EnglishGermanFrenchRussianItalianSpanish
Log inRegister
 
[HelpFind]NO engine smoke/space dust
Post new topic Reply to topic Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
Quinch





Joined: 10 Jun 2004
Posts: 344 on topic

Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Sun, 10. Feb 13, 08:14    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

Quick question - I tried the basic approach, deleting {well, renaming} the particles3.pck files from the catalogues, both addon and game root, with no change.

https://dl.dropbox.com/u/33551029/addon-cat1.jpg
https://dl.dropbox.com/u/33551029/addon-cat7.jpg
https://dl.dropbox.com/u/33551029/root-cat3.jpg


_________________
I wasn't banished to the moon yesterday.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address
jambock1978





Joined: 27 Apr 2013



PostPosted: Wed, 22. May 13, 01:14    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

Hmmm... I have a little problem, now i have a lot of zzPlaceholder ships... It seems that its because i have more than one mod that change/Add ships... What can i do to solve it? Any way to merge 2 Tships.txt?

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mannschaft





Joined: 04 Oct 2011
Posts: 40 on topic

Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Sun, 1. Sep 13, 23:10    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

Firewrath wrote:

Sooo. That should be it. If anyone finds any errors or mistakes Ive made, just let me know and i'll try to fix them when i can, though i warn my net access tends to be IFy, so it might take a little bit for me to get to.



I left the forums shortly after I made this post so I never got to try out your fix. Now that I'm playing Albion Prelude I decided to give it a shot. I can't freaking thank you enough. This works perfectly! My Shamshir no longer has 6 ugly trails of smoke coming out of the engines! God she's beautiful now.

To get this to work with Albion Prelude I simply took the output file and placed it into the x3/addons/types folder instead of x3/types. I don't think that alone worked but there was a TShips.pck file in that folder already. I renamed it to TShips.pck.bak (in effect deleting it without deleting it) and loaded the game again and BAM! no smoke in space.

I can't thank you enough and the others that helped as well (Jack for the python doohickey etc...).

Much love.

*Edit* Renaming that .pck file removes several ships from the game including the Kyoto. Leaving it in makes the engine smoke come back. Havn't figured out a workaround.


_________________
DOWN WITH THE ALBINO SKUNK!!!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
anachron13





Joined: 03 Nov 2010
Posts: 144 on topic
Location: Aubagne, FR
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Mon, 2. Sep 13, 09:10    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

Hello,

The pck file is just a compressed txt file. Open it with x3 editor 2, save it as a txt file, run the python script and you should have all your ships.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mannschaft





Joined: 04 Oct 2011
Posts: 40 on topic

Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Wed, 4. Sep 13, 06:09    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

Yeah I just can't get it to work. I screwed with some files and had to delete my install and unzip my backup install (any time I mod a game, I zip up the entire vanilla install for reasons like this). Now there is no longer a TShip.pck in the addon/types folder. Just a Twares.pck. Anyway, putting the modified text file in there breaks something. My Albion Pride will be permanently damaged and go really really really slow. Not sure where the TShips.pck came from in the first place if it's not in my vanilla install but the best I had so far was no smoke but I lost some ships including any that were added by AP.

I noticed that smoke has been replaced by ion trails in Rebirth. /sigh.


_________________
DOWN WITH THE ALBINO SKUNK!!!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
SakuyaFM



MEDAL

Joined: 01 Apr 2012
Posts: 62 on topic
Location: Southern California, USA
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Sun, 20. Oct 13, 22:22    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

Necroing because people need to know that the parser is NOT compatible with XRM+AP 3.0 since it doesn't have entries for the new ships. You'll get zzPLACEHOLDER ships all over the place and you can't access the 3.0 ships at all.


