EnglishGermanFrenchRussianItalianSpanish
Log inRegister
 
[SCRIPT] Make a flat map 00749.bod out of your Universe
Post new topic Reply to topic Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next
View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
Litcube





Joined: 20 Oct 2006
Posts: 4236 on topic
Location: Canada
Thank you for registering your game
modified
PostPosted: Thu, 8. Oct 09, 00:19    Post subject: [SCRIPT] Make a flat map 00749.bod out of your Universe Reply with quote Print

From the original thread:

For X3 Terran Conflict

Sick of navagating around the universe map's spaghetti? Rather it be flat and easy to navigate?

Does this look better?



(or this?)
http://members.shaw.ca/litcube/X3/FlatMap2.jpg

This is a pretty small niche, here, but for those of you who make your own Universe maps, add sectors, or change gates, and want an easy way to make that 00749.bod file, running this script will make one for you.

Note that all sectors have to have been placed, and gates connected for this to function correctly. So Add Sector and Connect With Gates before you run this.

It'll be flat and gridded, but will create all sectors and gate lines, exactly like my Litcube's Flat Map.

The resulting file is in a 8112.txt log file in your MyDocuments\X3TC folder. Just rename it to 00749.bod, and throw it in the last .CAT or your mod file to function.

Included are a T file and a script. The script reads from the T file, so ensure it's placed in the correct directory.


http://members.shaw.ca/Litcube/X3/MakeAFlatMap/MakeAFlatMap.zip



Last edited by Litcube on Thu, 29. Apr 10, 05:55; edited 3 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ScRaT_GER





Joined: 08 Jan 2008
Posts: 1958 on topic

Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Thu, 8. Oct 09, 00:51    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

Cool thing - thanks!
Will be useful, when creating a custom map.

Greetings,
ScRaT


_________________

Skripts:
Teladi Informations Service, Fahrtenbuch, Handelsübersicht
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Xenon_Slayer
EGOSOFT
EGOSOFT



Joined: 09 Nov 2002
Posts: 10796 on topic
Location: Camping the North Gate of Black Hole Sun
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Thu, 8. Oct 09, 00:56    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

Seems like a useful place to put this info. There was always a hard coded limit to the amount of different components, or whatever you call them, in this file. Something around 1000.

As of 2.5, it's been increased to ~4000. That's a lot of gates!

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Litcube





Joined: 20 Oct 2006
Posts: 4236 on topic
Location: Canada
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Thu, 8. Oct 09, 01:01    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

I remember someone claiming that back in the X3 Reunion Days. I might call myself a 00749 expert, if I could be permitted to toot my own horn for a moment.

I remember the XTM team leaving out certain gate lines because they felt there was a limit of 999. I added them myself, and experienced no problems. I counted them, and they all showed. I reported it, and the implemented my changes.

Also, did you know, there's a text error in the vanilla 00749? "emove" is added in several places, erroneously.

Good info, Xenon_Slayer! Thank you.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Elffin





Joined: 18 May 2005
Posts: 368 on topic
Location: Wales
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Thu, 8. Oct 09, 01:03    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

So if I start form scratch using Observe's 'unconnected; 00749 max file which I have converted to a 00749 bod file..
Create my universe using galaxy editor and connect gates using the internal galaxy editor... save map.

Then if I run this script it will provide the missing 'links' needed in my bod file?

(hope you understand what I mean - I'm exhausted today!!!!)

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Litcube





Joined: 20 Oct 2006
Posts: 4236 on topic
Location: Canada
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Thu, 8. Oct 09, 01:08    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

You don't have to start with any 00749.bod. The bod file and the Universe Map are completely unrelated to each other.

The only time the 00749.bod file looks up any info in the map:

a) A line will "exist" in the viewable screen if there exists in the map a gate connecting to sectors that matches the bod file.

a) When said gate is "known" by the player (i.e. the gate itself)


You can start with no bod file. The script I wrote is completely independant of the bod, and reads all data from the existing Universe from which it is run. It makes a new 00749.bod from scratch.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Elffin





Joined: 18 May 2005
Posts: 368 on topic
Location: Wales
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Thu, 8. Oct 09, 01:20    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

Yes - Got it ... This is a great script btw...

The only reason why I was asking since I've been told its easier to edit and connect gates using the internal editor (hence why I need to use an edited bod file for implementing gates in new sectors) then your script can be used to create required bod file.

Or am I missing something simple here?

Thanks litcube

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Litcube





Joined: 20 Oct 2006
Posts: 4236 on topic
Location: Canada
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Thu, 8. Oct 09, 01:25    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

I think you might be missing something.

A .bod file is only a... is only a "picture", if you will. It stores no information about how gates should be connected. Just a picture of what they look like.

