Destroying other factories for more profit?

General discussions about the games by Egosoft including X-BTF, XT, X², X³: Reunion, X³: Terran Conflict and X³: Albion Prelude.

Moderator: Moderators for English X Forum

Deleted User

Destroying other factories for more profit?

Post by Deleted User » Sat, 17. Dec 11, 19:54

Hello!

I am new to the game, watched some tutorials and before I start I wanted to ask something:

Let's say I build a factory and there are some other in the same galaxy / area, can I destroy them, so my factory will be the only one where the goods can be bought? If yes, can it be somehow done without much reputation loss? Do I losse reputation everywhere or only from the race that owned the factory?

This would be a very interesting game experience for me :)

And is there already a unlimited salvage insurance MOD for AP? Sometimes I just cannot wait all the time till I reach a station when I must leave the computer.

Thank you!

A5PECT
x4

Post by A5PECT » Sat, 17. Dec 11, 20:01

Well, yes, you can destroy all of your competition if you so desire. There's no way around the reputation loss (okay, there might be one way involving lots of missiles and a jump drive, but I feel it's rather exploit-y). But you would only lose standing with the race the station belonged to.

Instead of destroying NPC factories, you could just build factories that produce resources to sell to those factories. Then purchase the products from the NPC factories and sell those.

As for the salvage insurance issue, I'm not sure. Check the Scripts and Modding forum.
Admitting you have a problem is the first step in figuring out how to make it worse.

saco3
x4

Post by saco3 » Sat, 17. Dec 11, 20:02

Welcome to the X universe.:)

I wouldnt do that if I were you, attacking stations can deal a really seriouse blow to your rep with the owner race, they'll blow up anything related to you if it drops too low.