Performance Thread

Ask here if you experience technical problems with X³: Terran Conflict, X³: Albion Prelude or X³: Farnham's Legacy.

Moderators: timon37, Moderators for English X Forum

SpaceSquirrel
x3tc

Performance Thread

Post by SpaceSquirrel » Sun, 22. Feb 09, 04:07

I'm not a techie, but think somebody should atleast start a performance thread of what helped them the most. NOT to imply these tweaks are my own invention. Most of them are other people's postings, some are my own. My game is now mostly fast and mostly smooth. I still don't get 60-70 fps but I do get 35-40 and smooth.

(By order of what helped me the most)
((1)) CCF explorer

http://www.download.com/CFF-Explorer/30 ... 64296.html

Start up CFF explorer

use file open X3TC.exe

left click FILE HEADER

then look for the word Characteristics

then on the same column will be a word in blue saying
'click here'

then check on the option

X App can handel >2gb address space

X Aggressively trim working set

frymaster
don't forget, if you're on a 32-bit OS, you also need to enable the OS switch that allows it to _allocate_ more than 2gigs to applications:

For XP 32, add /3GB to the boot.ini file as per this
http://www.microsoft.com/whdc/system/pl ... AEmem.mspx

For Vista 32, set it as per the instructions here
http://forums.dpreview.com/forums/read. ... e=24158581

2 warnings:

1. By altering your boot parameters like this you are running the risk of something going horribly wrong and leaving your computer unbootable.