Terran Revitalization Project (TRP) - 11/26/2013 - Stealing Logi 1.4 FR

The place to discuss scripting and game modifications for X³: Terran Conflict and X³: Albion Prelude.

Moderators: Moderators for English X Forum, Scripting / Modding Moderators

Post Reply
User avatar
eldyranx3
Posts: 2146
Joined: Sat, 14. Jan 06, 22:29

Post by eldyranx3 » Mon, 2. Aug 10, 06:23

Looking into the NPC Terran Shield Complexes, I can:

1) Script in Argon [Heavy] [Medium] [Light] Shield Complexes and change the names and owner race, remove Meatsteaks as Primary Resources, and add in MRE's intead.

PRO: The Shield Fab matches what Betty Says (Heavy Shield ... Production Complex ...)
PRO: Added space for resources (Acts as two factories joined as a complex)
CON: The model for the complex looks like it belongs in the Commonwealth.

2) Script in the Terran (Player built) M/AM Launcher Forge, remove the Launcher as a product, and add in Shields instead.

CON: The Shield Fab doesn't match what Betty Says (This station manufactures ... matter ... antimatter launcher)
CON: Crampt space for MRE's
PRO: The model for the complex looks like it belongs in Terran Space.

Thoughts?

Tahlmorra
Posts: 230
Joined: Thu, 19. Feb 04, 06:09

Post by Tahlmorra » Mon, 2. Aug 10, 06:48

I would suggest adding the ecliptic projector. There are several scripts (CODEA is one, I think) that use it to determine the playership (and so exclude it from automated commands)

User avatar
eldyranx3
Posts: 2146
Joined: Sat, 14. Jan 06, 22:29

Post by eldyranx3 » Mon, 2. Aug 10, 07:00

Isn't that just one of many pieces of equipment that CODEA uses to define a 'player' ship? (Boost Extension for one)

User avatar
Topcross
Posts: 180
Joined: Sat, 15. Aug 09, 03:30

Post by Topcross » Mon, 2. Aug 10, 19:33

eldyranx3 wrote: @ Troubleshooter11: I'd love to add some Terran Shield Fabs, but unless I write a complex AL plugin, it'd have to mess with tstations file I believe, making it a Mod. But I agree, I felt they were conspicuously absent from the Terran Economy.
I actually mentioned the shield fabs first, but whatever :p
Yea I agree that actually adding buyable ones it not a good idea as you'd have to mess with Tfactories, which would probably prefent it from working with some of the major mods out there. As I said, in my oppinion they should only be needed to stock equipment docks in Terran space.
eldyranx3 wrote:Looking into the NPC Terran Shield Complexes, I can:

1) Script in Argon [Heavy] [Medium] [Light] Shield Complexes and change the names and owner race, remove Meatsteaks as Primary Resources, and add in MRE's intead.

PRO: The Shield Fab matches what Betty Says (Heavy Shield ... Production Complex ...)
PRO: Added space for resources (Acts as two factories joined as a complex)
CON: The model for the complex looks like it belongs in the Commonwealth.

2) Script in the Terran (Player built) M/AM Launcher Forge, remove the Launcher as a product, and add in Shields instead.

CON: The Shield Fab doesn't match what Betty Says (This station manufactures ... matter ... antimatter launcher)
CON: Crampt space for MRE's
PRO: The model for the complex looks like it belongs in Terran Space.

Thoughts?
I'd go with the second option, having a Commonwealth station between all the Terran ones would be rather stupid.:) Also, aren't there any stations with a bigger stock for MRE that you could use? Also, not sure but if you pick the first option, doesn't Betty mention is actually an Argon factory?

Also I noticed two small issues with the Stimulus pack so far;
one: the SPP L in Neptune spawned very close to the gate, so close that if a cap ship would come from Pluto it would most likely crash itself on the station.
two: this is not a major issue, rather a beauty error :), if you add fabs in sectors where you already have one of the same time, the added fab is also called alpha instead of beta (at least that's how the SPP L in Nepute is)

And for other NPC factories: more weapons factories to boost weaponproduction, or like in the commonweath some complexes that sell more than one typ of weapon/missile, I'd said mainly the missiles need more factories added because it is almost impossible to get a decent stock unless you build some of your own.

