EnglishGermanFrenchRussianItalianSpanish
Log inRegister
 
[PROGRAM] X-Studio Script Editor [v1.08 : 14th Feb 14]
Post new topic Reply to topic Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 45, 46, 47, 48  Next
View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
Litcube





Joined: 20 Oct 2006
Posts: 4225 on topic
Location: Canada
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Tue, 29. Jul 14, 22:03    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

Litcube's Universe wouldn't have been possible without this thing.

Jack08 says I should also say thank you. So thank you!


_________________


Litcube's Universe Wiki
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mr.bear





Joined: 11 Dec 2010
Posts: 427 on topic
Location: UK
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Tue, 5. Aug 14, 19:53    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

Litcube wrote:
Litcube's Universe wouldn't have been possible without this thing.

Jack08 says I should also say thank you. So thank you!


i should bloody well think so mr cube! now where's my money?

i want a pound for every second you've used x-studio...


_________________
Rapunzel, Rapunzel, let down your bear...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
jack775544





Joined: 13 Dec 2011
Posts: 1116 on topic
Location: Australialand
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Wed, 6. Aug 14, 01:10    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

mr.bear wrote:
Litcube wrote:
Litcube's Universe wouldn't have been possible without this thing.

Jack08 says I should also say thank you. So thank you!


i should bloody well think so mr cube! now where's my money?

i want a pound for every second you've used x-studio...


Ha I think you would bankrupt the poor fella three times over.


_________________
1940s - Various "computers" are "programmed" using direct wiring and switches. Engineers do this in order to avoid the tabs vs spaces debate.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jack08





Joined: 25 Dec 2005
Posts: 2964 on topic
Location: Australia
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Sat, 9. Aug 14, 23:07    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

Hello, Mr.Bear!

I have run up against a slight bug with the compiler that ran me around in circles for a little while.

The compiler will allow compilation of a <RetVar> command into an IF statement regardless of if its a <RetVar/IF> acceptable command, resulting in a lost statement (jump tree) error in the script engine.

Example code, this should not compile, but does:

Code:

if not $Missile-> get array of missiles aiming to me
end
return null



_________________

"One sure mark of a fool is to dismiss anything that falls outside his experience as being impossible."
―Farengar Secret-Fire
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Perahoky





Joined: 22 Aug 2008
Posts: 177 on topic
Location: Dresden
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Fri, 15. Aug 14, 18:39    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

Hello together,

is this project available on a project hosting platform e.g. bitbucket oder github?

We could send you patches to implement new features for which you dont have time.

greetings,
// Pera


_________________
***Modified***

X4 - Anregungen, Wünsche, Feedback - Übersicht
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Raaaak





Joined: 29 Mar 2013
Posts: 82 on topic

Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Tue, 19. Aug 14, 10:45    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

X-studio throws an error when I try to open a script from MK3 Traders Reloaded.

Code:

IDS_UNHANDLED_DEBUG_ASSERTION: Debugging check failed : '"Unable to translate parameter types defined as DT_STATION" == FALSE' in translateParameterToString(..) on line 905 of .\Script Translation.cpp
IDS_ERROR_APPEND_LOCATION: translateParameterToString(..) has encountered an IDS_UNHANDLED_DEBUG_ASSERTION error (ID: 0702) in .\Script Translation.cpp, line 905
Attachment #1:
Call Stack:
translateParameterToString(..) on line 817 of script translation.cpp
translateCommandToString(..) on line 407 of script translation.cpp
translateCommandNode(..) on line 209 of script translation.cpp
translateScriptFile(..) on line 1122 of script translation.cpp
translateScript(..) on line 1055 of script translation.cpp
threadprocLoadScriptFile(..) on line 1554 of script translation.cpp


The offending file is plugin.autotrade.check.stat.res.pck and a proper bug report has been submitted.

Does anyone know why this happens, and is there a work around?

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mr.bear





Joined: 11 Dec 2010
Posts: 427 on topic
Location: UK
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Sat, 23. Aug 14, 23:09    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

I think they've used the in-game script editor to reference an in-game station 'Dala Na(Unbekanntes Objekt)', then commented the command and saved the script. It's left the script in a state where it contains live data. Try removing the commented line with the in-game editor, saving it and loading it with x-studio.

Code:
*do if $station == Dala Na(Unbekanntes Objekt)


mr.bear


_________________
Rapunzel, Rapunzel, let down your bear...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
memeics





Joined: 26 Sep 2010



PostPosted: Thu, 13. Nov 14, 01:58    Post subject: X-Studio requires admin privileges? Reply with quote Print

(sorry if this has been asked before)

This looks like a professional grade tool, I'm impressed to see this kind of work from a hobby programmer, fantastic piece of work!

I was looking to use a script editor (editing raw XML files got annoying quickly) and found your tool but unfortunately, when I try to run it Windows 7 prompts for the admin password. This is something some people do (mark their .exe with manifests which include "requireAdministrator" privileges requirements) because the tool might need access to protected directories (like "Program Files (x86)") and the world is full of dumb people who can't set privileges in there to give themselves write access and then bother the poor developers that the thing is not working!!111oneone :)

However, knowing that I did give myself write permissions on the Terran Conflict installation directory (I edit files in there directly with Notepad++ for example) I shouldn't need to run X-Studio as admin so I used my favourite Resource Editor, open the X Studio.exe and sure enough, it has a "requireAdmin" manifest. I remove that and save.

