X Plugin Manager and SPK Tools for Mac v. 1.21 and AP Bonus Pack How-To (5/4/2012)

The place to discuss scripting and game modifications for X³: Terran Conflict and X³: Albion Prelude.

Moderators: Moderators for English X Forum, Scripting / Modding Moderators

Jaydaya
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue, 10. Jan 12, 11:07

hmm

Post by Jaydaya » Fri, 13. Jan 12, 22:48

Great found both

<app install folder>/data/addon/scripts - and -
<app install folder>/data/addon/t

Greatly appreciated your help.

Now what instructions do I give the Installer? It does not like Mac speak very much :)

icEPiraka
Posts: 64
Joined: Wed, 2. Jul 08, 02:42
x3tc

Post by icEPiraka » Fri, 13. Jan 12, 23:59

svenje wrote:when u install that bonus pack you have to install it at

/Applications/X3 Albion Prelude.app/Contents/Resources/data

if you have any questions just let it know :)
Thanks for telling us this. I believe we now have available to us all possible locations of the TC/AP data folder.
Jaydaya wrote:Great found both

<app install folder>/data/addon/scripts - and -
<app install folder>/data/addon/t

Greatly appreciated your help.

Now what instructions do I give the Installer? It does not like Mac speak very much
Assuming you are at the Select Install Destination screen, click the browse button and use the icons to navigate. You Macintosh HD should be represented by the Hard Drive icon with the slash by it. Open this up, and you can navigate to Applications > X3 Albion Prelude.app > etc. unti you reach your addon folder. Once you select this folder, the final directory listed in the text box should look something like this:

Code: Select all

Z:\Applications\X3 Albion Prelude.app\Contents\Resources\Data\addon
From here, the install should be intuitive.

So it looks like the crux of everyone's problems is finding and navigating to the data folder using the Windows installers. I shall update my guide for installation with pictures by sometime tomorrow.

Jaydaya
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue, 10. Jan 12, 11:07

Post by Jaydaya » Sat, 14. Jan 12, 13:29

Hi Guys I got up first thing this morning to try out your advice - especially yours icePiraka (hugs) and was able to drill down to:

Z:\Applications\X3 Albion Prelude.app\Contents\Resources\Data\addon

With the installer. However, I got this error notice when I tried to install :cry:

Image

This is a steep learning curve - even for a girl :)

icEPiraka
Posts: 64
Joined: Wed, 2. Jul 08, 02:42
x3tc

Post by icEPiraka » Sat, 14. Jan 12, 21:42

Jaydaya wrote:Hi Guys I got up first thing this morning to try out your advice - especially yours icePiraka (hugs) and was able to drill down to:

Z:\Applications\X3 Albion Prelude.app\Contents\Resources\Data\addon

With the installer. However, I got this error notice when I tried to install :cry:

http://i1215.photobucket.com/albums/cc5 ... P_Fail.jpg

This is a steep learning curve - even for a girl :)
Well, at least now we know girls play AP. :)

Anyway, this error seems rather interesting. Did the installer manage to install anything else before reaching this error? If not, I'm guessing it has something to do with the Data being inside the actual app, and therefore file permissions are getting in the way.

I would run the installer again to see if this error arises again. If so, try changing the file permissions on the data and addon folders (do this by right click > get info) so that everyone can read and write to them. If all else fails, you could try creating that folder yourself.

EDIT: I have added pictures to help visually guide anyone who is confused on where to find their Macintosh HD when using the BP installer/locating the TC/AP directory.

Jaydaya
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue, 10. Jan 12, 11:07

Post by Jaydaya » Sun, 15. Jan 12, 15:27

Hi

Yah I am a Gal AND I am blond :) AND I am still having trouble. :evil:

I am still getting error codes, though I did change the permissions on all the relevant bits in my X3AP folders, as you advised IcePiraka. :)

Looking at your new instructions IcePiraka I have a bad feeling that I may have messed up earlier in the process. For example, I think I missed "Extract the files using spktool.exe with the following command" :oops:

I had no idea what that meant two nights ago! :twisted:

So, I am gonna dump my 1st download and start again with a new one and follow your instructions again now I know a lot more about my Mac's naughty bits!

