[Mod] Apricot Mapping Service Mod v1.3 for APv3.1 / v2.14 (For TCv3).

The place to discuss scripting and game modifications for X³: Terran Conflict and X³: Albion Prelude.

Moderators: Moderators for English X Forum, Scripting / Modding Moderators

Post Reply
User avatar
apricotslice
Posts: 13630
Joined: Sun, 16. May 04, 13:01

Post by apricotslice » Tue, 23. Dec 08, 06:24

There is no upgrade needed for X3TC v1.4.

Fortunately, nothing they changed is part of the mod.

Gridd
Posts: 80
Joined: Sun, 27. Mar 05, 21:51

Post by Gridd » Sun, 28. Dec 08, 20:52

Hi again. I restored your files to there (rightful) configuration and removed cycrow's salvage claim, That got rid of all the read text's. I am still seeing SSWare_New_9 though, , *scratching head* I must have done something wrong because, after i bought a few of your ships (great configuration btw.) I played without hiccup for a few hours and saved. (That was on ver 1.3) the next time i got to play Steam had updated me to 1.4 and I am unable to load that save game :-(. I can still load the save i have just before i started using/read/ Purchased, your ships. I have 7 cat/dat pairs and your mod selected, with just scripts and no other mods loaded. I did try re-loading the files from your mod archive but game crashes trying to load the save.
Whew that seems long winded..
Thanks again
Gridd

Side question: Do you plan to have an Apricot version of M3's at all?

User avatar
apricotslice
Posts: 13630
Joined: Sun, 16. May 04, 13:01

Post by apricotslice » Mon, 29. Dec 08, 01:45

Thats very odd. There isnt anything in the 1.4 upgrade that duplicates anything in the mod, so there shouldnt be a conflict.

By any chance, has the mod been deselected at all ? If the mod was not selected and you load a save with the mods ships, then that would crash. Perhaps try selecting the mod again before starting the game to just be sure.

Also, I've noticed that occasionally, I will reload and the game will crash, but when you restart fresh, the same save game loads ok, even though it says it was probably corrupted.

So definitely give it another go.

M3.....I dont actually use them myself anymore. I normally fly the M7, or if I really need to dock a lot at normal stations, then I fly the Gunbus. When I'm flying the M7, I use a Mule for station docking. And I did the first part of the Terran plot in a Mule.

The Gunbus behaves pretty much like I'd build a M3, so why do without the couple of extra turrents ? :D

Which M3 would you want and what characteristics ?

DasFlo
Posts: 50
Joined: Sun, 3. Dec 06, 16:52

Post by DasFlo » Mon, 29. Dec 08, 23:25

Hey,

I fear I didn't quite get the purpose of this mod quite yet. It will add/change some ships as well as changing some game starts, right? wrong?

If i got that about right, what about balance - are the new ships god-mode like, are they expensive?

Thanks :)

User avatar
apricotslice
Posts: 13630
Joined: Sun, 16. May 04, 13:01

Post by apricotslice » Tue, 30. Dec 08, 00:36

For using the "b" word, you get to read this >>>> http://apricotmappingservice.com/unbalanced.html :D

The purpose of this mod is to give the player complete choice of how to outfit their ships.

For example :

Anyone with a slideshow effect in major combat needs double the shields to stay alive, and guns that fire true in a slideshow. During slideshows, the enemy hit you at normal speed, you hit them at slideshow speed or not at all. Not fair !

A lousy pilot can select more shields. A very good shot can select a more precision gun, or lousy shot can choose an area gun.

Someone who hates losing traders can use a converted M6 instead (made before the Mistral, which is what I originally wanted in a heavy transport). The original mod was the Gunbus, designed to be a transport capable of getting away from an attacker, where most transports are destroyed before they can jump. The fact that it can actually kick a*se while its jumping is what I consider a transport should be doing.

People who hate dawdling around (especially those from X2 before they nerfed the speeds) can choose more speed and more rudder. All my personal ships I fly have between 495 and 795 speeds, I just cant be bothered going slower ! (The latter was a supertune mistake though, but I actually prefer it now, especially since X3R upped the size of a lot of sectors.)

The other issue with speed, is it allows you to catch up to anything, or run away from everything. And those people who do not use strafe can use speed instead to avoid fire. (Especially those who used to play Wing Commander series of games, particularly Privateer, and who miss the turbo speeds).

