EnglishGermanFrenchRussianItalianSpanish
Log inRegister
 
[Mod] Apricot Mapping Service Mod v1.3 for APv3.1 / v2.14 (For TCv3).
Post new topic Reply to topic Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 27, 28, 29, 30  Next
View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
Sturmer





Joined: 09 Jun 2011



PostPosted: Sat, 7. Apr 12, 11:52    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

apricotslice wrote:
Sturmer wrote:
Any idea why Apricot Salvage Pack 2.4 would cause the game to freeze (either loading a save or starting new game)?


Never heard of that happening, and this version has been out a long time.

The only constant running script in the pack is NPCbail, so you could remove the setup script for that so it doesnt start, and see if that makes a difference. All other scripts are run once off hotkey or command, so no possibility of freezing the system. (Freeze I assume is actually an endless loop that consumes all resources.)

Are you really sure that is causing the freeze ? As in install everything else, and no problem, install Salvage and suddenly it freezes ?

Btw, your asking on the wrong thread for this. This one is just for the AMS mod.

And also, your asking about the TC version of the pack. Are you playing TC or AP ?


Yup, installed SCS and it froze. Uninstalled and it was okay. Sorry for littering this thread, but for some reason my search didn't find the corresponding thread. TC, not AP.



It turned out to be a false alarm, sorry for bothering.

Something seems to have gone wrong in my installation that caused a freeze (total freeze, nothing moving, even the sound was frozen not even looping) with Salvage Pack - it was very strange since in all the time I've had this game and my occasional playing of it (never played a single playthrough for long) I used this script and never had a problem. I really like the command to beam up all containers, saves me a lot of time. Smile

Now mostly reinstalled everything, just need to install Lucikes scripts and those addon ships, and will see if I still have a problem. Have been testing the game after I installed every 5 scripts and no problem.

Another strange thing was that it didn't help if I just disabled SCS I had to complete uninstall it.

I must've messed something up badly.

Btw., that NPCbail script you're referring to... with this script in this pack, do I even then still need the "NPC Bailing Addon" by ThisIsHarsh to get NPCs to bail out more often?

Thanks for your help!

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
apricotslice





Joined: 16 May 2004
Posts: 13629 on topic
Location: In the Hunter Legacy Universe
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Sat, 7. Apr 12, 12:43    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

http://forum.egosoft.com/viewtopic.php?t=226623

It was on page 3.

The NPCbail in the salvage pack is most likely an older version. Overwriting it with the current version, wont hurt. But you probably wont notice much difference.

What is SCS ?


_________________
Apricot Mapping Services HQ
CLICK HERE for X3 Handbook; TC and AP Guides, Mods, Scripts & Downloads
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Sturmer





Joined: 09 Jun 2011



PostPosted: Sat, 7. Apr 12, 19:09    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

apricotslice wrote:
http://forum.egosoft.com/viewtopic.php?t=226623

It was on page 3.

The NPCbail in the salvage pack is most likely an older version. Overwriting it with the current version, wont hurt. But you probably wont notice much difference.

What is SCS ?


Thanks for the answer.

Sorry, mistyped with the SCS. I meant your salvage pack.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
apricotslice





Joined: 16 May 2004
Posts: 13629 on topic
Location: In the Hunter Legacy Universe
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Sun, 8. Apr 12, 04:26    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

The only thing I can think of is that if npcbail was rewritten at any stage, then the scrips may not compatible. In which case, overwriting either could be fatal.

In which case, best to perhaps install the salvage pack, remove all the npcbail scripts, then instal the latest npcbail.


_________________
Apricot Mapping Services HQ
CLICK HERE for X3 Handbook; TC and AP Guides, Mods, Scripts & Downloads
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Sturmer





Joined: 09 Jun 2011



PostPosted: Sun, 8. Apr 12, 11:49    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

apricotslice wrote:
The only thing I can think of is that if npcbail was rewritten at any stage, then the scrips may not compatible. In which case, overwriting either could be fatal.

In which case, best to perhaps install the salvage pack, remove all the npcbail scripts, then instal the latest npcbail.


Well, I'm about 12 hours into the fresh start, haven't had any problems yet. *knocks on wood* Well, except for not being sure whether the IE and IEX mod even work for me even though they're installed correctly (Black Hole Sun is blue instead of red).

NPCs are bailing out quite nicely, to the point where I'm destroying their ships instead of capping them because I'd otherwise just have too many.

