EnglishGermanFrenchRussianPolishItalianSpanish
Log inRegister
 
X3AP Retail versions
Post new topic Reply to topic Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... , 14, 15, 16  Next
View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
DiveBomberDave





Joined: 16 Feb 2004
Posts: 188 on topic

Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Mon, 17. Dec 12, 11:55    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

Thanks mate, hopefully I'll get it before christmas.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DiveBomberDave





Joined: 16 Feb 2004
Posts: 188 on topic

Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Wed, 9. Jan 13, 16:46    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

Hi, I've finally got the game...

Yeah!

Is there something wrong with what I'm doing?

I registered my TC with steam...
And suprise, suprise it wants to download the whole 6 gig of TC, typical steam rubbish, they don't mind spending $95US that I dont have!

OK ignore steam TC it works fine as a program...

I then click the english launcher on the new AP disc, loads some stuff from disc 1, the installer ignores disc 2 and starts downloading the 6 gig of TC, great, don't we all just love STEAMW@#NKERS!

Cancel that, google my problem, paste the Egosoft/TC folder into the Steam/TC folder, no worries that should fix it...

I open my steam tray and steam starts downloading another 2 gig of data, is this what is on the second disc, do I need to paste the contents into my steam directory?

Now for the rant!
I have to say I hate steam, X2 was so easy to install, just put in the disc and code away you go, no crap store to control my access to my licensed product. I understand the distribution benefits but remember the old problem has always been the distributors greed so I'm not sure it is fair to penalize the customer for this.
End of rant.

Please help with this installation otherwise it will cost me more than I paid for the game including postage from the opposite side of the world just in downloads to run the game.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
CBJ
EGOSOFT
EGOSOFT



Joined: 29 Apr 2003
Posts: 35554 on topic

Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Wed, 9. Jan 13, 16:48    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

It might say it's going to download 6GB (or whatever) but it will only actually download what it needs to, i.e. what is different between what you have on disk and the current version of the game.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DiveBomberDave





Joined: 16 Feb 2004
Posts: 188 on topic

Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Wed, 9. Jan 13, 16:58    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

Thanks for the speedy response mate.

should it ask me to put in disc 2?

I'll try it again.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DiveBomberDave





Joined: 16 Feb 2004
Posts: 188 on topic

Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Wed, 9. Jan 13, 17:09    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

No difference, with either disc 1 or 2 in the drive it still wants to download a 1.2 gig file.

I wish I knew if it will ask me to change the disc too.

I don't want to pay my ISP more than I payed Egosoft, I know who has done more work for it.

I'll try again tomorrow when I have time to wait for it to download.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
X2-Illuminatus
Moderator (Deutsch)
Moderator (Deutsch)

MEDALMEDALMEDAL

Joined: 02 Apr 2006
Posts: 20110 on topic

Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Wed, 9. Jan 13, 17:24    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

See also the Steam FAQ on Installing from Disc instead of Steam.


_________________
Besteht Interesse an einem Nopileos-Hörbuch?

Farnhams Legende und Nopileos als E-Books!

"People who think they know everything are a great annoyance to those of us who do." - Isaac Asimov

"If it's not impossible, there must be a way to do it." - Sir Nicholas Winton
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
CBJ
EGOSOFT
EGOSOFT



Joined: 29 Apr 2003
Posts: 35554 on topic

Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Wed, 9. Jan 13, 17:32    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

DiveBomberDave wrote:
...it still wants to download a 1.2 gig file.

Again, don't be fooled by what it says. It may think it needs 1.2GB of data, but if it finds it already has it because it's on the DVD then it won't actually download it. There is bound to be some data for it to download from Steam though, because both games have been patched since whatever version you have on disk.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DiveBomberDave





Joined: 16 Feb 2004
Posts: 188 on topic

Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Thu, 10. Jan 13, 07:27    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

Cheers CBJ,

That page looks like what I'm looking for, I'll try it now.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Earth Ultimatum IV.





