Good performance? Post here to help others!

Ask here if you experience technical problems with X³: Reunion, X²: The Threat, X-Tension or X-Beyond The Frontier

Moderators: timon37, Moderators for English X Forum

tomplast
Posts: 74
Joined: Wed, 6. Nov 02, 21:31
x2

Good performance? Post here to help others!

Post by tomplast » Mon, 23. Feb 04, 20:05

To make it simple, when you post please tell us this:

* Processor(Type, Speed)
* Memory(Type, Speed)
* Graphics Card(Type,Speed)
* Tweaking you have made?

And dont forget, the FPS:) and what you have disabled and so on.

ColJP
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed, 18. Feb 04, 00:13
x3tc

Post by ColJP » Mon, 23. Feb 04, 21:00

Actually I do have a splendid performance, both with AA and/or anisotropic filter on ( I use it at 4 samples)

Processor: Intel Pentium IV 3.2 Ghz Hyper- Threading with 800Mhz FSB

Memory: 1024 MB Dual Channel DDR400

Graphic card: Geforce FX 5900 128 MB

All I did was an overclocking of the core and memory clock speed of the Geforce with Coolbits:

http://downloads.guru3d.com/download.php?det=201

Right now I'm using only 10% increase, with makes 440Mhz for the core clock and 920Mhz for the memory clock speed and my system is stable and way much faster without any graphical corruption.

Then I'm using Star Storm High Quality Detonators, the Starstorm 53.03HQ:

http://downloads.guru3d.com/download.php?det=718

Starstorm drivers are HACKED ForceWare drivers to enhance Image Quality and Performance. Likely nothing more then a changce in Level of Detail or even Disabled Mipmapping!

And that's it for me, I'm getting around 40 to 60 fps, depending on the amount of ships and effects on screen.

I'm using 1152x864x32@100Hz as resolution and refresh rate.

For sound an Audigy 2 with EAX 4.0 (drivers by Creative Auto-Updater)

Real smooth gameplay, I'm very happy with this game, it rocks! :wink:

Cockram
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun, 8. Feb 04, 18:52
x2

Post by Cockram » Mon, 23. Feb 04, 22:42

Mine runs great, approx 40 FPS on demo, I play it 1600X1200 resolution, AA turned on, no shadows.
See my reply to FX5900SE problems posted above for my system info and what I did to get there.
I must say it was a hard road to get there though.

Regards,

Rich.

ColJP
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed, 18. Feb 04, 00:13
x3tc

Post by ColJP » Mon, 23. Feb 04, 23:21

I just tried X2 as a benchmark and the results where the following, everyhting turned on, AA 2x Quincunx and Anisotropic 4 samples at 1152x864x32bpp:

Framerates
Scene 00 72.544 fps
Scene 01 44.059 fps
Scene 02 23.467 fps
Scene 03 50.920 fps
Scene 04 40.189 fps
Scene 05 39.069 fps
Scene 06 41.090 fps
Scene 07 76.583 fps
Scene 08 77.522 fps
Scene 09 43.348 fps
Scene 10 51.790 fps
Scene 11 42.002 fps
Scene 12 47.903 fps
Scene 13 49.893 fps
Scene 14 61.604 fps
Scene 15 36.861 fps
Scene 16 81.966 fps
Scene 17 62.582 fps
Scene 18 32.802 fps
Scene 19 41.422 fps
Scene 20 65.446 fps
Scene 21 60.554 fps
Scene 22 82.054 fps
Scene 23 68.302 fps

Overall average framerate: 53.915 fps

As I said in the my earlier thread, in game my framerate goes between 40 and 60 fps.

User avatar
Zalamander
Posts: 67
Joined: Wed, 29. Jan 03, 15:03
x3

Post by Zalamander » Tue, 24. Feb 04, 00:33

Just a bit tip to you all.
The benchmark result don't say anything about the actual game performance so it's almost pointless to post them unless you are only comparing different computer systems.

Benchmark:
CPU Use: |||||
GPU Use: ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||

When playing the game:
CPU Use: ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
GPU Use: ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||

Just a hint om what I mean, the only thing you see in benchmark results is how good your graphic card performs in the game.

My old computer was a Celeron 1200 overclocked to 1300 with a ATi Radeon 9700 as GPU. I got more FPS than most other people in the benchmarks with that system but still my gameplay performance was wors than anything I had ever seen, the game was impossible to play.

Now I finaly upgraded my system to a P4 2.8GHz 800bus overclocked to 3.36GHz, still keeping my ATi Radeon 9700 overclocked to 330/330 with a Radeon 9700 Pro BIOS.

Good utility for overclockking radeon cards and make other kind of tweeking with them is Rage 3D tweaker:
http://www.rage3d.com/index.php?node=r3dtweak&37469

I now get 47FPS in the benchmark with everything on and 1280x1024x32 resolution.

ColJP
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed, 18. Feb 04, 00:13
x3tc

Post by ColJP » Tue, 24. Feb 04, 03:02

Benchmarks are used to compare drivers

Personally, I use 3D Mark03 for Direct3D and Aquamark for OpenGL, inside a same system only to compare detonators (forceware now, doesn't matter), but in this particular case the X2 used as benchmark gave a curious result, since its exactly the same average framerate I got ingame measured with FRAPS.