Those who are building huge complexes can really use compression technology by having a TL capable of carrying most of the complex in 1 or 2 trips instead of 10 or 20. I build a complex straight off, min 20 stations. I dont want to be b*ggering around making the TL going back and forth all the time getting the stations. Buy, build. Takes too damn long as it is without adding a great deal of TL going back and forth to shipyards time. Every second in sector creates a danger to any ships you have operating there, since collisions are turned on. Jump in, build as fast as possible, get out ! No waiting for TL's to buy and return and lose ships to collisions in the meantime.

Basically, the mod gives the player complete control over how they want their ships to perform, with emphasis on saving game time and compensating for the weakness of the player.

For many people, getting killed all the time is a huge turn off. Give them 10gb shields and they are happy. (Those who want to be vulnerable dont have to fit bigger than normal shields).

Its about people being able to have FUN in their own way, by giving them the choices of what they can and cant do.

Only 1 game start is changed, Argon Patriot. And thats easy to remove if you extract the start file from the original cat/dat and put it in the director directory (create it first).

At some point I'll create a custom start, but at the time I did this start, I didnt know how to create a new one. On the list of things to do.

IvanC
Posts: 15
Joined: Sun, 4. Jan 04, 12:58

Post by IvanC » Tue, 30. Dec 08, 06:41

great mod, loving my new mule and hyper, but im having a problem with the "beam in astronaut" hotkey. everytime i load a saved game it adds an extra hotkey, now i have a total of 16 "beam in astronaut" hotkeys.

i reinstalled the game with latest patch(1.4) and plugin manager(beta 6) but still have the same problem

User avatar
apricotslice
Posts: 13630
Joined: Sun, 16. May 04, 13:01

Post by apricotslice » Tue, 30. Dec 08, 07:07

Ah........yes.........*blush*

I honestly dont know why its doing that. One of the few things I havent gotten to the bottom of yet.

Adding hotkeys was something new for me, so theres obviously something I've done wrong. They work perfectly other than being virus like in the hotkey list.

IvanC
Posts: 15
Joined: Sun, 4. Jan 04, 12:58

Post by IvanC » Tue, 30. Dec 08, 07:13

other than that it works great, thanks for the fast reply and the AMSM

DasFlo
Posts: 50
Joined: Sun, 3. Dec 06, 16:52

Post by DasFlo » Tue, 30. Dec 08, 17:00

Ok thanks, I get it ;)

Didn't know you disliked the b-word, my bad. Anyways, I'd love to use your gunbus, but I don't want it handed to me. I'd like it to be something that I have to work for - in other words, it should be in a shipyard at a price that reflects the power of the thing. Does it already work like that / can it be arranged that way?

Again, thank you :)

User avatar
apricotslice
Posts: 13630
Joined: Sun, 16. May 04, 13:01

Post by apricotslice » Wed, 31. Dec 08, 01:29

Its in the shipyards, but cheaper than a normal M6.

If you dont use the Argon Patriot start, you wont get any of the ships to start with.

IvanC
Posts: 15
Joined: Sun, 4. Jan 04, 12:58

Post by IvanC » Fri, 2. Jan 09, 23:04

Is it possible to use the Whitestar(v1.22) Mod and your AMS Mod. I've tried to fake patch either one, but it seems they overwrite each other.

User avatar
apricotslice
Posts: 13630
Joined: Sun, 16. May 04, 13:01

Post by apricotslice » Sat, 3. Jan 09, 00:33

No, ship mods are incompatible with each other.

You would have to edit the AMS tships file and add the whitestar on the end of the file.

IvanC
Posts: 15
Joined: Sun, 4. Jan 04, 12:58

Post by IvanC » Sat, 3. Jan 09, 00:38

I've never done that before, but I can try.

IvanC
Posts: 15
Joined: Sun, 4. Jan 04, 12:58

Post by IvanC » Sat, 3. Jan 09, 02:00

I did what u said, but it didnt work. I used X3 ModManager to edit the AMS tships file. Do I also have to add the rest of the Whitestar files? And if so how do I do it? Thanks

User avatar
apricotslice
Posts: 13630
Joined: Sun, 16. May 04, 13:01

Post by apricotslice » Sat, 3. Jan 09, 04:39

You need to read my Modding 101 guide I think.

Modding the t files is one thing, but you also need to include the model as well.

So its a matter of merging the 2 mods into 1 new one.

Post Reply

Return to “X³: Terran Conflict / Albion Prelude - Scripts and Modding”