You could always add some new sectors (jupiter, saturn, etc. have enough moons :), realy supprised me that they used uranus 2, uranus 3, saturn 2, while there are so many moons they could have used, like titan for example) or add some more Terran/ATF ships but that would probably require modding, not just scripting. (say so if I'm wrong)

Also, tbh I doubt Terran would allow any kind of Pirate Base in their sectors as they are 'kinda freaky when it comes to security' :D. Therefor maybe you should rename the Pirate Base to special some kind of Terran organisation, like you have to cooporations in the commonwealth.

If you want I'll think about some more ideas :) I realy enjoy playing a terran based game but miss the scripting knowledge to make em better. :)
Last edited by Topcross on Mon, 2. Aug 10, 19:38, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Topcross
Posts: 180
Joined: Sat, 15. Aug 09, 03:30

Post by Topcross » Mon, 2. Aug 10, 19:35

Tahlmorra wrote:I would suggest adding the ecliptic projector. There are several scripts (CODEA is one, I think) that use it to determine the playership (and so exclude it from automated commands)
If you want CODEA to see your ship as a player ship, just install SETA, boost extension AND video enhancment goggles, the combination of these 3 should be enough (as far as I know) to make CODEA think it's a player ship.

User avatar
eldyranx3
Posts: 2146
Joined: Sat, 14. Jan 06, 22:29

Post by eldyranx3 » Mon, 2. Aug 10, 19:52

Topcross wrote:Also, tbh I doubt Terran would allow any kind of Pirate Base in their sectors as they are 'kinda freaky when it comes to security' :D. Therefor maybe you should rename the Pirate Base to special some kind of Terran organisation, like you have to cooporations in the commonwealth.
Built into the code already :wink: Sorry to be cryptic. You will just have to wait and see.

User avatar
Topcross
Posts: 180
Joined: Sat, 15. Aug 09, 03:30

Post by Topcross » Mon, 2. Aug 10, 19:54

eldyranx3 wrote:
Topcross wrote:Also, tbh I doubt Terran would allow any kind of Pirate Base in their sectors as they are 'kinda freaky when it comes to security' :D. Therefor maybe you should rename the Pirate Base to special some kind of Terran organisation, like you have to cooporations in the commonwealth.
Built into the code already :wink: Sorry to be cryptic. You will just have to wait and see.
Alright, don't mean to be annoying or anything, it's just I'd like to stick with the lore as much as possible :D (only reason I don't want the ever so conviniant jump gates, you will have to give me a better reason why they use them again first:p)

You didn't answer to my other questions/remarks btw. :p

User avatar
eldyranx3
Posts: 2146
Joined: Sat, 14. Jan 06, 22:29

Post by eldyranx3 » Mon, 2. Aug 10, 20:36

Topcross wrote:Alright, don't mean to be annoying or anything, it's just I'd like to stick with the lore as much as possible :D (only reason I don't want the ever so conviniant jump gates, you will have to give me a better reason why they use them again first:p)

You didn't answer to my other questions/remarks btw. :p
Never said you were. I think Plot / Universe integration is very important, hence the change of ATF Shipyard v4 vs v5 ATF Rep gain. I'd love to use Terran gate models, but as stated before, I need to see how to spawn them and get them to behave. Im pretty new to this scripting business myself :)

Adding new sectors is probably a Mod. I'll probably adjust the position of that SSP L plant in Neptune. Balancing the Terran Economy (as it sits now) will be much trial and error, without adding more end products. Once I get it stable, expect end product expansion.

I hope that answers most of your questions.

Alexfighter
Posts: 37
Joined: Wed, 22. Aug 07, 01:50

Post by Alexfighter » Mon, 2. Aug 10, 20:36

Hi. I'm starting to try these scripts, and I noticed that I don't see the text in the AL Plugin menu for the Terran Pirate Base.