I will let you know if it works. :!:

Jaydaya
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue, 10. Jan 12, 11:07

Post by Jaydaya » Sun, 15. Jan 12, 16:27

Finally!!! :lol:

It worked !! Thanks guys, especially for your hard work IcePiraka! :)

I am really glad we Mac X3 gamers can finally benefit from the various Packs, just like those PC guy have for ages!

It's not very easy to do, but if I can do it, believe me, anyone can :D

icEPiraka
Posts: 64
Joined: Wed, 2. Jul 08, 02:42
x3tc

Post by icEPiraka » Sun, 15. Jan 12, 21:33

Glad to see it all worked out. So it was just the uninstall that did the trick, and not the file permissions?

Also, I should note that extracting SPKs with the spktool.exe is somewhat extraneous; the excellence of the Plugin Manager in installing scripts is such that you do not need to use the SPK tool unless you really want to get dirty with the install, moving files around, etc.

I hope any other Mac users that have installed this and had trouble have borne with us. Hopefully by now everything you need to do should be clearly stated in the opening post.

superpirson
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat, 21. Jan 12, 01:05

Post by superpirson » Sat, 21. Jan 12, 01:19

the active packages screen is visible on launch for > 1 second and then it goes away.
even if I quit and reload, it still dosen't show up.
does anyone else have this problem?

just incase it matters: mac osx 10.7.2 : 8g ram : 2.26ghz intel core 2 duo

ugg, I hate wine. not that I don't applaud it for what it offers to me as a mac user, but every time I try to use it in any form, I end up spending hours trying to get it to work, and then ragequitting. :(

svenje
Posts: 131
Joined: Sat, 28. Feb 04, 11:35
x2

Post by svenje » Sat, 21. Jan 12, 14:32

still have one problem.

I can't see what packages there are installed.


EDIT : Oki fogot it was a .NET problem.

Any ideas how to disable some addons then?

TheShadow604
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed, 22. Aug 07, 04:28

Post by TheShadow604 » Tue, 24. Jan 12, 09:04

Thanks so much for creating this!

Jaydaya
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue, 10. Jan 12, 11:07

Warning

Post by Jaydaya » Thu, 16. Feb 12, 16:32

WARNING girls and guys the new Msc X3AP update 1.1 wipes the Bonus Pack
:evil:

I am going to try a reinstall ... watch this space :roll:

Dosan
Posts: 58
Joined: Thu, 8. Feb 07, 12:00
x3

Post by Dosan » Tue, 21. Feb 12, 22:35

I've just been running through this, having got as far as placing the bonus pack .exe in the Tools folder, and come across a problem...

When trying to launch the command line tool (and now any of the tools and the plugin manager itself), I get the following error:

"Wineskin Error

ERROR! Launching wine server failed!No new
wineserver PID found!"

Any ideas? :/

Ta

svenje
Posts: 131
Joined: Sat, 28. Feb 04, 11:35
x2

Post by svenje » Wed, 22. Feb 12, 17:30

what I did was open Wine and then choose to install window program.

Dosan
Posts: 58
Joined: Thu, 8. Feb 07, 12:00
x3

Post by Dosan » Wed, 22. Feb 12, 18:23

Rightyo, I'll give that a go.

Which program did you actually install / where did you point the installer?

Thanks
D

svenje
Posts: 131
Joined: Sat, 28. Feb 04, 11:35
x2

Post by svenje » Wed, 22. Feb 12, 19:59

I downloaded the bonus pack.exe
started wine then install windows program.

The bonus pack.exe is a windows program so I choose that to install.

the destination was the folder where u put the "fake" X3ap.exe in.

if you bought it from app store it should be in

Contents >> Resources >> Data

Post Reply

Return to “X³: Terran Conflict / Albion Prelude - Scripts and Modding”