EnglishGermanFrenchRussianPolishItalianSpanish
Log inRegister
 
Change specs for Advanced Satellites
Post new topic Reply to topic
View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
agleave





Joined: 24 Nov 2005
Posts: 183 on topic
Location: Adelaide, South Australia
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Sun, 8. Dec 13, 13:11    Post subject: Change specs for Advanced Satellites Reply with quote Print

Is it possible to change the "viewing distance" of Advanced Satellites?
I'm running X3AP latest, with XRM installed.

Thanks.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Kadatherion





Joined: 25 Nov 2005



PostPosted: Sun, 8. Dec 13, 13:46    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

Yes, it's a simple edit of the globals file, via X3 editor. In your case, you'll have to edit the one contained in XRM's cat/dat number 2.

Look at the beginning of the file, the value you're interested in is SG_SCANNER_RANGE_SATELLITE2;

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
agleave





Joined: 24 Nov 2005
Posts: 183 on topic
Location: Adelaide, South Australia
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Mon, 9. Dec 13, 05:34    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

Kadatherion wrote:
Yes, it's a simple edit of the globals file, via X3 editor. In your case, you'll have to edit the one contained in XRM's cat/dat number 2.

Look at the beginning of the file, the value you're interested in is SG_SCANNER_RANGE_SATELLITE2;


Hi there - there is nothing in the XRM .cat no.2 under globals.pck ???

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Guest









PostPosted: Mon, 9. Dec 13, 06:25    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

agleave wrote:
... there is nothing in the XRM .cat no.2 under globals.pck ???


... at the beginning of the file types\Globals.txt there should be something like that:
Code:

// vanilla TC globals ...
SG_SCANNER_RANGE_SHIP;5000000;
SG_SCANNER_RANGE_SHIP_UPGRADE2;10000000;
SG_SCANNER_RANGE_SHIP_UPGRADE3;15000000;
SG_SCANNER_RANGE_SATELLITE;11000000;
SG_SCANNER_RANGE_SATELLITE2;17500000;  <--- that's the Adv. satellite
SG_SCANNER_RANGE_STATION;5000000;
SG_SCANNER_RANGE_ORBITALLASER;1250000;
SG_SCANNER_RANGE_FREIGHTSCANNER;2000000;
SG_SCANNER_RANGE_SO_NEBULA;750000;


... if you divide those numbers by 500, you´ll get the scanner range in metres Wink

Back to top
agleave





Joined: 24 Nov 2005
Posts: 183 on topic
Location: Adelaide, South Australia
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Mon, 9. Dec 13, 09:18    Post subject: ?? Reply with quote Print

JonfersonSDD wrote:
agleave wrote:
... there is nothing in the XRM .cat no.2 under globals.pck ???


... at the beginning of the file types\Globals.txt there should be something like that:
Code:

// vanilla TC globals ...
SG_SCANNER_RANGE_SHIP;5000000;
SG_SCANNER_RANGE_SHIP_UPGRADE2;10000000;
SG_SCANNER_RANGE_SHIP_UPGRADE3;15000000;
SG_SCANNER_RANGE_SATELLITE;11000000;
SG_SCANNER_RANGE_SATELLITE2;17500000;  <--- that's the Adv. satellite
SG_SCANNER_RANGE_STATION;5000000;
SG_SCANNER_RANGE_ORBITALLASER;1250000;
SG_SCANNER_RANGE_FREIGHTSCANNER;2000000;
SG_SCANNER_RANGE_SO_NEBULA;750000;


... if you divide those numbers by 500, you´ll get the scanner range in metres Wink


I'm not sure what I am doing wrong? I am opening X3 Editor 2, selecting 06.cat (which is the XRM part 2 file), going to "addon", then "types", then "globals.pck" and it just opens a blank screen.... I have edited many other things, such as twaresT and tbullets this way, but there appears to be nothing in this file, or if there is, nothing that X3 Editor is displaying.

Is this to be edited in some other way?
Thanks.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Guest









PostPosted: Mon, 9. Dec 13, 09:24    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

--> extract (& decompress !!!) Globals.pck to (e.g.) your desktop (=> Globals.txt)
--> open file with notepad++ (or any other editor)
--> make your changes
--> save & quit
--> add (& overwrite) Globals.pck back into your .cat-file

Back to top
agleave





Joined: 24 Nov 2005
Posts: 183 on topic
Location: Adelaide, South Australia
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Mon, 9. Dec 13, 09:57    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

JonfersonSDD wrote:
--> extract (& decompress !!!) Globals.pck to (e.g.) your desktop (=> Globals.txt)
--> open file with notepad++ (or any other editor)
--> make your changes
--> save & quit
--> add (& overwrite) Globals.pck back into your .cat-file


OK, now we're getting somewhere. X3 Editor was not the tool to use then. How do I do the extracting and adding back into the .pck file?

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Kadatherion





Joined: 25 Nov 2005



PostPosted: Mon, 9. Dec 13, 10:31    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

agleave wrote:

OK, now we're getting somewhere. X3 Editor was not the tool to use then. How do I do the extracting and adding back into the .pck file?


Ehm... X3 editor. Laughing

Just grab the pck from X3 editor cat manager and drag it on your desktop. It will automatically be converted to the uncompressed txt format. Edit it, save, and drag it back into the cat opened in X3 editor, ensuring it's being re-compressed into .pck.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Cycrow
Moderator (Script&Mod)
Moderator (Script&Mod)



Joined: 15 Nov 2004
Posts: 20429 on topic
Location: London
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Mon, 9. Dec 13, 13:20    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

If you are using the Plugin Maanger, you can switch it to advanced mode then select the option to edit the globals that way


_________________
My Scripts | MY X3TC Scripts | X3 Plugin Manager | Custom Gui
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
SickArgon





Joined: 18 May 2013
Posts: 26 on topic

Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Mon, 9. Dec 13, 17:26    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

Go to "advanced", click "edit game globals"...
and the empty window "Edit Globals" opens!?

Some help?
Tnx

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
agleave





Joined: 24 Nov 2005
Posts: 183 on topic
Location: Adelaide, South Australia
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Tue, 10. Dec 13, 04:01    Post subject: All sorted Reply with quote Print

Thanks all for your assistance. I was using Plugin Manager Lite, but changed to Plugin Manager Advanced and all was good. Still could not get X3 to do the text conversion part, but no matter.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic Reply to topic
 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum
Control Panel
Login Data
The time now is Tue, 30. May 17, 09:26

All times are GMT + 2 Hours


Board Security

Copyright © EGOSOFT 1989-2017
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Template created by Avatar & BurnIt!
Debug: page generation = 0.32358 seconds, sql queries = 26