EnglishGermanFrenchRussianPolishItalianSpanish
Log inRegister
 
[Mod] Apricot Tree SuperHub v2.01 for TCv3 / New Xenon Incursion version !
Post new topic Reply to topic Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7  Next
View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
Ketraar
Moderator (Português)
Moderator (Português)

MEDALMEDAL

Joined: 21 May 2004
Posts: 8407 on topic
Location: Guimarães (Portugal)
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Tue, 12. Oct 10, 11:08    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

Use the MD power to change sector ID "on the fly".

<set_sector_override textid=""/>

Assigning an ID from page 7

MFG

Ketraar

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
apricotslice





Joined: 16 May 2004
Posts: 13628 on topic
Location: In the Hunter Legacy Universe
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Wed, 13. Oct 10, 07:27    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

minor update to v1.02.

Script change to stop the sectors becoming overrun with advanced satelites. Embarassed

Redownload the v1.02 zip. Does not require a restart.


_________________
Apricot Mapping Services HQ
CLICK HERE for X3 Handbook; TC and AP Guides, Mods, Scripts & Downloads
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
apricotslice





Joined: 16 May 2004
Posts: 13628 on topic
Location: In the Hunter Legacy Universe
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Fri, 15. Oct 10, 02:19    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

Notes :

I'm liking the way this is working on the game.

By making crossing the universe much quicker, I'm finding some interesting effects.

Trade is much more effective, because traders can now find the products stations want and get them there much faster.

The races are interreacting much more. Because the Tree creates shortcuts that join race space within a few jumps, and so I'm finding whole fleets of a different race traversing sectors (and often shooting the locals as they go). And this is without race response or improved races scripts of any kind. There is now a lot of fleet movement going on. At the moment, I have a Paranid fleet in CBSE heading north, for no apparent reason, and the locals are bailing out in droves as they progress, so they are obviously shooting.

Race fleets are turning up in the xenon sectors a lot. I've never seen this before. Now I'm seeing an M1 or M2, with M7 support and a dozen or so various fighters, not only entering the Xenon sectors, but actively engaging the xenon. The only thing they dont do is trash the stations.

This last was really unexpected, since I deliberately chose to gate sectors away from the xenon sectors, so the xenon would not find migrating easier. But it seems to allow race fleets access to the xenon sectors where before they were too far away.

Oddly, I'm not getting as much traffic through the Hub as I expected, which seems to indicate that the Tree has radically changed the directions that ships are taking. Instead of going through a gate to get to the sector on the other side, they are going through to go somewhere different. On the other hand, my Trading Dock in the hub is doing good business after I stock it up each time.

Something I tried to be different was that I thought the Hub itself should be capable of generating ecells (given the look through the gaps), so I set it to always remain full, and set to 12. So far, no sales at all, which surprised me. But there is a price of 12 within 3 jumps, so obviously the tree now joins with a sector 1 jump from a major ecell production sector. (Might have to find it and do some subtle sabotage lol)


_________________
Apricot Mapping Services HQ
CLICK HERE for X3 Handbook; TC and AP Guides, Mods, Scripts & Downloads
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
StarCrack





Joined: 03 Apr 2008
Posts: 214 on topic

Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Fri, 15. Oct 10, 02:29    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

so what do i need to do if anything to get this to work with DDTC wich adds a sector

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
apricotslice





Joined: 16 May 2004
Posts: 13628 on topic
Location: In the Hunter Legacy Universe
Thank you for registering your game
modified
PostPosted: Fri, 15. Oct 10, 04:12    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

I've just looked at DDTC, and it is much more than adding a sector. The map is very extensively changed.

I could add my changes into the DDTC map, but I dont know what the repercussions of doing so would be. There is at least 1 station change in Farnams Legend for example, and I remove all stations and roids from that sector.

What I have done is pretty basic.

