[Script] Sector Scanner v1.3 by Nividium 11/26/08 Updated

The place to discuss scripting and game modifications for X³: Terran Conflict and X³: Albion Prelude.

Moderators: Scripting / Modding Moderators, Moderators for English X Forum

User avatar
Nividium
Posts: 695
Joined: Tue, 21. Aug 07, 01:31

[Script] Sector Scanner v1.3 by Nividium 11/26/08 Updated

Post by Nividium » Tue, 4. Nov 08, 21:37

Sector Scanner for X3 Terran Conflict.

Name of Script Package: Sector Scanner
Version Number: 1.30
Date Released: 11/04/2008
Last Updated: 11/26/2008
Script Created For: X3 Terran Conflict v 1.2.1+
File Package Available: X3 Script Installer "SPK"

Download Sector Scanner v1.3

Description:

This script adds a [General Command] - [Scan Sector] button to your ship's console. It is a software upgrade to your Mineral and Triplex Scanners. It automates the process of scanning an entire Sector of abandoned ships, asteriods and nividium rock debris fields. It is an all purpose general Sector scanner software package especially designed with the Nividium miner in mind. The scan process is slow because the Sector Scanner software behaves just like a human pilot and requires a ship to fly to within 7km of each Asteroid and Debris field. This is required because in order to use a Mineral Scanner for scanning, you would need to be within 7-8km of the object being scanned. Also, at any given time, the total view of space is limited to a 60km diameter (Triplex Scanner installed). So, the ship can only see within that range and then when it does see something it needs to move up close (7km) in order to scan it.

Features:

- Scans for large Asteriods and updates your Sector map with the type of mineral and yields.
- Scans for Nividium Rock Debris Fields and places a Nav Beacon in the center of the fields. Great for those who want to break rocks manually and fill a TS with them and then sell the TS to a shipyard for millions of credits.
NOTE: You can disable the showing (listing) of Nav Beacons in your "View Properties" page by selecting "No" in the "show satelites" class of ships. (They still show up in Sector maps though).
- Scans for Abandoned Ships and places a Nav Beacon (with the name of the ship) in the center of the ships location.
- Follows a "snake" search path (this cannot be changed).
- Any Stations and Gates that fall within the path are also made known to player.
- When the ship has finished scanning, it sends you an email to inform you that it has finished and command terminated.
- The ship needs to be already in the Sector that is to be scanned, before you start the Scan Command.
- Does not rely on, require or use Satelites to be able to scan a Sector. It uses the ship's Triplex Scanner and Mineral Scanner to find and scan objects.
- The Playership cannot use this software. Only other Player owned ships can use the command.
- If the Playership has a Mineral Scanner and a Triplex Scanner, the General command will appear, but it will be greyed out and cannot be used.
- Scan Sector command now works with ships that have "built-in" Triplex scanners.
- Bug or Quirky behavior: If you are in the same sector as the scanner ship, the scanner ship will stall and stop scanning. Why? Wish I new. Solution is to leave the sector and the scanner ship will resume scanning.

Equipment:

- Mineral Scanner (Required) (If you don't have a Mineral Scanner, the General command will not appear).
- Triplex Scanner (Required) (If you don't have a Triplex Scanner, but do have a Mineral Scanner, the General command will appear, but be greyed out).
- A fast ship to undertake the scanning (makes the whole process go faster) If using a real fast ship, it is best to be out of sector and not be in the sector while the scanner ship is scanning.

Installation: Use the X3 Script Installer.

Uninstall: Use the X3 Script Installer.

Version History:
Version 1.00 Initial Release.
Version 1.01 Updated language file
Version 1.20 Updated the "check" script to allow ships with built in Triplex Scanners to be able to use the command.
Version 1.30 Corrected for change in X3TC race allocation where some Pirates are now assigned as Neutral Race instead of Pirates. Caused Sector Scanner to tag these pirates as Abandoned Ships by mistake.

Command Slots Used: "<t id="857">COMMAND_TYPE_GENERAL_57</t>"

Text (language t file) Used: 7237-L044.xml
Last edited by Nividium on Wed, 26. Nov 08, 22:04, edited 12 times in total.

anneking
Posts: 306
Joined: Tue, 5. Feb 08, 18:33

Post by anneking » Wed, 5. Nov 08, 17:44

Is size M cargo space essential ?

