EnglishGermanFrenchRussianItalianSpanish
Log inRegister
 
[SCRIPT][V0.9] MK3 Blacklist Manager
Post new topic Reply to topic Goto page 1, 2  Next
View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
SymTec ltd.





Joined: 11 Apr 2005
Posts: 4389 on topic
Location: Göttingen, Germany
Thank you for registering your game
modified
PostPosted: Sat, 10. Apr 10, 18:23    Post subject: [SCRIPT][V0.9] MK3 Blacklist Manager Reply with quote Print


MK3 Blacklist Manager
Blacklisting function for Trade Command Software MK3
(for X3TC 2.5 and higher)


MK3 Blacklisting
As noted in the Technical Datasheet of the Trade Command Software MK3, traders are able to maintain a blacklist of sectors that they won't pick as destinations for any flights. With this blacklist, they also avoid having two or more ships fly to a station for the same deal (as only one ship ever makes that deal). All sectors and stations are only locked temporarily, and will unlock again after a few minutes.


Blacklist Manager
The Blacklist Manager is an inofficial plugin to the blacklisting system, that gives you the power to add your own sectors and stations to a permanent blacklist. Stations in the blacklist, and stations in blacklisted sectors, will not be picked as targets for trade runs.


Usage
Opening the Manager
The manager can be started from every MK3-trader's ship command console. First open the command console and scroll down to Additional Ship Commands:


Then, select Start MK3 Blacklist Manager. The Manager offers the options to add sectors and stations to the list, remove them again, and to view the automatic blacklist that is managed by the MK3 trading software.

Adding sectors and stations
To add an item to the blacklist, select the corresponding menu entry and choose a sector/station from the map that opens then.


Removing sectors and stations
After selecting Remove Item, you can choose the item to be removed from the current list. Note that you cannot remove items from the automatic list, as those entries are being managed internally by the vanilla MK3 software.


Automatic blacklist
You can only view, but not edit the automatic blacklist. If you select a station or sector from the menu, you get the chance to look at the sector map, to get an idea of where the sector/station is and if you can spot enemies nearby.


Download


Install
  • In the .zip file, you find a /scripts/ folder and a /t/ folder. Move the content of those folders to the /scripts/ and /t/ folders of the X3TC game directory (C:/Program Files/EGOSOFT/X3 Terran Conflict/ or the like).
  • In the game directory's /scripts/ folder, you find a file named "plugin.autotrade.blacklistsector.pck". To make the game use the modified file "plugin.autotrade.blacklistsector.xml" instead, rename or delete the .pck file. Be aware that this will make every savegame you load *modified* even without the scripteditor activated, because the vanilla MK3 scripts use that file as well.
  • Start the game. If not active yet, activate the script editor.


Links

Technical
version: 0.9
language: 44/49
pageid: 8773
ship command: 1223
modified vanilla scripts: plugin.autotrade.blacklistsector

Known Issues
  • Windows 7/Vista may not allow you to copy files to the /scripts/ or /t/ folder. You do need administrator privileges to modify any files under C:/Program Files/. Usually, you can obtain admin rights by choosing the corresponding option on the error menu that pops up.
  • Replacing a vanilla script may result in every savegame from then on being marked with a *modified*-tag, even if you don't have the scripteditor activated. Also, new patches of the game may put the .pck files that you replaced back in position.
  • The "Automatic blacklist" may contain numbers instead of station/sector names. In that case, you most likely did not update the "blacklistsector" script correctly, and this whole plugin will not work.
  • Blacklisting a sector means that the trader does not pick that sector as destination. It says nothing about the trader flying through that sector on its way to another location. Blacklisting Xenon sectors is pointless.



_________________
[INDEX] Scripts von SymTec ltd.


Last edited by SymTec ltd. on Sat, 10. Apr 10, 20:15; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
milytar





Joined: 25 Feb 2009
Posts: 286 on topic
Location: FINLAND
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Sat, 10. Apr 10, 18:31    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

Sounds good!And when we can hawe it?


_________________
And one day ... one day i will be there ...
And if not... then i will be here ...

Me
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
SymTec ltd.





Joined: 11 Apr 2005
Posts: 4389 on topic
Location: Göttingen, Germany
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Sat, 10. Apr 10, 20:16    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

milytar wrote:
Sounds good!And when we can hawe it?