_________________
#iDOLSPORTS #LoveLive #NicoMaki | ~Unlimited Weeb Works~
StrikerS - Egosoft Forums DiD - http://forum.egosoft.com/viewtopic.php?p=4168675
Unshackled From the Collective - An XRM Story Playthrough - http://wp.me/p2B7v3-3W

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MutantDwarf





Joined: 20 Jun 2006
Posts: 605 on topic
Location: United States
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Sun, 20. Oct 13, 22:39    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

SakuyaFM wrote:
Necroing because people need to know that the parser is NOT compatible with XRM+AP 3.0 since it doesn't have entries for the new ships. You'll get zzPLACEHOLDER ships all over the place and you can't access the 3.0 ships at all.


Pretty sure that's wrong. You just need to run the parser on the correct tships file (the one updated to 3.0). If you don't, yeah, you'll have issues, but those aren't caused by the parser.

Quite certain the parser doesn't have any entries for any ships - it actually reads the tships file you provide it and does stuff with the data it finds.

Also: I've been using this with the newest version of the XRM mod (plus AP) with zero problems for the past twelve hours, so... yeah. That's not the issue.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger
builder680





Joined: 14 Feb 2011
Posts: 1027 on topic
Location: Kansas - Wheat Farm XL delta
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Fri, 14. Mar 14, 22:58    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

Dragging this thread up again to say I have the "zzPLACEHOLDER Hauler" issue after running it as well. The ship I noticed that got replaced was a TP Lance, which also had it's hull reduced to sub 10% in my property menu. The Lance's ship icon changed to the one for TL though it's still listed as a TP. In sector, the ship is invisible and Betty calls it a "Hauler." There are probably others but I didn't have time to check more than my own small Property List.

As stated, I didn't get a chance to look at the rest of the universe, but the rest of my ships looked ok. I ran the .exe with the TShips from the XRM 1.30 low hull pack. It's probably something I missed, I just can't figure what it is. As the poster above said, shouldn't this work independently of what ships are actually in the file being parsed?

Missiles seemed to work (I removed their trails too), but I'll need to mess with them more. Haven't had a chance to look too deeply.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jack08





Joined: 25 Dec 2005
Posts: 2956 on topic
Location: Australia
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Sat, 15. Mar 14, 00:58    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

There shouldn't be any problems regardless of mod or tships being parsed, it can function on anything - All it does is read each individual TShip (or relevant file) and set the trails to 0 ( or -1, cant remember exactly ) - which should never break any file, definitely not to the point of it creating zzPLACEHOLDER ships.

I dont think the parser has caused this issue, not unless egosoft have gone and changed the TShips format (which, i doubt it).

Make sure you dont have conflicts with TShips files, make sure that there's only one TShips.txt in your types folder - make sure there is no TShips.pck file in your types folder (created perhaps by the plugin manager)


_________________

"One sure mark of a fool is to dismiss anything that falls outside his experience as being impossible."
―Farengar Secret-Fire
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
builder680





Joined: 14 Feb 2011
Posts: 1027 on topic
Location: Kansas - Wheat Farm XL delta
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Sat, 15. Mar 14, 01:50    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

I don't use the PM, and I only have one tships from the low hull pack. No pck files in types. Dang I was hoping this would be a simple thing thing. Guess I'll have to change them all by hand. Thanks Smile

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jack08





Joined: 25 Dec 2005
Posts: 2956 on topic
Location: Australia
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Sat, 15. Mar 14, 02:21    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

builder680 wrote:
I don't use the PM, and I only have one tships from the low hull pack. No pck files in types. Dang I was hoping this would be a simple thing thing. Guess I'll have to change them all by hand. Thanks Smile


You would just be repeating the same thing the parser already did, and if it is the parsers fault, then you would create the same error - Is it possible you provided the wrong TShips to the parser? Ensure your X3 Editor's VFS is correctly loading all XRM cat/dat files.


_________________

"One sure mark of a fool is to dismiss anything that falls outside his experience as being impossible."
―Farengar Secret-Fire
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
builder680





Joined: 14 Feb 2011
Posts: 1027 on topic
Location: Kansas - Wheat Farm XL delta
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Sat, 15. Mar 14, 02:38    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

No I am most certainly absolutely using the correct tships. Not sure what the issue is. I might try removing the hull pack and try the tships in xrm proper.