Of course you're right but, obviously what really matters here is the graphic card capabilities, not the CPU, if you got a 3.5 Ghz with a Geforce 2 you're gonna get crappy framerate cause it doesn't have DirectX 9/Dynamic Lightning/Shader support...

User avatar
Zalamander
Posts: 67
Joined: Wed, 29. Jan 03, 15:03
x3

Post by Zalamander » Tue, 24. Feb 04, 04:17

Actualy the game runs very well on a GeForce 2 if the CPU is good I played on my friends XP 1700+ @ 3000+ and GF2 GTS it was smooth, and X2 don't use DX9 shaders, thats also one explenation to why it don't benefit good from the ATi cards hardware acceleration. At least I don't think it does, the description sais it's DX8. Maybe the shadows only is DX9 not sure on that part.

tomplast
Posts: 74
Joined: Wed, 6. Nov 02, 21:31
x2

Aaargh

Post by tomplast » Tue, 24. Feb 04, 08:12

Why are you destroying all threads by me:)?

I said that you should post your computer specs and your FPS if you had a good performance in X2, dont post your own comments about benchmarking or other stuffs.

User avatar
Storm_Front
Posts: 751
Joined: Mon, 15. Dec 03, 06:27
x2

Post by Storm_Front » Tue, 24. Feb 04, 08:56

HP intel P4 2.67
1 gig h.s. ram
nvidia Geforce4 Ti4200 with AGP8X
Mitsubishi Diamondpoint sb70 monitor
1024 x 768 32 bit res.
realtek sound card (cheap and simple)
only bumpmapping and A.Q. on
Fraps consistently in the low 30's normally, upper teens during heavy combat and busy Boron sectors.

I believe all freezing and ctd's I've experienced were due to scripts and faulty mods.

ManiacDC
Posts: 637
Joined: Wed, 29. Oct 03, 03:16
x3

Post by ManiacDC » Tue, 24. Feb 04, 09:18

stats in sig
except change cpu to 3.25 ghz
and ram to 216 mhz 2.5-4-4-8

I get 40-45 fps cpu limited.

I run 1280x1024x32 AA on; 8xAF; shadows off; eax on; bm on; aqc off (which ironically is exactly around the cpu limit - 40-45 fps)
Last edited by ManiacDC on Tue, 24. Feb 04, 12:01, edited 1 time in total.
Image
Image
Paranid Nemesis OWNS!

ColJP
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed, 18. Feb 04, 00:13
x3tc

Post by ColJP » Tue, 24. Feb 04, 11:52

Zalamander wrote:Actualy the game runs very well on a GeForce 2 if the CPU is good I played on my friends XP 1700+ @ 3000+ and GF2 GTS it was smooth, and X2 don't use DX9 shaders, thats also one explenation to why it don't benefit good from the ATi cards hardware acceleration. At least I don't think it does, the description sais it's DX8. Maybe the shadows only is DX9 not sure on that part.
It really doesn't matter cause X2 if full of shaders, both pixel and vertex shaders, DX8 and DX9, and a Geforce 2 doesn't have ANY shader support at all.

Real shader support with nVidia started with the Geforce 3. I do have much better performance with a good graphic card and a less good CPU component than the other way around, still got my old Pentium III 1 Ghz with an original Geforce 3 in my LAN and it plays almost all current games, although I never tried with X2...I will install it and see how it works:)

And templast, we're not destroying your thread, we're only comparing experiences and results around X2, which was your first intention, I believe:)

ManiacDC
Posts: 637
Joined: Wed, 29. Oct 03, 03:16
x3

Post by ManiacDC » Tue, 24. Feb 04, 12:00

sorry; X2 has no pixel shaders. It does not use Dx9 either. It only uses vertex shaders.
Image
Image
Paranid Nemesis OWNS!

ColJP
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed, 18. Feb 04, 00:13
x3tc

Post by ColJP » Tue, 24. Feb 04, 12:48

Yes, it match my results, since nVidia FX series suck with DX9 shaders, and I was surprised with such a good framerate in X2 while in Dx9 games like Halo or DAoC: Trials of Atlantis, my system performance is much slower...

User avatar
Mars Mug
Posts: 579
Joined: Wed, 6. Nov 02, 21:31
x3tc

Post by Mars Mug » Wed, 25. Feb 04, 17:38

CPU – Athlon XP2400
Memory – 1Gb (2*512) PC2100
Graphics – Creative GF4 Ti4600
No tweaking other than to clear out start-up rubbish using msconfig, I did this long before I installed X2.

Also, may not be too relevant but the rest of the system is;

80Gb HD for OS and other essentials
160Gb HD RAID (2*80Gb striped) for stuff I can afford to lose
120GB HD dedicated to Digital Video

Hauppauge WinTV PVR

Hercules sound card

Silicon Image PCI RAID card

The game seems to run fine for me, even when in a big fight, but that’s subjective, what’s fine for me may not be fine for others.

I’m at work at the moment and can’t remember all settings, but I’m sure I just have shadows off, and run at a resolution of 1280*1024 (the native resolution of my TFT)

Zool
Posts: 25
Joined: Wed, 3. Dec 03, 12:26
x2

Post by Zool » Wed, 25. Feb 04, 18:15

^^ does that bottle helps with the framerate? MAy be if I drank some it might make my gameplay seem a little bit less jerky :lol:

Post Reply

Return to “X³: Reunion, X²: The Threat, X-T and X-BTF - Technical Support”