EnglishGermanFrenchRussianPolishItalianSpanish
Log inRegister
 
[SCRIPT] MK3 Trading Log (plus MK3 Technical Datasheet)
Post new topic Reply to topic Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next
View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
SymTec ltd.





Joined: 11 Apr 2005
Posts: 4389 on topic
Location: Göttingen, Germany
Thank you for registering your game
modified
PostPosted: Wed, 17. Jun 09, 15:31    Post subject: [SCRIPT] MK3 Trading Log (plus MK3 Technical Datasheet) Reply with quote Print


MK3 Trading Log
Logging function for Trade Command Software MK3
(for X3TC 2.1 and higher)



MK3 Logging

Setting up a MK3 trader takes a lot of money. You need to buy a good ship, with excellent shielding and quite expensive software extensions. As soon as you start the trader, you give him full access to your bank account, so he could possibly be spending all your money to buy fighter drones and jumpfuel. With all that in mind, you should be very interested in your trader's cashflow.

The MK3 Trading Log uses a debug logging function of X3: Terran Conflict to write a detailed log for your traders' actions. You can then view this log with every web browser. The logging function has been part of the MK3 Software since X2, but many people forgot about it in the meantime. You can view a log of my personal trading empire here.



Links and Downloads
    datasheet_en.pdf (Outdated link) - Manual for the Trade Command Software MK3, including a chapter on the logging function
    logging.zip (Outdated link) - Files to activate and deactivate logging and view the log (New link from xdownloads: logging.zip)
    x2trader.xml (Outdated link) - example log


Quick Readme

Step-by-step-instructions to get to your trading log
1.: Download "logging.zip" and extract the folder "trader" to the X3TC game folder
2.: Double-click "logging_on.bat" in the "trader"-folder to turn the logging function on
3.: Play the game
4.: Double-click "create_stats.bat" to create the trader log
5.: Double-click "view_stats.html" to view the trader log

If your log gets too long: Double-click "clear_log.bat"
To uninstall: Double-click "logging_off.bat" to turn the logging back off.

If you want easier access to the "create_stats" and the "view_log"-buttons, you can create a shortcut to the respective file and move it wherever you like. As the logging function is a mostly external tool that changes almost nothing inside the game, this tool does not create a *modified*!


Color codes
  • Grey: Loading a new savegame
  • Green: Starting a new trader
  • Yellow: Completed trade run
  • Orange: Pilot Training
  • Red: Buying ship upgrade/Energy/Drones

Known Limitations
  • This tool works only with English and German windows installs. For other languages, you must edit the file "create_stats.bat"
  • ".bat"-files are very powerful and are therefore blocked by some virus scanners. It is possible to work without them, but that's not as simple
  • This tool does not work with X3TC versions prior to 2.1
  • It is not possible to turn the logging on or of depending on your savegame. Every game will log to the same file.

Links

UTProfit by euclid
MK3 Handelsprotokoll (German)




Edit: Added working xdownloads link for main download (logging.zip) and marked outdated links. X2-Illuminatus


_________________
[INDEX] Scripts von SymTec ltd.


Last edited by SymTec ltd. on Wed, 17. Jun 09, 16:06; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
SymTec ltd.





Joined: 11 Apr 2005
Posts: 4389 on topic
Location: Göttingen, Germany
Thank you for registering your game
modified
PostPosted: Wed, 17. Jun 09, 15:31    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

You may also want to take a look at the MK3 Blacklist Manager, a little plugin for managing a blacklist of sectors and stations that will be excluded from MK3 trading.


_________________
[INDEX] Scripts von SymTec ltd.


Last edited by SymTec ltd. on Sat, 10. Apr 10, 22:56; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Logain Abler





Joined: 31 Oct 2005
Posts: 2253 on topic
Location: Norwich, UK
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Thu, 18. Jun 09, 20:43    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

I've been taking a look at the logging feature and it's cool Cool . Could I use this feature on my FDN mod? Please.....


LA

Edit: I'll have to test the feasibility as the amount of entries FDN will generate could get huge, especially with lots of stations Sad


_________________
Freight Distribution Network|Strategic Sector Defence Network|Production Modules|Capital Ship Energy Cell Generator
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
SymTec ltd.





Joined: 11 Apr 2005
Posts: 4389 on topic
Location: Göttingen, Germany
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Thu, 18. Jun 09, 21:28    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

Logain Abler wrote:
I've been taking a look at the logging feature and it's cool Cool . Could I use this feature on my FDN mod? Please...

There's nothing stopping you from writing things to a specific logfile, but you should not break the syntax, no additions to the stylesheet, and give the players the choice of using it or not (i.e. include a switch to turn it on or off).


_________________
[INDEX] Scripts von SymTec ltd.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Logain Abler





Joined: 31 Oct 2005
Posts: 2253 on topic
Location: Norwich, UK
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Thu, 18. Jun 09, 21:34    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

SymTec ltd. wrote:
Logain Abler wrote:
I've been taking a look at the logging feature and it's cool Cool . Could I use this feature on my FDN mod? Please...

There's nothing stopping you from writing things to a specific logfile, but you should not break the syntax, no additions to the stylesheet, and give the players the choice of using it or not (i.e. include a switch to turn it on or off).


Cheers your a star.

LA


_________________
Freight Distribution Network|Strategic Sector Defence Network|Production Modules|Capital Ship Energy Cell Generator
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Shagsbeard





Joined: 13 May 2009



PostPosted: Fri, 19. Jun 09, 00:47    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

I haven't been able to get the log to work... I'm using STEAM version so it might be that. I believe I've read the instructions correctly and have turned logging on, but am getting nothing but a blank page for the view_stats document.