Put it this way. If you are happy to lose everything in Farnam's Legend, Bala Gi's Joy and Olmankalots Treaty, I can cut and paste my sectors into the DDTC map replacing whats there, and give you a false patch to use after DDTC as a false patch, or as a map file to unzip into the maps folder to override the mod (whichever you prefer).

But if those sectors are important to DDTC (especially if a unique station is only in one of those sectors), then its probably better you ask one of the DDTC team to merge my map into theirs, rearranging their sectors so it works, releasing that as a patch to DDTC. (send me a copy to host as well). At a guess, they will need to move all roids and stations to outside the ring of gates, since the traffic between the gates is such that the whole internal area should be clear. Since I'm unfamiliar with DDTC, its not something I really want to mess with, and moving all the roids and stations is reasonable job, which is why I deleted everything in the first place.

If someone on the DDTC team (or any mod team) would like to use this idea within their mod, all I ask is that you keep the Apricot Tree sector names, and send me a copy of the modified map file, so I can host it next to mine.


_________________
Apricot Mapping Services HQ
CLICK HERE for X3 Handbook; TC and AP Guides, Mods, Scripts & Downloads


Last edited by apricotslice on Fri, 15. Oct 10, 04:14; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
TrixX





Joined: 18 Aug 2010
Posts: 2016 on topic

Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Fri, 15. Oct 10, 04:14    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

What about using 3 new sectors and link them to the mentioned sectors?


_________________
"If you’re not prepared to be wrong, you’ll never come up with anything original."
Sir Ken Robinson
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
StarCrack





Joined: 03 Apr 2008
Posts: 214 on topic

Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Fri, 15. Oct 10, 04:20    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

thanks for the reply i'll get on them

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
apricotslice





Joined: 16 May 2004
Posts: 13628 on topic
Location: In the Hunter Legacy Universe
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Fri, 15. Oct 10, 04:26    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

StarCrack wrote:
thanks for the reply i'll get on them



_________________
Apricot Mapping Services HQ
CLICK HERE for X3 Handbook; TC and AP Guides, Mods, Scripts & Downloads
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
apricotslice





Joined: 16 May 2004
Posts: 13628 on topic
Location: In the Hunter Legacy Universe
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Fri, 15. Oct 10, 04:29    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

TrixX wrote:
What about using 3 new sectors and link them to the mentioned sectors?


So far, I havent been successful in adding new sectors.

I guess thats the next step. It was easier to prototype using existing sectors than to work out everything to do with new ones. Now I've some expereince with modifying sectors, maybe adding new ones will be easier. I'll have to see.

If I can get new sectors into the game, then that will make merging much easier, assuming that any mod doesnt already use a sector I choose.

My preference for new sectors is 12,8, 13,7 and 13,9, being the 3 sectors adjacent to the Hub sector.

Does DDTC use any of them ? (Or any other mod for that matter ?)

By moving the Tree sectors, the 3 used now would return to normal. I basically chose them, because they didnt seem to have any real significance to anyone/race/plot in TC.

StarCrack wrote:
thanks for the reply i'll get on them


Worth asking the question to see what they say. But I will give creating new sectors another go, and as long as DDTC doesnt use the sectors I choose, then adding the new ones is just a matter of pasting in 3 sectors and then changing 14 gates.

I'll see how I go. New sectors would be best all round, and since I can now see the idea working, its worth while making the effort to make new sectors for this.


_________________
Apricot Mapping Services HQ
CLICK HERE for X3 Handbook; TC and AP Guides, Mods, Scripts & Downloads
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
StarCrack





Joined: 03 Apr 2008
Posts: 214 on topic

Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Fri, 15. Oct 10, 04:37    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

the only sector thet DDTC ads is west of heretics end north of Elysium of light

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
apricotslice





Joined: 16 May 2004
Posts: 13628 on topic
Location: In the Hunter Legacy Universe
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Fri, 15. Oct 10, 04:42    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

Good, that makes it easier.