You can download it *now*. Wink


_________________
[INDEX] Scripts von SymTec ltd.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
russbo





Joined: 12 Nov 2005
Posts: 847 on topic
Location: Las Vegas
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Sat, 10. Apr 10, 21:05    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

So we can use this to blacklist our PHQ's?

Anyone have any idea how this will interact with ESTk, CAG, and the other trading scripts?

This is a great idea, thanks for bringing it to fruition.


_________________
www.russbo.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
milytar





Joined: 25 Feb 2009
Posts: 286 on topic
Location: FINLAND
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Sat, 10. Apr 10, 21:31    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

thank you!


_________________
And one day ... one day i will be there ...
And if not... then i will be here ...

Me
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
SymTec ltd.





Joined: 11 Apr 2005
Posts: 4389 on topic
Location: Göttingen, Germany
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Sat, 10. Apr 10, 21:43    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

russbo wrote:
So we can use this to blacklist our PHQ's?

Sure

russbo wrote:
Anyone have any idea how this will interact with ESTk, CAG, and the other trading scripts?

EST/CAG/etc. are not influenced by this blacklist, those use different systems and different variable names.

russbo wrote:
This is a great idea, thanks for bringing it to fruition.

Actually, the backend for this frontend has been there since X3TC v1.0. But apparently no scripter wanted to use it, so I did. Smile


_________________
[INDEX] Scripts von SymTec ltd.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
apricotslice





Joined: 16 May 2004
Posts: 13629 on topic
Location: In the Hunter Legacy Universe
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Sun, 11. Apr 10, 00:38    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

You can pack a script back up using modmanager.

Distributing the pck means you dont need to delete a pck to get the xml run, you just overwrite the existing one. Less problem for people to install.


_________________
Apricot Mapping Services HQ
CLICK HERE for X3 Handbook; TC and AP Guides, Mods, Scripts & Downloads
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
SymTec ltd.





Joined: 11 Apr 2005
Posts: 4389 on topic
Location: Göttingen, Germany
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Fri, 16. Apr 10, 00:03    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

apricotslice wrote:
You can pack a script back up using modmanager.

Well, that is true, but the difference (in work) is really small. For the future, I'll probably come up with another solution anyway.


@all: Do you have any comments on this script? Did you test it and find room for improvement, or did it work as expected? I'd love some feedback Smile


_________________
[INDEX] Scripts von SymTec ltd.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
noxiousg





Joined: 02 May 2010



PostPosted: Wed, 5. May 10, 09:08    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

This script doesn't seem to be working. I kept losing UTs to the Family Zyrath sector so I installed this and blacklisted the sector. Still lost another. So I then blacklisted all the stations in Family Zyarth for good measure. Still lost another. Then I blacklisted every sector of that corner of the universe, but I just lost another to Ocean of Fantasy, and when that happened, observed a UT going to deliver some wares to a chip plant in Family Zyarth Sad

Excellent script idea, but it doesn't seem to be working right, perhaps because of the 2.6 update.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lordmuck





Joined: 01 Mar 2009



PostPosted: Wed, 12. May 10, 21:00    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

SymTec ltd. wrote:
russbo wrote:
So we can use this to blacklist our PHQ's?

Sure

russbo wrote:
Anyone have any idea how this will interact with ESTk, CAG, and the other trading scripts?

EST/CAG/etc. are not influenced by this blacklist, those use different systems and different variable names.

russbo wrote:
This is a great idea, thanks for bringing it to fruition.

Actually, the backend for this frontend has been there since X3TC v1.0. But apparently no scripter wanted to use it, so I did. Smile



The above has answered my query's thanks for this script, you have saved the angels from falling upon my cursed head with the amounts of swearfested game-play ! Laughing


EDIT: extracted as I always do, I did have 1 question why is it that some x2script.xsl are older than what we have from other scripts and can that cause a problem?

EDIT2: sorry to say your script does not work, I have set the 2 stations I dont want my UTS to trade at and yet they still do Oops

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Dius Talon





Joined: 23 Jun 2009
Posts: 32 on topic
Location: London, UK
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Thu, 13. May 10, 13:39    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

lordmuck wrote:
EDIT2: sorry to say your script does not work, I have set the 2 stations I dont want my UTS to trade at and yet they still do Oops


Ug, I was just about to download this. . . Crying or Very sad Will wait and see if it gets sorted out. . . Would be a VERY usful script though, very annoying having your own UT doing silly crap as listed above.


_________________
Misdirection is the key to victory. Never attack what your enemy can defend, never behave as your enemy expects. And never reveal your true strenght.