Edit: Here's the path to my folder:

C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\x3 terran conflict\trader

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
SymTec ltd.





Joined: 11 Apr 2005
Posts: 4389 on topic
Location: Göttingen, Germany
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Fri, 19. Jun 09, 15:43    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

Shagsbeard wrote:
I haven't been able to get the log to work... I'm using STEAM version so it might be that. I believe I've read the instructions correctly and have turned logging on, but am getting nothing but a blank page for the view_stats document.

Hm, I didn't test with steam installs.

* In your "scripts"-folder, can you give me the "last modifed"-date of file "!plugin.autotrade.logging.pck"?
* Does a file "log01500.txt" exist in your "\My Documents\Egosoft\X3TC\"-directory? (Do you have such a directory?)


_________________
[INDEX] Scripts von SymTec ltd.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Shagsbeard





Joined: 13 May 2009



PostPosted: Fri, 19. Jun 09, 20:04    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

There is no "!plugin.autotrade.logging.pck" in my scripts folder.

There is a log01500.tex file... its current with my last game played and 64K in length. I can cut/paste it here if you want it.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
scaseman





Joined: 13 Mar 2004
Posts: 76 on topic

Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Sat, 20. Jun 09, 01:34    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

Im had a few problems as well, But after a bit of poking around I found that the .xml file ends up in a subdirectory of trader called files. This subdirectory is hidden for some reason. You can just view this file as normal.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
XGamer





Joined: 25 Apr 2004
Posts: 1359 on topic
Location: X-Tec HQ, Family Pride
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Sat, 20. Jun 09, 03:23    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

the view_stats.html does nothing else than redirecting to said .xml file. the files folder is hidden so that ppl dont mess around with the more or less important stuff in there and / or dont get confused with the techinal stuff behind it Wink

While I myself open the xml file directly aswell its working fine with the view_stats.htm file. Try using a proper Browser and check if there is an Option and / or Plugin (in case of FireFox) that prevents Autoredirection. If so you have to disable said Option and allow Autoredirecting for it to work.

If thats not the case then check the (hidden) files directory for an x2trader.xml File. If there is none or its empty you will have to doubleclick create_stats.bat again. If its still not there or still empty something is blocking the bat execution. In this case see below.


@Shagsbeard:

You have to doubleclick the logging_on.bat File in the Trader Folder first. After you doubleclicked said file there will be a black window popping up for a splitsecond. Once this has happened check the scripts folder again for the File Symtec mentioned. If it still does not exist your Antivirus, or Firewall Software probably blocked it and you will have to turn both of them off. After you turned those off try again from the beginning of this Text (doubleclicking logging_on). If it worked then you can turn your Firewall and Antivirus on again.

greetz
XGamer


_________________
MD Supporter | Join TeamSpeak3 (Topics:EN|DE)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
SymTec ltd.





Joined: 11 Apr 2005
Posts: 4389 on topic
Location: Göttingen, Germany
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Sat, 20. Jun 09, 11:10    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

!plugin.autotrade.logging.pck is a default file of X3TC (and my .bat's don't remove it), so I don't believe that it isn't there.

If the log01500.txt already exists, then you turned the logging on correctly (this means that batch execution works and you don't have to worry about the logging.pck anymore). In this case, the following problems are possible:

* you did not execute create_stats (solution: do so)
* the path to your log01500.txt is not "My Documents/Egosoft/X3TC/", so that create_stats does not find the file (solution: correct the path in create_stats.bat)
* the redirect-function of your browser is disabled (solution: open /trader/files/x2traders.xml with your browser)


_________________
[INDEX] Scripts von SymTec ltd.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Shagsbeard





Joined: 13 May 2009



PostPosted: Sat, 20. Jun 09, 14:20    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

Thanks everyone. It was the third one. The xml file was there in the hidden dirrectory and I could view it correctly when I opened it.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
siman



MEDALMEDALMEDAL

Joined: 07 Nov 2008
Posts: 5 on topic

Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Sat, 27. Jun 09, 19:14    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

if you are using Vista, the log is in the folder "document" instead of "my document"

I modified create_stats.bat to work on my pc:
if exist "%userprofile%\Documents\Egosoft\X3TC\log01500.txt" set logfile=%userprofile%\Documents\Egosoft\X3TC\log01500.txt

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
louwok





Joined: 27 Jul 2009
Posts: 26 on topic

Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Sun, 2. Aug 09, 13:33    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

hello
I'm french and I would know how I can translate the wiew stats in french please. Because I have translate a file but it doesn't work after Very Happy
and I don't understand what is "Checksum total" ???

and it can possible to update the log only with a refresh of the page in the browser ???

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
floppo



MEDAL

Joined: 08 Aug 2009
Posts: 15 on topic

Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Sat, 22. Aug 09, 06:05    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

I have a problem using this. I can't find either !plugin.autotrade.logging.pck (there's one called plugin.autotrade.writelog.pck, though), or log01500.txt. I tried disabling my virus scanner before running the bat file, but it still doesn't seem to work.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic Reply to topic Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next
 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum
Control Panel
Login Data
The time now is Fri, 20. Oct 17, 18:20

All times are GMT + 2 Hours


Board Security

Copyright © EGOSOFT 1989-2017
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Template created by Avatar & BurnIt!
Debug: page generation = 0.59038 seconds, sql queries = 29