I need more 16:10 screen resolutions please

Ask here if you experience technical problems with X³: Terran Conflict or X³: Albion Prelude.

Moderators: timon37, Moderators for English X Forum

Post Reply
Arendee
Posts: 76
Joined: Mon, 4. May 09, 02:10

I need more 16:10 screen resolutions please

Post by Arendee » Thu, 11. Jun 09, 02:59

I used to run the game at 1280 x 800, but after the update I can only run on 1600x1050 or whatever it is. Is there a way to edit a file somewhere to change it manually? The other resolutions work, but they stretch to fit the screen, and that bothers me.

CBJ
EGOSOFT
EGOSOFT
Posts: 36042
Joined: Tue, 29. Apr 03, 00:56

Post by CBJ » Thu, 11. Jun 09, 03:15

There have been no changes to the resolution-handling code. By the sounds of things you've confused windowed mode and fullscreen mode behaviour.

Arendee
Posts: 76
Joined: Mon, 4. May 09, 02:10

Post by Arendee » Thu, 11. Jun 09, 03:17

Hmm, I'm not sure what happened. But x3 reunion crashed the first time I ran it after the update because of an unsupported video mode.

However I would like to run full screen at 1280x800, but only window mode supports that.

The reason is, my monitor is a 16:10 ratio.

CBJ
EGOSOFT
EGOSOFT
Posts: 36042
Joined: Tue, 29. Apr 03, 00:56

Post by CBJ » Thu, 11. Jun 09, 03:22

If that's not listed as a full screen resolution then that's because your graphics drivers or monitor drivers aren't returning it as a valid resolution. The game has no control over the values those drivers return. My guess is that a driver update that you happened to install around the same time is responsible for the change in behaviour.

Arendee
Posts: 76
Joined: Mon, 4. May 09, 02:10

Post by Arendee » Thu, 11. Jun 09, 03:25

Ok, I'll poke around the config files. Thanks.

Storm666
Posts: 1988
Joined: Thu, 4. Mar 04, 00:42

Post by Storm666 » Thu, 11. Jun 09, 05:16

just had these problems after a recent reformat... if its the same, its your monitor driver (possibly a windows update changed it?).... the mode your are asking for is not a native windows format(its a mac format)... you need to install your monitor driver that was supplied.

if you were not supplied a driver for your monitor look for a program called 'MonInfo' to make your own driver (it sorted mine).

Post Reply

Return to “X³: Terran Conflict / Albion Prelude - Technical Support”