But now it gets strange. If I run X-Studio.exe again, it again prompts for admin, what the hell. I open the .exe again in the resource editor and again it has the requireAdmin bits, what is going on I just removed those. So I save to another executable and I even reload it (after restarting the Resource Editor) and indeed it's now missing the requireAdmin requirement but again when I run it, I get prompted and the requirement is added to the manifest file.

I'm confused... so I have a couple of questions:
1. why does X-Studio require admin privs?
2. how can I run it without admin privileges?

Thanks!

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mr.bear





Joined: 11 Dec 2010
Posts: 427 on topic
Location: UK
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Thu, 25. Dec 14, 12:26    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

Merry christmas everybody!

I've been consumed by RL & my day job for the last six months, and I don't know when, or even if, I'll have spare time to work on X-Studio or X-Studio II from now on, especially since I may move over to Elite Dangerous if the game is popular.

sorry guys, but X-Studio 1 was an especially huge sink on my time, which I just don't have anymore.

mr.bear


_________________
Rapunzel, Rapunzel, let down your bear...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
DrBullwinkle





Joined: 17 Dec 2011
Posts: 5705 on topic
Location: Boston, USA
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Thu, 25. Dec 14, 13:28    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

Thanks for doing as much as you have done so far, Mr. Bear.

X-Studio is an absolute joy to work with. It frees the developer to be creative and work on the code, rather than having to worry about the editor.

Thank you.

And Merry Christmas to you, as well!


_________________
Peace through superior firepower

Bullwinkle's List | Marine Repairs and Training | Mobile Mining Mk2 | Drone Carrier Software 2 (DCS2) | Ship Tricks: Mini-Guides (with Video)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
DrBrain





Joined: 04 Oct 2011
Posts: 2 on topic

Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Wed, 7. Jan 15, 17:28    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

Hello mr.bear,

I've tried to use your x-studio to modify X2 (1.4/1.5/BonusPackage), each version x-studio failed to load. The reason is -AFSIK- when trying to load \types\TDocks.pck file which is not part of X2, btw. neither the folder \types is.

The error message log (excerpt):
Code:
0x1838: Loading object definition file 'types\TDocks.pck'
0x1838: IDS_TFILE_VERSION_UNSUPPORTED: The object type definitions file 'types\TDocks.pck' is from an unsupported version of X² The Threat, please update to the lastest version
0x1838: Successfully loaded 0 docks from the object type definitions file 'types\TDocks.pck'


I guess x-studio does not support X2 natively ?! Or did I miss something to install?

Greetings DrBrain

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DrBrain





Joined: 04 Oct 2011
Posts: 2 on topic

Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Mon, 19. Jan 15, 02:52    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

@mr.bear

first of all I like to thank you for precious effords to bring this editor alive. Unfortunately your editor, which seems to me superior to Exscriptor does not load with an X2 installation only, due to the fact (I guess) some X3 resource files does not exists.

Is there any advice or help to solve this problem, please? I really like to use your editor, really!

If there is any switch or something like that to fix it? I appreciate to here from you, thanks.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Joubarbe





Joined: 31 Oct 2006
Posts: 3090 on topic
Location: France
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Sat, 28. Mar 15, 11:49    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

Hey mr.bear (and others). If you're still alive, I'm wondering how your macros system work. Is it editable ? For instance, if I wanted to add a "select/case/default" statement ?


_________________
Mayhem - Satellites Monitoring - Internal Distribution Network - ADS (Joubarbian Edition) - The Joubarbian Toolkit - EasyConnect
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jack775544





Joined: 13 Dec 2011
Posts: 1116 on topic
Location: Australialand
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Mon, 30. Mar 15, 12:23    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

Joubarbe wrote:
Hey mr.bear (and others). If you're still alive, I'm wondering how your macros system work. Is it editable ? For instance, if I wanted to add a "select/case/default" statement ?


I don't believe so. As far as I know the only way you could do it would be to go into the source code and add it manually.

The other problem is that the source code version is several behind the release build.


_________________
1940s - Various "computers" are "programmed" using direct wiring and switches. Engineers do this in order to avoid the tabs vs spaces debate.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
GlassDeviant





Joined: 04 Nov 2012
Posts: 234 on topic

Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Mon, 13. Apr 15, 13:55    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

mr.bear wrote:
If you want to run the program on a computer without X, you just need to copy the following files into a folder and select that as your 'game folder' in Preferences. (Make sure you put them in their proper subfolders: 'mov', 't' and 'types')
    t\0001-L044.pck (or .XML) (Main language strings)
    mov\00044.pck (or .XML) (Speech clip definitions)
    types\sounds.pck (or .TXT) (Sound effect definitions)
    types\videos.pck (or .TXT) (Video clip definitions)
    types\TDocks.pck (or .TXT)
    types\TFactories.pck (or .TXT)
    types\TShips.pck (or .TXT)
    types\TLaser.pck (or .TXT)
    types\TShields.pck (or .TXT)
    types\TMissiles.pck (or .TXT)
    types\TWareE.pck (or .TXT)
    types\TWareN.pck (or .TXT)
    types\TWareB.pck (or .TXT)
    types\TWareF.pck (or .TXT)
    types\TWareM.pck (or .TXT)
    types\TWareT.pck (or .TXT)


My X3AP has only one of these files, mov\00044.pck.


_________________
bibo ergo sum
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic Reply to topic Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 45, 46, 47, 48  Next
 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum
Control Panel
Login Data
The time now is Thu, 26. Apr 18, 17:32

All times are GMT + 2 Hours


Board Security

Copyright © EGOSOFT 1989-2018
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Template created by Avatar & BurnIt!
Debug: page generation = 0.11056 seconds, sql queries = 29