="4601"></t>
</page>

and pasted it into this mod's 0003_L044.xml file, now they both work.
Found another taxi mission, listed cargo space needed, but a courier mission did not show needed cargo space again.


Edit 2:
These are the missions that did not list cargo size. I looked in <page id="353316" title="L2 Transport Cargo" descr="0" voice="no"> and did not find them, which would explain why they did not work. (unless I missed them under another category) (edit: checked whole file, did not find them)
1. http://i.imgur.com/ztNww.jpg
2. http://i.imgur.com/2e6CI.jpg
So far all the build station missions have worked.

Edit 3:
Here is another courier mission:
http://i.imgur.com/tSwQt.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kurush



MEDALMEDALMEDAL

Joined: 07 Nov 2005
Posts: 3952 on topic

Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Sun, 26. Aug 12, 05:30    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

RustInPieces wrote:

Edit 3:
Here is another courier mission:
http://i.imgur.com/tSwQt.jpg

I never tried to change anything for this type of missions. The mission I changed was the one that asks you to haul engine components, radioactive waste, med. kits, and artifacts from one station to another. On the 0003 file, yes, you need to merge its contents with whatever mod you have installed. It is not present in TC and has just two lines in AP (these two lines are included).
There is some elusive courier mission where the ware size is not displayed, but I only saw it once or twice in my game. May be I'll catch it eventually Smile
argon_emperor wrote:

Just a thought, but for the courier missions, as well as displaying how much volume one ware will take up, also display what freight class? Because several of them don't bother mentioning what size you require, and it's just a bit frustrating...

I think Rad. waste mission mentions that you need XL in vanilla. I never ran into any other limitations though, may be because I never use ships that can't take L cargo.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic Reply to topic Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next
 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum
Control Panel
Login Data
The time now is Fri, 19. Jan 18, 15:22

All times are GMT + 2 Hours


Board Security

Copyright © EGOSOFT 1989-2018
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Template created by Avatar & BurnIt!
Debug: page generation = 0.18068 seconds, sql queries = 29