As it is, until I get the Vidar, I'm not even trying to repair any of them, because the L that I repaired took me 10 minutes at least from 20% hull damage. And I have about 20 ships all with low hull %. One Express even has about 30 passengers still on board. Very Happy A little space fuel and I won't have to pass by the next we-need-slaves mission. Very Happy

Had to have messed something up in that previous playthrough to suddenly get a complete crash at 106 hours of gameplay, because from what I read some members have months of playing this game without terminal problems.

Am financial rank 11 and fighting rank 16 and am wondering when the hell am I gonna start earning some serious money with patrols. Last patrol that took me through 3 sectors and I destroyed 30 ships earned me only 28000 credits. Is the earning part perhaps more dependent on financial than fighting rank? And all the missions I've been doing were for the Argon, so as I'm sticking with the same race the payoff should've increased by now. Hm.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
apricotslice





Joined: 16 May 2004
Posts: 13629 on topic
Location: In the Hunter Legacy Universe
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Sat, 21. Jul 12, 15:29    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

From Scripts thread......

blazermick wrote:
Hi

Have a couple of issues for the AP full fixed version 1.04 (from memory).

To make sure it was in the AMS mod i redid a clean copy install and ONLY added AMS.

The "Apricot Placeholders" appear ingame in the hands of the pirates, fitted with fusion beams as standard. I first noticed this with the PG3 content and thought it be one of the "not quite compatible bugs".

However, after having my ass handed to me by 3 Terran owned Apricot Vidars in an AMS only install (i fixed them using the old cycrow method), i thought id mention it so someone might be able to offer suggestions, considering NO Apricot ships should appear in NPC hands Razz As stated by Mr Slice.

I am very familiar with scripting, modding, merging, and md's but at present my mind is on holidays. Even the 2nd install does exactly the same thing and there are no left over files from previous installs.

Thanks


The current version of AMS for AP is v1.1. 1.04 is well out of date !

The only way Apricot Placeholders would appear in the game is if you have scripts from another ship mod left in the game and likely another mods jobs file.

What is PG3 ?

Again, Apricot Vidars cant be owned by any race, so if they are being used, then you have another mods jobs file overwriting the AMS job file. A good giveaway will be there are no Apricot Wanderers flying around, when there should be plenty. If they are not there, then the mod is being overwritten.


_________________
Apricot Mapping Services HQ
CLICK HERE for X3 Handbook; TC and AP Guides, Mods, Scripts & Downloads
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
blazermick





Joined: 31 Jan 2006
Posts: 79 on topic

Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Sat, 21. Jul 12, 18:03    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

Hi

Thanks for quick reply.

Plenty of Apricot Wanderers flying about and being a fresh virgin install there was nothing to over write. The only thing added was the Bonus Pack. Otherwise very much a virgin install.

However, since i'm out of date Razz i will go for a fresh install with the updated one.

PG3 is Pirate guild 3 ... lots of posts about it not being AP compatible and except for a couple of small things it works fine, just fyi.

Thanks again

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
apricotslice





Joined: 16 May 2004
Posts: 13629 on topic
Location: In the Hunter Legacy Universe
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Sun, 22. Jul 12, 01:12    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

I dont know anything about PG3. But its name suggests it has its own jobs file, which will overwrite the mods. Check that. If you cant find anything, ask in the thread for it.

If not, then its scripts or MD may just be using whatever ships are available. In which case, there is nothing that can be done except modifying those scripts to exclude mod ships. (somehow).

AMS adds in a set of placeholder slots, so that future egosoft patches that add in ships dont interfere with the mod ships. The way its coded is that the slot position in the file is used, not its ID, so adding a new ship conflicts with any mod ship. Thus allowing space for egosoft to expand saves a lot of work when they do, but it leaves dummy ships in the files that are not supposed to be used.

If a script uses those dummy ships, then thats something the script author hasnt taken into account and the script needs to be changed.

Alternately, you extract the tships from the mod, and then modify those ships yourself so they are something you dont mind seeing.


_________________
Apricot Mapping Services HQ
CLICK HERE for X3 Handbook; TC and AP Guides, Mods, Scripts & Downloads
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
apricotslice





Joined: 16 May 2004
Posts: 13629 on topic
Location: In the Hunter Legacy Universe
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Wed, 25. Jul 12, 01:49    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

If anyone is in a desperate hurry for an updated version for the new patch, let me know, as just at the moment, the last thing I need to do is a mod upgrade.

They changed the ships and hq files, which means time figuring out what they did, and I really dont want to spend that time just now unless its really necessary.