To clarify, it is not a conflict of tships. I'm using vfs and my own eyes to verify which tships I unpack in x3 editor 2. That is not the issue.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
builder680





Joined: 14 Feb 2011
Posts: 1027 on topic
Location: Kansas - Wheat Farm XL delta
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Sat, 15. Mar 14, 06:06    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

Just got home from work and tried a couple things.

What I have found is that extracting TShips to the \types folder is what causes zzPLACEHOLDER ships to appear, at least for my game (and I suspect some others in this thread). Ignoring Jack08's parse executable entirely, I separately tried extracted .txt and packed .cat Tships, with both the Hull Low pack TShips and with the TShips located in the XRM Part 2 .cat. When extracted, I get placeholder ships. When not extracted (left inside the .cat), I'm golden.

It has nothing to do with the .exe that Jack08 created. Sorry to bother you with it.

I am well aware that this is not how things "should" work regarding these files, but since this is in fact what "is" happening, I'm going to try to figure out how to put a .txt file back into a .cat (after I run the .exe on it) and see if that works. I know it's pretty easy, since all the mods here do it, I just haven't done it before. I've only extracted, not re-packaged.

If it works, I'll update this post to reflect that so that others with the same issue might find this info and use it. If it doesn't work, or I can't figure it out, then I'll just do it by hand like mentioned earlier.

In any event, thanks for at least taking a look, Jack08. Smile

EDIT: That moment you realize you were SO wrong. Also ignore what I typed above, it's hogwash.

Ok, I'm sorry. I found the issue. It WAS a TShips thing. Jack08 was 100% right. The problem was that it wasn't immediately apparent to me that you could go up a directory inside the .cat file. I did so on accident just clicking around looking at stuff and I saw the "addon" folder with its own \types. The light went on.

Anyone else looking to do this, make sure you extract the TShips from the addon folder within the cat. When looking at the file through VFS I didn't notice that in the path... and when I went back to extract it by right click opening the .cat directly, I just pulled out what I thought was "the" TShips. Don't make that mistake, be sure to get the one in \addon (if you're playing AP, obviously).

Again, to Jack08, my apologies as well as my thanks for pointing me in the right direction. This tool is extremely handy, as I'd also been looking for a quick way to remove missile trails (I think they clutter the combat field).

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BlackArchon





Joined: 04 Feb 2004
Posts: 864 on topic
Location: Germany
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Tue, 20. Jan 15, 14:09    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

Hi there,

I'm using X3: AP 3.1 with XRM 1.30d and I wanted to get rid of the engine trails. Since this manual here was made for TC and isn't working for AP, this is an updated version:

Instructions:
Step #1:
Get the X3 Editor 2 from Here.

Step #1.1:
If you dont have Python, get Portable Python from Here.
(Make sure you get version '2.7.x.x' as version '3.x.x.x' generates an error on running the script.)

Note: The following steps will be done with Portable Python, if you already have Python, then you should already know how to run a script. Razz

Step #2:
After installing the X3Editor2 run the 'X3 Editor 2.exe' and click on 'File', then 'Open'. Then open the .cat file from XRM part2 under your "x3 terran conflice\addon" directory. Caution: if you use a hull pack, you have to open its .cat file because it has priority over XRM part2!
Example: I have .cat/.dat files from 01 to 10 in my addon folder. 01 to 04 are from X3 AP, 05 is from the Complex Cleaner script, 06 is XRM part1, 07 is XRM part2, 08 are the XRM enhanced backgrounds, 09 is the XRM medium hull pack and 10 is the docking computer ware size fix. I have to open 09.cat here because it precedes XRM part2 (07.cat)!

