Noob here, why can't I install any laser on my Boron Thresher?

General discussions about the games by Egosoft including X-BTF, XT, X², X³: Reunion, X³: Terran Conflict and X³: Albion Prelude.

Moderator: Moderators for English X Forum

shadyJ

Noob here, why can't I install any laser on my Boron Thresher?

Post by shadyJ » Tue, 6. Dec 11, 22:37

HI,
I took a ship retrieval mission, and the guy who hired me offered me a measly 100,000 credits to retrieve his Thresher. Naturally, I just kept it.

I am trying to put some lasers in it, I bought some particle cannons and a plasma thrower, but when I open the "Install Laser" menu, they lasers are there but they are greyed out, and I can't select them or install them. The Laser entry in the encyclopedia says the lasers I want to install are compatible with the Thresher. The only mod I have installed is the MARS thing and that official bonus pack. Other than that I am playing a vanilla game starting with the humble merchant.

Can anyone tell me what is happening?

Also another quick question, will my ships defend themselves if some pirates attack them? Even if I am out of sector? Do I need to equip them with fight command software? Also are my ships smart enough to run if they are outnumbered and outgunned?

StarSword
x3tc

Re: Noob here, why can't I install any laser on my Boron Thresher?

Post by StarSword » Tue, 6. Dec 11, 22:47

shadyJ wrote:I am trying to put some lasers in it, I bought some particle cannons and a plasma thrower, but when I open the "Install Laser" menu, they lasers are there but they are greyed out, and I can't select them or install them. The Laser entry in the encyclopedia says the lasers I want to install are compatible with the Thresher. The only mod I have installed is the MARS thing and that official bonus pack. Other than that I am playing a vanilla game starting with the humble merchant.
That's emphatically not what is supposed to happen.

Which lasers in particular are you trying to equip?