My wingmen die constantly costing me millions

General discussions about the games by Egosoft including X-BTF, XT, X², X³: Reunion, X³: Terran Conflict and X³: Albion Prelude.

Moderator: Moderators for English X Forum

Zappa Phan

My wingmen die constantly costing me millions

Post by Zappa Phan » Sat, 16. May 09, 23:50

I started playing a few days ago X3TC a few days ago, I had played X3R for about 2 weeks maybe a year ago but anyway... I don't think i know how to use my wing men right but most of the time it seems like i can survive no problem but they die in the fray. The current makeup of my battlegroup looks like this:

1 Eclipse (my ship)
2 Nova raider*
1 Elite*

(* fully upgraded turning/speed, ordered from the ship yard as a "L" type)

Do I need more small ships to act as cannon fodder? It just seems like every fight i try doing with them, they die pretty fast.Usually i use them in protect me mode, unless I'm fighting a single large target then I'll switch to attack my target mode. Any advice would be appreciated, thx!

gandy|UKCS|
x3tc

Post by gandy|UKCS| » Sat, 16. May 09, 23:57

what weapons are you using as they could be running out of laser energy, also do you have fight command software mk1 and 2 installed on them ??
Gaming PC
Mobo - Asus P8Z77-V - CPU - i5 3570K @ 4.2ghz
HSF - Corsair H100 - GFX - GTX-470
Memory - 8gig Corsair Vengence Black DDR3 @ 1600mhz
Monitor - BenQ 2400HD 24"
Case - CM Storm Stryker

MegaJohnny
x4

Post by MegaJohnny » Sat, 16. May 09, 23:58

It's not your fault. Wingmen are AI controlled, and with it incredibly stupid and have no self-preservation. The only way to make an AI ship survive is to give it lots of shields, which unfortunately ships like you have just don't have.

If I were you, I'd just sell them and wait to buy a Centaur, or a second Eclipse if you like. Or buy some UTs or something.

insolent1
x3tc

Post by insolent1 » Sun, 17. May 09, 00:02