Joined: 03 May 2010
Posts: 5104 on topic
Location: Slovakia
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Tue, 29. Jan 13, 17:32    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

19.99 €? I got it from steam for 9.99€, via PaySafe card, LulZz

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
X2-Illuminatus
Moderator (Deutsch)
Moderator (Deutsch)

MEDALMEDALMEDAL

Joined: 02 Apr 2006
Posts: 20110 on topic

Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Tue, 29. Jan 13, 17:34    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

This topic is about the retail version, though.


_________________
Besteht Interesse an einem Nopileos-Hörbuch?

Farnhams Legende und Nopileos als E-Books!

"People who think they know everything are a great annoyance to those of us who do." - Isaac Asimov

"If it's not impossible, there must be a way to do it." - Sir Nicholas Winton
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
hsung





Joined: 03 Jul 2004
Posts: 208 on topic
Location: Australia
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Sat, 18. May 13, 09:44    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

CBJ wrote:
It might say it's going to download 6GB (or whatever) but it will only actually download what it needs to, i.e. what is different between what you have on disk and the current version of the game.


When I registered my X3 TC non-steam version, it only gave me the option to install it in the ..\Steam\SteamApps\common folder whereas my original installation is else where. So I re-installed X3 TC in the Steam folder but when I re-activated it with Steam, it deleted the folder and proceeded to download the 6Gb game again Evil or Very Mad

Please advise a work around.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vr01



MEDALMEDALMEDAL

Joined: 10 Sep 2006
Posts: 1025 on topic
Location: Down Under the X Universe...
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Sat, 18. May 13, 11:59    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

After you installed TC into the steam folder did you manually update it to the latest version? Try that first. I suspect that Steam thought there were too many differences and cleared the whole thing out.

You didn't have to delete your original installation. All you had to do was copy it into the Steam folder.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hsung





Joined: 03 Jul 2004
Posts: 208 on topic
Location: Australia
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Mon, 20. May 13, 14:47    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

After several unsuccessful attempts, I had to exit from Steam after it started downloading TC. Then, I re-installed TC from DVD before resuming Steam's update ... that tricked it to jump to 87% complete when it started to update from ver. 3.0 to 3.2.

However, after I purchased AB, bloody Steam deleted my TC installation again Evil or Very Mad Hence, I have to start all over again ... probably consumed at least 2Gb or more of my bandwidth.

Hope my experience will help another ...

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ballti





Joined: 29 May 2013



PostPosted: Wed, 29. May 13, 12:13    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

Hey, I wish to play only X3 AP, and now i dont know what to buy, only X3 AP via STEAM, or X3 TC + X3 AP via STEAM?

ty


_________________
Wargasm
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
X2-Illuminatus
Moderator (Deutsch)
Moderator (Deutsch)

MEDALMEDALMEDAL

Joined: 02 Apr 2006
Posts: 20110 on topic

Thank you for registering your game
modified
PostPosted: Wed, 29. May 13, 12:22    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

X3AP is an addon to X3TC. That means you need an X3TC installation to play X3AP. If you already have a version of X3TC you can use that to register it with Steam and get a Steam version. See this FAQ article for reference. Afterwards you should be able to just buy X3AP. If you don't have X3TC yet, then the X3: Terran War Pack would be the best solution, as it contains X3TC and X3AP.

Edit: typo.


_________________
Besteht Interesse an einem Nopileos-Hörbuch?

Farnhams Legende und Nopileos als E-Books!

"People who think they know everything are a great annoyance to those of us who do." - Isaac Asimov

"If it's not impossible, there must be a way to do it." - Sir Nicholas Winton


Last edited by X2-Illuminatus on Wed, 29. May 13, 15:38; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic Reply to topic Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... , 14, 15, 16  Next
 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum
Control Panel
Login Data
The time now is Sun, 20. Aug 17, 00:13

All times are GMT + 2 Hours


Board Security

Copyright © EGOSOFT 1989-2017
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Template created by Avatar & BurnIt!
Debug: page generation = 0.29834 seconds, sql queries = 29