[Mod] Apricot Mapping Service Mod v1.3 for APv3.1 / v2.14 (For TCv3).

The place to discuss scripting and game modifications for X³: Terran Conflict and X³: Albion Prelude.

Moderators: Moderators for English X Forum, Scripting / Modding Moderators

Post Reply
User avatar
apricotslice
Posts: 13630
Joined: Sun, 16. May 04, 13:01

Post by apricotslice » Mon, 23. Nov 15, 05:30

steelwing_2 wrote:Did all that. Still the same result. Game crashes to desktop before ever reaching the main menu.
Do you have any false patches installed?

steelwing_2
Posts: 54
Joined: Tue, 19. May 15, 02:10

Post by steelwing_2 » Mon, 23. Nov 15, 14:23

apricotslice wrote:
steelwing_2 wrote:Did all that. Still the same result. Game crashes to desktop before ever reaching the main menu.
Do you have any false patches installed?
Other than your Merge Mod, the game is currently Vanilla. I planned on installing your medium hub plot mod and Cycrow's Cheat Collection and Hotkey Manager, too, but that's it.

User avatar
apricotslice
Posts: 13630
Joined: Sun, 16. May 04, 13:01

Post by apricotslice » Mon, 23. Nov 15, 15:59

List the steps you are using to start the game, up until it crashes.

Also, it might help if I can see a screenpic of your folder structure from the TC folder and under.

The only other thought is perhaps the zip was corrupted?

steelwing_2
Posts: 54
Joined: Tue, 19. May 15, 02:10

Post by steelwing_2 » Mon, 23. Nov 15, 16:12

apricotslice wrote:List the steps you are using to start the game, up until it crashes.

Also, it might help if I can see a screenpic of your folder structure from the TC folder and under.

The only other thought is perhaps the zip was corrupted?
1. In Steam, click Play
2. Launcher appears
3. Click Select Mod Package
4. Make sure Merge Mod is selected, click OK
5. Click Start X3:TC
6. Loading screen appears
7. Loading screen goes away, no intro video or anything

My folder structure is shown here. Let me know if you need to see anything below that.
[edit] After your suggestion of a corrupted zip, I redownloaded the original zip for the merge mod (2.07), plus the zip file for the previous version (2.06). I tried both, and both caused the same crashing behavior.

User avatar
apricotslice
Posts: 13630
Joined: Sun, 16. May 04, 13:01

Post by apricotslice » Tue, 24. Nov 15, 02:45

What operating system is this? Mac?

Have you tried to play without a mod, just to make sure the vanilla game loads?

steelwing_2
Posts: 54
Joined: Tue, 19. May 15, 02:10

Post by steelwing_2 » Tue, 24. Nov 15, 02:52

apricotslice wrote:What operating system is this? Mac?

Have you tried to play without a mod, just to make sure the vanilla game loads?
Linux, and yes, I have. The vanilla game works fine.

steelwing_2
Posts: 54
Joined: Tue, 19. May 15, 02:10

Post by steelwing_2 » Wed, 2. Dec 15, 19:30

steelwing_2 wrote: Linux, and yes, I have. The vanilla game works fine.
FYI, I've also managed to try this with a few other mods (SPK-packaged and otherwise), and the game can load them successfully. For whatever reason, the Merge Mod, the AMS Mod, and the various levels of your HUB mod all have this issue, with the same crash to desktop.

User avatar
apricotslice
Posts: 13630
Joined: Sun, 16. May 04, 13:01

Post by apricotslice » Thu, 3. Dec 15, 02:46

steelwing_2 wrote:
steelwing_2 wrote: Linux, and yes, I have. The vanilla game works fine.
FYI, I've also managed to try this with a few other mods (SPK-packaged and otherwise), and the game can load them successfully. For whatever reason, the Merge Mod, the AMS Mod, and the various levels of your HUB mod all have this issue, with the same crash to desktop.
I have absolutely no idea.

I'd suggest you create a new thread, asking for Linux users to help.

The zips are made using Winzip under Windows 7.

And to date, you could be the only one trying to run the mods under Linux, hence this not coming up before.

If some linux experts can help you solve it, let me know what the issue was.

steelwing_2
Posts: 54
Joined: Tue, 19. May 15, 02:10

Post by steelwing_2 » Sat, 5. Dec 15, 20:50

OK, so I realized that I had never tested the HUB mod just by itself. I had only installed it after installing the AMS or Merge mod. So I tried putting the HUB mod in without ever having put in anything else and then launched the game. That worked perfectly. So that now makes the only non-working mods the AMS and Merge mods.

Post Reply

Return to “X³: Terran Conflict / Albion Prelude - Scripts and Modding”