Consider it a minimap. The map itself is the stuff with the data, and how it works. The minimap is just a picture, or representation of the data in the map.

All gates should be connected via the galaxy editor (or xml file, if you're a nerd). The galaxy editor does not make the 00749.bod file. The .bod is just a picture, which Egosoft didn't implement in the galaxy editor.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Elffin





Joined: 18 May 2005
Posts: 368 on topic
Location: Wales
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Thu, 8. Oct 09, 02:43    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

Thanks Licube...

I don't think I'm explaining myself clearly..sorry Embarassed

I've made a custom universe using Observe's file.(hope he doesn't mind me linking a pic to it here). - the bod file is based on this.



thats the 00749bod file in 3ds which is now converted to as my bod file which allows me 'see' my 'new' galaxy which I created in doubleshadow's galaxy map editor. Without this file my new sectors would not appear in the internal galaxy editor. So My intention is to use this using the game's internal galaxy to editor to add and connect gates and save the xml file.

Consequently.. This bod file doesn't have connections, so can I assume that your script will produce a complete 'bod file' if all my gates have been place correctly in the saved xml file?

Sorry for the confusion - and thanks again!

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Litcube





Joined: 20 Oct 2006
Posts: 4236 on topic
Location: Canada
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Thu, 8. Oct 09, 04:11    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

The answer is yes, your assumption is correct.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Sartorie





Joined: 10 Apr 2004
Posts: 384 on topic
Location: Hamburg
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Thu, 8. Oct 09, 10:11    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

Xenon_Slayer wrote:
As of 2.5, it's been increased to ~4000. That's a lot of gates!


interesting Smile

Quote:
I remember the XTM team leaving out certain gate lines because they felt there was a limit of 999. I added them myself, and experienced no problems. I counted them, and they all showed. I reported it, and the implemented my changes.


yeah though it seemed to work in game the side effect was that the game crashed on exit ^^

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
apricotslice





Joined: 16 May 2004
Posts: 13629 on topic
Location: In the Hunter Legacy Universe
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Fri, 9. Oct 09, 03:39    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

If you dont mind me asking a related question.......

Is there any way of updating the main map with sectors that have been added to the game by mission director ?

Most notably, I'm thinking of the Aldrin sectors. At the moment, the only way to add them is by doing the plot, but for people past the plots, we really want them as a standard set of sectors on the main map now.

Is it possible to output from the game the current sectors so that the map gets updated and can therefore be used in mods ?


_________________
Apricot Mapping Services HQ
CLICK HERE for X3 Handbook; TC and AP Guides, Mods, Scripts & Downloads
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Litcube





Joined: 20 Oct 2006
Posts: 4236 on topic
Location: Canada
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Fri, 9. Oct 09, 04:27    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

Hrm. By add sectors, do you mean to the picture of the map (00749.bod file) or the actual game Universe (x3_universe.xml)?

You can't add sectors to the x3_universe once the game has started. Has to happen in the galaxy editor or xml editing. You can change the 00749.bod file anytime you'd like.

The Aldrin sector, and the Terran sectors are actually already there in your non-plot game. The missions don't add these sectors, they just reveal them.

Aldrin is X=13 y=10. Try setting it to known via the script editor (object commands), and see what happens.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
apricotslice





Joined: 16 May 2004
Posts: 13629 on topic
Location: In the Hunter Legacy Universe
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Fri, 9. Oct 09, 04:32    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

Yes I meant the X3_Universe.xml.

So they are already there, just not visible ? Does that include all the gates and stations ?

If you toggle the see all sectors in the cheat menu, you see the sectors, but they do not contain any of the gates and stations. Its the gates and stations I really want to see in the map. So far, no one has done a MD to just add them in without the plot.


_________________
Apricot Mapping Services HQ
CLICK HERE for X3 Handbook; TC and AP Guides, Mods, Scripts & Downloads
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Litcube





Joined: 20 Oct 2006
Posts: 4236 on topic
Location: Canada
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Fri, 9. Oct 09, 04:34    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

The stations are there. The jobs, the rock, that creepy clown that always hangs out by the bar, everything is there as you remember. Just not revealed.

Cycrow's cheats migh reveal the sectors, but the individual objects within those sectors might have not been set to "known" status.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic Reply to topic Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next
 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum
Control Panel
Login Data
The time now is Tue, 14. Aug 18, 15:17

All times are GMT + 2 Hours

[ Disclaimer / Impressum ] | [ Privacy Policy / Datenschutz ]

Board Security

Copyright © EGOSOFT 1989-2018
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Template created by Avatar & BurnIt!
Debug: page generation = 0.19653 seconds, sql queries = 30