My gamestarts have not unlocked. Please help.

Ask here if you experience technical problems with X³: Terran Conflict or X³: Albion Prelude.

Moderators: timon37, Moderators for English X Forum

Post Reply
User avatar
Jimyd
Posts: 207
Joined: Fri, 28. Apr 06, 22:05

My gamestarts have not unlocked. Please help.

Post by Jimyd » Sun, 7. Jun 09, 23:39

I have a/some savegame(s) and X3TC installed from the first box release.

I have max repuation with all the races except pirate/yaki/xenon/khaak/goner/corporations (if they count).

I have completed all plots except the PHQ, with the HUB 2/3 Done. I am patched to the latest official patch.

The problem:

I still only see the first (5?) game starts that you get when you first install X3TC, whenever I check the New Game screen.

How do I remedy this? (Without hacking my registry.)

User avatar
Carlo the Curious
Posts: 15622
Joined: Mon, 5. Mar 07, 23:03

Post by Carlo the Curious » Sun, 7. Jun 09, 23:57

I assume you've scrolled down the list?

User avatar
Jimyd
Posts: 207
Joined: Fri, 28. Apr 06, 22:05

Post by Jimyd » Sun, 7. Jun 09, 23:59

Carlo the Curious wrote:I assume you've scrolled down the list?
I'm not new. :wink:

User avatar
Carlo the Curious
Posts: 15622
Joined: Mon, 5. Mar 07, 23:03

Post by Carlo the Curious » Mon, 8. Jun 09, 00:17

Probably not much then. Starting a new game and doing it again may work, but as I understand it the game checks the values every so often anyway.

What's actually in your registry key?

User avatar
Jimyd
Posts: 207
Joined: Fri, 28. Apr 06, 22:05

Post by Jimyd » Mon, 8. Jun 09, 00:50

Start > Run > regedit > HKEY_CURRENT_USER > Software > Egosoft > X3TC > Shows:

1)
Name: ab (Default)
Type: REG_SZ
Data: (value not set)

2)
Name: ab INSTALL_DIR
Type: REG_SZ
Data: H:\Program Files\EGOSOFT\X3 Terran Conflict

*****

No sign of the Game Start file. Yeah I know... LOL WUT?

BTW: My X3 registry is full of stuff, including the Game Start file. Don't know if that means anything.

User avatar
Carlo the Curious
Posts: 15622
Joined: Mon, 5. Mar 07, 23:03

Post by Carlo the Curious » Mon, 8. Jun 09, 01:13

That seems...strange.

What OS are you using? Are you running regedit as the same user as you're running X3TC?


Also, moved to tech support as it seems like it may be a tech issue.

User avatar
Jimyd
Posts: 207
Joined: Fri, 28. Apr 06, 22:05

Post by Jimyd » Mon, 8. Jun 09, 01:19

Carlo the Curious wrote:That seems...strange.

What OS are you using? Are you running regedit as the same user as you're running X3TC?


Also, moved to tech support as it seems like it may be a tech issue.
Yes, and: Image

If you would like a DXDiag I can post it. Also I can post screenshots of my registry if you don't believe me.

eladan
Posts: 5313
Joined: Sat, 7. Jan 06, 17:01

Post by eladan » Mon, 8. Jun 09, 04:27

You haven't modified your game by any chance? If, e.g., you script in max rank for a certain race, it may not trigger any event to modify which game starts are available.

User avatar
Jimyd
Posts: 207
Joined: Fri, 28. Apr 06, 22:05

Post by Jimyd » Mon, 8. Jun 09, 20:08

No I do not have the "modified" tag.

Update, I found out why the registry was empty. I made my system restore point right after I installed the game. So everytime I moved back to it, it was before clicking OK to install administrator drivers and before loading the game for the data files. Once I load up a previous save or start a new game and then exit the game, I can go back to the registry and see all the correct files.

However, I still can't unlock the Game Starts through normal playing. I guess I'm stuck registry hacking by using "fffff" in the command line.

Post Reply

Return to “X³: Terran Conflict / Albion Prelude - Technical Support”