It appears as ReadText8459-10 . As a matter of fact, I don't have any 8459 "t-file"

User avatar
Topcross
Posts: 180
Joined: Sat, 15. Aug 09, 03:30

Post by Topcross » Mon, 2. Aug 10, 20:40

eldyranx3 wrote:
Topcross wrote:Alright, don't mean to be annoying or anything, it's just I'd like to stick with the lore as much as possible :D (only reason I don't want the ever so conviniant jump gates, you will have to give me a better reason why they use them again first:p)

You didn't answer to my other questions/remarks btw. :p
Never said you were. I think Plot / Universe integration is very important, hence the change of ATF Shipyard v4 vs v5 ATF Rep gain. I'd love to use Terran gate models, but as stated before, I need to see how to spawn them and get them to behave. Im pretty new to this scripting business myself :)

Adding new sectors is probably a Mod. I'll probably adjust the position of that SSP L plant in Neptune. Balancing the Terran Economy (as it sits now) will be much trial and error, without adding more end products. Once I get it stable, expect end product expansion.

I hope that answers most of your questions.
If you want, I'm willing to help test or come up with some extra solutions to help give the Terran economy a boost. :)

User avatar
eldyranx3
Posts: 2146
Joined: Sat, 14. Jan 06, 22:29

Post by eldyranx3 » Mon, 2. Aug 10, 20:41

Alexfighter wrote:Hi. I'm starting to try these scripts, and I noticed that I don't see the text in the AL Plugin menu for the Terran Pirate Base. It appears as ReadText8459-10 . As a matter of fact, I don't have any 8459 "t-file"
Uninstall and try re-downloading. I'm not at my desktop atm, so I cant see the names of all the xml's that should be in the SPK. If re-downloading doesnt fix, send me a PM tomorrow with your email address, and I'll see about emailing you a SPK.

Troubleshooter11
Posts: 718
Joined: Sat, 8. Nov 08, 03:51

Post by Troubleshooter11 » Mon, 2. Aug 10, 20:53

Topcross wrote:
I actually mentioned the shield fabs first, but whatever :p
Yup he did mention it first, full credit to him :)

User avatar
Topcross
Posts: 180
Joined: Sat, 15. Aug 09, 03:30

Post by Topcross » Mon, 2. Aug 10, 20:54

Troubleshooter11 wrote:
Topcross wrote:
I actually mentioned the shield fabs first, but whatever :p
Yup he did mention it first, full credit to him :)
Lol , I honestly don't care about credit, I'm glad someone is finaly making an effort to balance Terran economy (as far as I know of it's not realy tried before) and I just want to help a bit if possible. :)

Troubleshooter11
Posts: 718
Joined: Sat, 8. Nov 08, 03:51

Post by Troubleshooter11 » Mon, 2. Aug 10, 20:57

eldyranx3 wrote:Looking into the NPC Terran Shield Complexes, I can:

1) Script in Argon [Heavy] [Medium] [Light] Shield Complexes and change the names and owner race, remove Meatsteaks as Primary Resources, and add in MRE's intead.

PRO: The Shield Fab matches what Betty Says (Heavy Shield ... Production Complex ...)
PRO: Added space for resources (Acts as two factories joined as a complex)
CON: The model for the complex looks like it belongs in the Commonwealth.

2) Script in the Terran (Player built) M/AM Launcher Forge, remove the Launcher as a product, and add in Shields instead.

CON: The Shield Fab doesn't match what Betty Says (This station manufactures ... matter ... antimatter launcher)
CON: Crampt space for MRE's
PRO: The model for the complex looks like it belongs in Terran Space.

Thoughts?
I vote for the 2nd option

User avatar
eldyranx3
Posts: 2146
Joined: Sat, 14. Jan 06, 22:29

Post by eldyranx3 » Tue, 3. Aug 10, 05:18

Confirmed issue with the ??? Terran Pirate Base v1.1 SPK missing its Tfiles. Repackaged and uploaded. Please uninstall and reinstall the new SPK.

Thanks to Alexfighter for pointing this issue out!

Post Reply

Return to “X³: Terran Conflict / Albion Prelude - Scripts and Modding”