[Mod] Apricot Tree SuperHub v2.01 for TCv3 / New Xenon Incursion version !

The place to discuss scripting and game modifications for X³: Terran Conflict and X³: Albion Prelude.

Moderators: Moderators for English X Forum, Scripting / Modding Moderators

Post Reply
User avatar
apricotslice
Posts: 13630
Joined: Sun, 16. May 04, 13:01

Post by apricotslice » Sat, 1. Jan 11, 14:37

No real way around it I'm afraid.

Apparently it can be done in the MD, but I dont understand enough MD to do it.

Changing the maps means a new game.

Neskiairti
Posts: 35
Joined: Thu, 29. Nov 07, 19:58

Post by Neskiairti » Mon, 14. Feb 11, 07:13

is there a way to use this as a fake patch instead of a mod?
Eeep! it got me again!

User avatar
apricotslice
Posts: 13630
Joined: Sun, 16. May 04, 13:01

Post by apricotslice » Mon, 14. Feb 11, 07:21

Sure, just copy it to the main TC directory, and rename the cat and dat files to the next available number.

However, make sure that any mod you select as a mod, is not changing the map file. Only the last map found will be used.

User avatar
digdug83
Posts: 276
Joined: Tue, 22. Aug 06, 22:33

Post by digdug83 » Thu, 24. Feb 11, 11:08

Ok I must be missing something stupidly obvious because I can't find the 3 Tree sectors on the universe map. I am running this from a brand new game and can see the satellites in those sectors and even look at the sectors' maps but I can't bloody see them on the universe map to link to them.

User avatar
apricotslice
Posts: 13630
Joined: Sun, 16. May 04, 13:01

Post by apricotslice » Thu, 24. Feb 11, 11:19

digdug83 wrote:Ok I must be missing something stupidly obvious because I can't find the 3 Tree sectors on the universe map. I am running this from a brand new game and can see the satellites in those sectors and even look at the sectors' maps but I can't bloody see them on the universe map to link to them.
Which version do you have, and how have you loaded it (Mod or false patch) ? If patch, what is after it ?

User avatar
digdug83
Posts: 276
Joined: Tue, 22. Aug 06, 22:33

Post by digdug83 » Thu, 24. Feb 11, 11:52

I have v2.02 of your mod and it's loaded as a fake patch just before the Naval Shuffle mod.

User avatar
digdug83
Posts: 276
Joined: Tue, 22. Aug 06, 22:33

Post by digdug83 » Thu, 24. Feb 11, 12:01

Well crap. On a whim I just re-numbered it to the end and started a new game and there they were. No idea why Naval Shuffle would affect it as I don't believe it alters the game at all but whatever. *sigh* Now I have to start over a fourth time. I don't suppose there's anyway to fix it in my current game?

User avatar
apricotslice
Posts: 13630
Joined: Sun, 16. May 04, 13:01

Post by apricotslice » Thu, 24. Feb 11, 12:37

digdug83 wrote:Well crap. On a whim I just re-numbered it to the end and started a new game and there they were. No idea why Naval Shuffle would affect it as I don't believe it alters the game at all but whatever. *sigh* Now I have to start over a fourth time. I don't suppose there's anyway to fix it in my current game?
The universe map is actually a graphical file.

So if Naval shuffle has its own version of that file, it could be cancelling the version in the Tree mod.

Frankly, I'd put the tree mod last, so either as the fake patch, or as the selected mod.

In theory, if Naval shuffle has got that file, then the file in tree mod should still work for it, just might look different.

Also in theory, if you reverse the order of the fake patches, naval first, Tree last, your current game should work.

As far as I know, you can add the map file without it affecting the current game. Its only map files themselves that need a restart.