Step #3:
Now a second open dialog appears. At the top you can see "Look in 09.cat" (in my example). Now open 'addon', then 'types' and left-click TShips.pck once. THIS file is the correct one!
Now you have to click on the small black triangle right next to the 'Open' button on the right and choose 'Open catalog in Cat manager'.

Step #4:
Now you left-click on TShips.pck to select it. Then at the top of the window, under the menu, click the 'Extract Files' button.

Step #5:
Click 'Browse' and select where you want to place the TShips file. Staying in the Extract Files screen, make Sure the box next to 'Decompress compressed files' is Checked. Then hit 'Ok'.
you should now have a file called 'TShips.txt' in the folder you selected.

Step #6:
Save Jack08's Python code as 'ParseTFile.py'.
This should be saved in the same folder as your 'TShips.txt' file.

Code:

TFILE = "TShips.txt"
TFILEOUT = "TShips.txt.out"

######### PROCESSING CODE ( Do Not Modify ) #############

import time

F = open(TFILE, "r")
Lines = []


data = F.readline()
while data != "":
    Lines.append(data)
    data = F.readline()

ProcessedLines = []
for Line in Lines:
    if "//" not in Line:
        ProcessedLines.append(Line)


SizeData = 0
Data = []
for Line in ProcessedLines:
    Split = Line.split(";")
    Split.pop()
    if(len(Split) == 2):
        SizeData = Split
    else:
        Data.append(Split)

######### Modify Code ( Modify Here ) #############
for Entry in Data:
    Entry[49] = "0" # WipeTrails


######### PROCESSING CODE ( Do Not Modify ) #############
F.close()
F = open(TFILEOUT, "w")
SizeData = (SizeData[0]+';'+SizeData[1]+';\n')
F.write("//Generated by ParseTFile.py by Jack08\n")
F.write(SizeData)

for Bullet in Data:
    String = ""
    for element in Bullet:
        String += (element+";")
    String += "\n"
    F.write(String)

F.close()
raw_input("Output file \""+TFILEOUT+"\" Written\nProcess Completed\nPress Enter to Exit")
######### PROCESSING CODE ( End ) #############


Step #7:
Extract Portable Python to a folder of your choice.
Then run 'PyScripter-Portable.exe' and in the menu click 'File' - 'Open' or the Open button. Navigate to where you saved 'ParseTFile.py' and click 'Open'.
Now click the 'Run' menu and then 'Run'.
(You can also press the button with the little green arrow on it, or hit 'CTRL-F9'.)
This should have popped up a window saying 'Press Enter to continue' and generated a file called 'TShips.txt.out' in the same folder as your 'Tships.txt' file.

Step #8:
Navigate to your X3AP install folder, normally: 'C:\Program Files\EGOSOFT\X3 Terran Conflict\addon'
If you have the Steam version, it should be in your Steam directory under '\Steam\SteamApps\common\x3 terran conflict\addon'

Create a new folder called 'types' in your X3AP folder if it doesn't exist yet.
(It should look like so: 'C:\Program Files\EGOSOFT\X3 Terran Conflict\addon\types' or '\Steam\SteamApps\common\x3 terran conflict\addon\types' for the Steam version)
Place the 'TShips.txt.out' file there and rename it to 'TShips.txt'.

Step #9:
Thats it. Youre done. When you run X3AP with XRM all the ship trails should be gone from the game now.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tau12us





Joined: 23 Apr 2013
Posts: 1 on topic

Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Fri, 13. Feb 15, 01:42    Post subject: if you have an python 3.1 or above Reply with quote Print

you can just replace the
'raw_input"
at the bottom of the script with
'input'
both input and raw_input do the same thing in the update versions

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic Reply to topic Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum
Control Panel
Login Data
The time now is Fri, 24. Nov 17, 15:12

All times are GMT + 2 Hours


Board Security

Copyright © EGOSOFT 1989-2017
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Template created by Avatar & BurnIt!
Debug: page generation = 1.02773 seconds, sql queries = 29