_________________
Apricot Mapping Services HQ
CLICK HERE for X3 Handbook; TC and AP Guides, Mods, Scripts & Downloads
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
TrixX





Joined: 18 Aug 2010
Posts: 2016 on topic

Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Fri, 15. Oct 10, 06:07    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

apricotslice wrote:
TrixX wrote:
What about using 3 new sectors and link them to the mentioned sectors?


So far, I havent been successful in adding new sectors.

I guess thats the next step. It was easier to prototype using existing sectors than to work out everything to do with new ones. Now I've some expereince with modifying sectors, maybe adding new ones will be easier. I'll have to see.

If I can get new sectors into the game, then that will make merging much easier, assuming that any mod doesnt already use a sector I choose.

My preference for new sectors is 12,8, 13,7 and 13,9, being the 3 sectors adjacent to the Hub sector.

Does DDTC use any of them ? (Or any other mod for that matter ?)

By moving the Tree sectors, the 3 used now would return to normal. I basically chose them, because they didnt seem to have any real significance to anyone/race/plot in TC.

Check out the New Horizons mod for info on adding sectors (it has 20+ new ones)


_________________
"If you’re not prepared to be wrong, you’ll never come up with anything original."
Sir Ken Robinson
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
apricotslice





Joined: 16 May 2004
Posts: 13628 on topic
Location: In the Hunter Legacy Universe
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Fri, 15. Oct 10, 09:11    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

Ketraar wrote:
Use Sunblades bod, it has all sectors already, no need to duplicate efforts if not really needed.

Its listed in the community list.

MFG

Ketraar


Its also locked by LV and the download link disabled.

Anyone got a copy of just the bod they can email me ? Zip it by itself if you do.

I've done a version 2 using new sectors, but without that bod change, its useless.

If anyone knows the code to add a sector, to be added to the bottom of the bod file, can you send me a copy ? I've looked at the bod file, and cannot make head or tails of it. All I want is the basic code to add a new sector, just to paste in at the bottom 3 times and change if need be. Hopefully changing the sector locations is pretty obvious.

Edit :

Looked at the bod in extended horizons, but it makes no sense to me at all.

The 3 new sectors are 12,8/13,7/13,9. If anyone can write the bod entries for those 3 sectors, so I can just paste on to the bottom of the vanilla bod file, that would be a great help.


_________________
Apricot Mapping Services HQ
CLICK HERE for X3 Handbook; TC and AP Guides, Mods, Scripts & Downloads
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
TrixX





Joined: 18 Aug 2010
Posts: 2016 on topic

Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Fri, 15. Oct 10, 12:49    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

Interesting I just opened the bod in Max and it's a bit weird. First there's loads of models in there with no bearing on the actual map.

Then all the map links are all external to the bod (which is just a scene file). Weird ass bod really. Looking into the modding of the map now and will see what I can find.

Also I have a test running to see if I can sort these collision troubles if you want to help test seeing as you love the autopillock Wink
PM me and I'll send ya the files Smile


_________________
"If you’re not prepared to be wrong, you’ll never come up with anything original."
Sir Ken Robinson
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
apricotslice





Joined: 16 May 2004
Posts: 13628 on topic
Location: In the Hunter Legacy Universe
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Sat, 16. Oct 10, 15:03    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

I finally got the Galaxy editor in X3Editor to work, but alas, its not got anything to do with that bod file. Sad

Nice pretty representation of the map, but totally useless.


_________________
Apricot Mapping Services HQ
CLICK HERE for X3 Handbook; TC and AP Guides, Mods, Scripts & Downloads
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic Reply to topic Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7  Next
 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum
Control Panel
Login Data
The time now is Wed, 23. Aug 17, 13:47

All times are GMT + 2 Hours


Board Security

Copyright © EGOSOFT 1989-2017
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Template created by Avatar & BurnIt!
Debug: page generation = 0.54620 seconds, sql queries = 29