[SCRIPT] Station Camper V1.00 : 11/02/2010

The place to discuss scripting and game modifications for X³: Terran Conflict and X³: Albion Prelude.

Moderators: Moderators for English X Forum, Scripting / Modding Moderators

Legionnaire
Posts: 1226
Joined: Sun, 8. Feb 04, 17:28
x4

Post by Legionnaire » Mon, 2. May 11, 21:11

lets you leave a trader in an npc station both buying and selling till its either full or empty and it does it automatically without you having to check on the station regularly and manually buy or sell.

Legionnaire
Mobo MSI Z270 Gaming M3 CPU i5 7600K @4.2
RAM 16Gb Corsair Vengeance
2x 1TB (RAID 0)+ 4TB SSHD + 3TB HDD + 500GB SSD (Windows and X4 install Locatrion)
Windows 10 PRO
8GB MSI 1070Ti

KillingMonkey
Posts: 213
Joined: Wed, 17. Dec 08, 20:07
x3tc

Post by KillingMonkey » Tue, 3. May 11, 12:11

Legionnaire wrote:lets you leave a trader in an npc station both buying and selling till its either full or empty and it does it automatically without you having to check on the station regularly and manually buy or sell.

Legionnaire
Yeah, I got that much... But what's the advantage of it?

Wouldn't it be much more profitable to buy the ware at a station then sell it to one that needs it? Buying from a distributor and then selling to (the same) distributor leaves you at a loss as buying prices would always be lower than selling prices...

Would (probably) get your trading rank up, but you'll get no profit...
To each, his own.

Cycrow
Moderator (Script&Mod)
Moderator (Script&Mod)
Posts: 20547
Joined: Mon, 15. Nov 04, 00:26
x4

Post by Cycrow » Tue, 3. May 11, 12:41

Legionnaire wrote:Cycrow

according to Plugin manager light V1.40 (beta 5) there is a new version of this script available, however the plugin manager gets an unhandled exception error when trying to download it, and then brings up another error message about program files (x86) so it cannot update the script.

Legionaire
sounds like a problem with access rights
it downloads the update to the program directory, but windows might be preveting it from writing

you could try running the plugin manager as admin and see if it fixes it

Cycrow
Moderator (Script&Mod)
Moderator (Script&Mod)
Posts: 20547
Joined: Mon, 15. Nov 04, 00:26
x4

Post by Cycrow » Tue, 3. May 11, 12:44

KillingMonkey wrote:
Legionnaire wrote:lets you leave a trader in an npc station both buying and selling till its either full or empty and it does it automatically without you having to check on the station regularly and manually buy or sell.

Legionnaire
Yeah, I got that much... But what's the advantage of it?

Wouldn't it be much more profitable to buy the ware at a station then sell it to one that needs it? Buying from a distributor and then selling to (the same) distributor leaves you at a loss as buying prices would always be lower than selling prices...

Would (probably) get your trading rank up, but you'll get no profit...
it doesn't buy then sell to the same station, its not about making profit.

the ship will sit at the station and keep buying, or selling, until its either full or reaches the limit.

it'll only buy or sell at the specified price.

so if there isn't enough stock it'll wait and keep buying until it gets enough

Legionnaire
Posts: 1226
Joined: Sun, 8. Feb 04, 17:28
x4

Post by Legionnaire » Tue, 3. May 11, 14:44

Cycrow ok setting administrator rights on the program even though its an administrator account i wusing solved the issue of reading/writing, however it shows version 2.31 as being newer and version 1.00 installed, it downloads asks if its to be installed, goes through the process and finishes by saying that version 1.00 has been installed.

I have taken screenshots of each step in the process, so can send you those if they might give ideas as to whats going on, but it just keeps going round in a loop.

Legionnaire
Mobo MSI Z270 Gaming M3 CPU i5 7600K @4.2
RAM 16Gb Corsair Vengeance
2x 1TB (RAID 0)+ 4TB SSHD + 3TB HDD + 500GB SSD (Windows and X4 install Locatrion)
Windows 10 PRO
8GB MSI 1070Ti

HotSake
Posts: 472
Joined: Sun, 3. Jan 10, 23:15
x3tc

Post by HotSake » Tue, 3. May 11, 15:36

KillingMonkey wrote:Yeah, I got that much... But what's the advantage of it?
The point is to camp at a station that produces something you want, like shields or a particular gun, and buy up its production as soon as possible so NPCs don't get to it first. You'll be buying at max price, yes, but that's the tradeoff for convenience. Same with selling - you can take a hands off approach and just leave the trader parked at a station which takes its cargo as resources, and it'll sell them off as fast as the station can consume them. For minimum price, of course.

aerziel
Posts: 18
Joined: Tue, 21. Mar 06, 08:02
x3tc

Post by aerziel » Wed, 13. Jul 11, 19:50

I just tried to update camper through the plugin manager and it keeps going to version 1 instead of the version its upgrading to

ZSedlacek
Posts: 68
Joined: Thu, 5. Apr 12, 19:49

Post by ZSedlacek » Fri, 6. Apr 12, 15:00

My campers don't do anything - They just dock at the station and it sends me an empty report. Do there have to be factories selling the ware you want to sell to the station in the same sector?
"Knowledge speaks, but wisdom listens." - Jimi Hendrix. No, really.

filippe999
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon, 2. Apr 12, 15:30

Post by filippe999 » Fri, 6. Apr 12, 15:35

:o i've left the game with my Mammoth buying fighter drones MkII for a day, today when i looked again i got 5747 fighter drones in freight bay :lol:

squirpion13
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon, 7. Sep 15, 08:59
x4

Post by squirpion13 » Mon, 7. Mar 16, 01:26

I'm receiving an error that this script is for TC, and it is not compatible with AP. Can anyone confirm this? Has anyone successfully used this in AP?
"Always take the time to mod a game correctly"

Cycrow
Moderator (Script&Mod)
Moderator (Script&Mod)
Posts: 20547
Joined: Mon, 15. Nov 04, 00:26
x4

Post by Cycrow » Wed, 9. Mar 16, 10:56

it just means the script hasn't been updated specifically for AP. That message is more of a warning because of this. It should work fine in AP

Post Reply

Return to “X³: Terran Conflict / Albion Prelude - Scripts and Modding”