For if knowledge is power, then to be unknown is to be unconquerable.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail MSN Messenger
Carlo the Curious





Joined: 05 Mar 2007
Posts: 15622 on topic
Location: London, UK
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Thu, 13. May 10, 14:31    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

lordmuck wrote:
EDIT: extracted as I always do, I did have 1 question why is it that some x2script.xsl are older than what we have from other scripts and can that cause a problem?

The XSL is only used when displaying script files in a browser (i.e. no, it doesn't matter).

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
bn





Joined: 26 Jan 2010



PostPosted: Fri, 11. Jun 10, 18:25    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

Dius Talon wrote:
Ug, I was just about to download this. . . :cry: Will wait and see if it gets sorted out. . . Would be a VERY usful script though, very annoying having your own UT doing silly crap as listed above.


I realize it's been a month, but seems a shame to leave things on a sour note. I downloaded this a couple of days ago, and though I had to edit the script engine version numbers (I'm stuck on 2.1), it works beautifully.

For those who had problems, if you're still listening, are you sure you installed properly? Specifically, if you forget (don't ask me how I know this) to rename or remove the original:

SymTec ltd. wrote:
[*]In the game directory's /scripts/ folder, you find a file named "plugin.autotrade.blacklistsector.pck". To make the game use the modified file "plugin.autotrade.blacklistsector.xml" instead, rename or delete the .pck file. Be aware that this will make every savegame you load *modified* even without the scripteditor activated, because the vanilla MK3 scripts use that file as well.
...
[*] The "Automatic blacklist" may contain numbers instead of station/sector names. In that case, you most likely did not update the "blacklistsector" script correctly, and this whole plugin will not work.


then it can be quite misleading. In fact, the menus in the manager appear to work just fine, so you can add/remove permanent sectors, but ships will pay no attention to them.

There's nothing especially complicated here, and it's difficult to imagine why it would not work if installed properly.

(As an aside and somewhat OT, since it saved me the effort of writing this myself, I decided to use the time to extend it to buy/sell ware for best price. These guys have also been implicated in migrating wares between my hub, phq, and complexes at times, and what I really hated was when two or three handling the same ware from some complex would all go racing each other to the same destination - especially back in the weeks of supplying the hub. Now they don't. The MK3 traders continue to reserve an entire station, while best buy/sell reserve a specific ware at a station, though respect the fact that an entire station may already be reserved.)

Anyway, here's a vote of confidence for the permanent blacklist feature. Works for me.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ShaBahNakk



MEDALMEDALMEDAL

Joined: 26 Dec 2008
Posts: 4 on topic

Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Sun, 20. Jun 10, 14:56    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

Too bad this ends up in **modified** even if it doesnt change the balance of the game. Like CAG and CLS it adds more intelligence to the trading system. Taking into calculation, what a fully trained UT costs in means of time and money and how dumb it still behaves, this would be a MUST HAVE. I kinda wonder, why they did improve CAG/CLS with a blacklist but didnt implement it for the UT.

Any chance this will be added in a non**modified* bonus pack ( like CAG/CLS ) as well ???

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dreiak





Joined: 20 Jun 2010
Posts: 1 on topic

Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Sun, 20. Jun 10, 22:19    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

This script DOES NOT WORK for me at all. I don't know if its patch related or not. I followed installation instructions and it still doesnt work. I am constantly loosing UT's in weaver's tempest. It is most infuriating that my traders keep going there just to get blasted by pirate M2's.

The only thing I can think to do at this point is cheat, blow up everything in yaki sector and see if THAT will stop the damn traders from going there.... Evil or Very Mad

To reiterate: Copied files, added systems to blacklist, (first) renamed old script files, (next) deleated old script files, (yet to try) renamed .xml to .pak, and yes I activated script editor (too bad i dont know any of the scripting crap otherwise I might be able to just fix this myself). And that is all I can think of.

PLEASE FOR THE LOVE OF GOD FIX THIS SCRIPT OR TELL ME WHAT I AM DOING WRONG!!!!!

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic Reply to topic Goto page 1, 2  Next
 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum
Control Panel
Login Data
The time now is Thu, 14. Dec 17, 02:26

All times are GMT + 2 Hours


Board Security

Copyright © EGOSOFT 1989-2017
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Template created by Avatar & BurnIt!
Debug: page generation = 0.22795 seconds, sql queries = 29