User avatar
digdug83
Posts: 276
Joined: Tue, 22. Aug 06, 22:33

Post by digdug83 » Thu, 24. Feb 11, 19:22

I tried and no luck. Thanks for the help anyway. That's what the cheat plugin is for I suppose :D

User avatar
apricotslice
Posts: 13630
Joined: Sun, 16. May 04, 13:01

Post by apricotslice » Thu, 15. Dec 11, 06:53

Update :

With the new X3 game just announced, I have the sad announcement to make that None of my mods are going to be updated to the new game.

Since the game requires Steam, and I've made a personal decision not to use steam, and it appears there will not be a disk version available in Australia, I wont be getting this new game, and this makes it impossible for me to update the mod and test.

Thankyou to all of you have been using this mod, and I am sorry I wont be continuing it into the new game.

I have no idea if this mod will work with the new game or not. Perhaps someone would like to test it and post here to let people know.

In theory, if the sectors I used are not changed, then this mod should continue to work. In theory.

szymon1337
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue, 13. Nov 12, 21:06

Post by szymon1337 » Sat, 17. Nov 12, 19:56

I know nobody responded here for one year, however I have to ask: is there a version that merges this mod and XRMi?

I could do it myself ( I have gentoo running ergo I can do anything), but I have no information which sectors SuperHub alters. Also, diff ran on x3_universe.map files fails

User avatar
apricotslice
Posts: 13630
Joined: Sun, 16. May 04, 13:01

Post by apricotslice » Sun, 18. Nov 12, 00:58

szymon1337 wrote:I know nobody responded here for one year, however I have to ask: is there a version that merges this mod and XRMi?

I could do it myself ( I have gentoo running ergo I can do anything), but I have no information which sectors SuperHub alters. Also, diff ran on x3_universe.map files fails
I've not even looked at XRM, so cant tell you how difficult it would be to merge them.

Superhub only changes gates in vanilla sectors, while adding 3 new ones. The fastest way of finding this out, is start a new game, cheat all sectors visible, then examine each gate in the 3 superhub sectors.

If XRM has only added a few sectors, it would be easier to cut and paste the new sectors into the superhub map file, than do it the other way.

szymon1337
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue, 13. Nov 12, 21:06

Post by szymon1337 » Sun, 18. Nov 12, 01:51

Ok, you've explained this a bit, last question: could you give me changed sectors' ID's, with indication which is new, and which has only recieved new gates? I hope I'll figure out the rest ;] ( I totally dunno if there's any reference "sector id's -> sector names" list)

EDIT: i've figured how to load x3_universe into galaxy's editor; I've compared xrmi and SuperHub:
The sector to the west of the HUB is overlapping - that means I cannot import it to the XRMi from the SuperHub. I could just move thisTree sector to the other free spot - however attaching descriptions to sectors is far beyond my (even not 12 hours old) modding skills. So I'll propably will have to live with placeholders. :meh:
Also, http://www.xperiment.co.uk/files/X3ModMap.xls is down

User avatar
apricotslice
Posts: 13630
Joined: Sun, 16. May 04, 13:01

Post by apricotslice » Sun, 18. Nov 12, 04:29

Its a long time since I did this, so I dont remember all of it now.

In theory, if you import all the XRM changes into the superhub map, except for that overlapping sector, then it should work. You could also copy and paste in the sector contents from XRM.

Btw, X3editor2 has a better galaxy editor imo, and its external to the game.

I'm not sure why you added that downed site url. Its nothing to do with me.

szymon1337
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue, 13. Nov 12, 21:06

Post by szymon1337 » Sun, 18. Nov 12, 13:00

1. Srsrly, X3editor 2 has a galaxy editor?? Where?
2. I'm just going to recreate missing tree on XRMi's map from scratch. (SuperHub only changes some sectors, XRM all of them ;] )
3. That was the only reference that lists sectors with ID's - Sorta of OOT notice, nothing releated to you, sorry if I said sth inappropriate ;]
Last edited by szymon1337 on Sun, 18. Nov 12, 13:36, edited 1 time in total.

Post Reply

Return to “X³: Terran Conflict / Albion Prelude - Scripts and Modding”