Ion Disruptor Questions

General discussions about the games by Egosoft including X-BTF, XT, X², X³: Reunion, X³: Terran Conflict and X³: Albion Prelude.

Moderator: Moderators for English X Forum

ahddib
x4

Ion Disruptor Questions

Post by ahddib » Sat, 14. Apr 12, 07:53

I've never used Ion disruptors much before so I have a few questions.

How long does it take to fry systems in a ship to prep for capture?

What are all the variables associated with this process?

Specifically, does using multiple IDs increase the chance of system destruction?

can you cap smaller ships with this? I do see some hull damage on the stats, but iirc bailing happens at specific hull % intervals.

Thanks,
Ahddib

Max1045
x4

Post by Max1045 » Sat, 14. Apr 12, 08:34

AFAIK there are no specific benchmarks for bailing. How long it takes to prep a ship for boarding really depends. First of all, it's completely random when the items are destroyed. Second of all, it depends how much is on the ship you're fixing. The best thing to do is just to check after every few seconds of firing; it rarely takes long. Yes, mulitple IDs do speed up the process, as each one has the possibility of destroying equipment.

delray
x3tc

Post by delray » Sat, 14. Apr 12, 09:25

Also take energy into account. That's why a lot of people prefer frying from their M7 rather than M6 or M3, you can do it from many turrets andfor a longer time.
Where is it?

Ripskar
x3ap

Post by Ripskar » Sat, 14. Apr 12, 12:47

On the smaller ships bailing question;
Ion-Ds are nerfed to have a single reduced chance of causing a bail followed by no further bail tests.
Do you miss dangerous pirates?
Try leading the target a little more...

ImageCobra Mk. III Cmdr.

Lazerius
x4

Post by Lazerius » Mon, 16. Apr 12, 23:07

I had a question to add to this thread, and since it's on the topic of Ion D's, I figured it would be a good place for it.

Did they nerf the amazing Graphic that was Ion D Lightning bolts/etc between TC and AP?