_________________
Apricot Mapping Services HQ
CLICK HERE for X3 Handbook; TC and AP Guides, Mods, Scripts & Downloads
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
gen lee outrageous





Joined: 18 Jun 2010
Posts: 16 on topic

Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Thu, 26. Jul 12, 04:51    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

Hi, so I downloaded v1.1 of AMS for AP and I am not seeing any of the new start options when I go to make a new game. I manually installed the mod after having had some difficulty with Cycrow's mod manager, and upon finding out it had problems with AP being in the default steam directory. When I start a game, I get the appropriate message about turning on the script editor, and I see the new in-game key config options for the mod, but still no kha'ak start. The other mods I am currently running are MARS, ship rebalance, and 500k com range.

If you could help me get up and running I would be very happy.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
apricotslice





Joined: 16 May 2004
Posts: 13629 on topic
Location: In the Hunter Legacy Universe
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Thu, 26. Jul 12, 07:02    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

gen lee outrageous wrote:
Hi, so I downloaded v1.1 of AMS for AP and I am not seeing any of the new start options when I go to make a new game. I manually installed the mod after having had some difficulty with Cycrow's mod manager, and upon finding out it had problems with AP being in the default steam directory. When I start a game, I get the appropriate message about turning on the script editor, and I see the new in-game key config options for the mod, but still no kha'ak start. The other mods I am currently running are MARS, ship rebalance, and 500k com range.


AMS is in a zip file. Nothing to do with plugin manager and I dont recommend installing it that way. You unzip it using Winzip or similar, into the Terran Conflict folder. You then select the mod on the jump off screen before starting the game.

Ship rebalance will most likely conflict with AMS. You will need to choose which one you use. I think 500k comm range will conflict as well, AMS adjusts the comm range, but not that much. But AMS also changes other things in the same file. MARS should be fine, and AMS has the MARS drone modifications in it, so you dont need the mod part of MARS.

BTW, plugin manager is for the installation of scripts and some mods (not mine). Mod manager is a tool for manipulating the cat/dat files that contain mod files. Not the same thing and not interchangeable.


_________________
Apricot Mapping Services HQ
CLICK HERE for X3 Handbook; TC and AP Guides, Mods, Scripts & Downloads
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
apricotslice





Joined: 16 May 2004
Posts: 13629 on topic
Location: In the Hunter Legacy Universe
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Fri, 28. Sep 12, 07:34    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

v1.2 uploaded.

Terran PHQ from v2.5 patch added.
HQ.xml modified to include TPHQ.

TPHQ is just a different model. Blueprints still go to the last one created. Existing ones need to be removed re-dropped before the new production specs will work.


_________________
Apricot Mapping Services HQ
CLICK HERE for X3 Handbook; TC and AP Guides, Mods, Scripts & Downloads
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
trcfp





Joined: 03 Dec 2005
Posts: 4 on topic

Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Fri, 7. Dec 12, 21:39    Post subject: Noob questions about AMS Mod Reply with quote Print

Hi, I have installed the AMS Mod and select the mod at the launch screen but when the game starts I can't see how to start playing the AMS Mod. I start a new game as Terran and I get a load of messages telling me to enable script editor (Thereshallbewings) done. Then a dock and save/ load, couple more messages about collision system being enabled etc, but I can't seem to find the 'Minicar' to transfer to and start playing?
I know I must be missing something really simple, so sorry for the noob question?
Any help gratefully received on starting this mod.

I plan to play through the game story but with a little help from a better ship and some tech upgrades.

Thanks

<Moved to AMS thread where this belongs. Alan Phipps>

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ApocalypticARK





Joined: 22 Dec 2012



PostPosted: Thu, 27. Dec 12, 01:26    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

http://i.imgur.com/BVym8.jpg Aaalright, umm....help! Laughing
I'm guessing removing the NPC Bailing script will prevent anymore of this but...any ideas on how to destroy every existing ownlerless ship in the galaxy?

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
apricotslice





Joined: 16 May 2004
Posts: 13629 on topic
Location: In the Hunter Legacy Universe
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Thu, 27. Dec 12, 01:54    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

Laughing

Yep, if you dont collect them, they do tend to clutter the place.

If you look at the script for jump to derelict, it has a command that finds all derelict ships. After that command, you could add a loop to go through and destroy them all. It shouldnt be too difficult to write.


_________________
Apricot Mapping Services HQ
CLICK HERE for X3 Handbook; TC and AP Guides, Mods, Scripts & Downloads
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic Reply to topic Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 27, 28, 29, 30  Next
 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum
Control Panel
Login Data
The time now is Wed, 13. Dec 17, 03:17

All times are GMT + 2 Hours


Board Security

Copyright © EGOSOFT 1989-2017
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Template created by Avatar & BurnIt!
Debug: page generation = 0.12834 seconds, sql queries = 29