The enhanced Jaguar size S comes with built-in Triplex Scanner

User avatar
Nividium
Posts: 695
Joined: Tue, 21. Aug 07, 01:31

Post by Nividium » Wed, 5. Nov 08, 23:14

If a ship has a built in Triplex scanner and happens to have s cargo class, then that is fine. It is just the Triplex is a M class cargo item, so M class cargo holds are required for most other ships.

UPDATE: Updated the 'check' script to allow ships with built in Triplex Scanners to be able to use the Scan Sector command.
PS: If you are using a fast ship, it works best to be OOS out of sector, as real fast ships tend to slam into asteroids if you are personally in the sector with the scanner ship.
Last edited by Nividium on Wed, 12. Nov 08, 12:33, edited 2 times in total.

XFree
Posts: 62
Joined: Fri, 22. Jun 07, 16:37
x3tc

Post by XFree » Thu, 6. Nov 08, 21:37

Doesn't work for me.
I've buy a Discover and has already equipped with triplex scanner. Why? Don't know. Plug in it with mineral scanner and order it to go to a equipement dock paranid to buy a triplex scanner but can't : already installed. But can't see it in the cargohold.
Infortunately : the command is still grey and won't work.

User avatar
Nividium
Posts: 695
Joined: Tue, 21. Aug 07, 01:31

Post by Nividium » Fri, 7. Nov 08, 02:05

XFree wrote:Doesn't work for me.
I've buy a Discover and has already equipped with triplex scanner. Why? Don't know. Plug in it with mineral scanner and order it to go to a equipement dock paranid to buy a triplex scanner but can't : already installed. But can't see it in the cargohold.
Infortunately : the command is still grey and won't work.
EDIT: I have updated the "check" script to allow ships with built in Triplex scanners to be able to use the Scan Sector command.
Last edited by Nividium on Wed, 12. Nov 08, 12:36, edited 1 time in total.

XFree
Posts: 62
Joined: Fri, 22. Jun 07, 16:37
x3tc

Post by XFree » Fri, 7. Nov 08, 03:34

Ok i will try with another ship. But don't understand WHY discover pillard is build with Triplex scanner...
Will try after Alias :)

Lancefighter
Posts: 2936
Joined: Sun, 19. Dec 04, 03:41
xr

Post by Lancefighter » Fri, 7. Nov 08, 03:40

Isnt there a command for getting scanner range? could that be used as a work-around?
in the market for a new sig, willing to pay 1 billion credits for a proper sig...

User avatar
Nividium
Posts: 695
Joined: Tue, 21. Aug 07, 01:31

Post by Nividium » Fri, 7. Nov 08, 06:21

Lancefighter wrote:Isnt there a command for getting scanner range? could that be used as a work-around?
Yes, this script uses Triplex Scanner range and Mineral Scanner range exstensively throughout the scripts code. EDIT: I have updated the "check" script to allow ships with built in Triplex scanner to be able to use the Scan Sector command.
Last edited by Nividium on Wed, 12. Nov 08, 12:38, edited 1 time in total.

DitDog
Posts: 21
Joined: Tue, 4. Nov 08, 09:47
x4

Post by DitDog » Sat, 8. Nov 08, 01:35

you didnt say if this script will also scan stations and gates???

User avatar
Nividium
Posts: 695
Joined: Tue, 21. Aug 07, 01:31

Post by Nividium » Sat, 8. Nov 08, 03:50

DitDog wrote:you didnt say if this script will also scan stations and gates???
Any Stations and Gates that fall within the flight path are made known to the player. They should show up in the Sector Map same as if you personally flew through the sector yourself in Playership.

User avatar
Nividium
Posts: 695
Joined: Tue, 21. Aug 07, 01:31

Post by Nividium » Wed, 26. Nov 08, 22:10

Update Released. You are advised to d/l and install this latest version number 1.30.

Corrected an error where X3TC has assigned the Neutral Race to some Pirates (instead of them being pirate race). This has caused Sector Scanner to get confused and identified these pirates as Abandoned Ships. Anyhow, the fix has been made to overcome Egosofts surprise and Sector Scanner now functions properly while scanning sectors with these miss assigned Pirates in them.

jams
Posts: 86
Joined: Fri, 20. Feb 04, 11:05

Post by jams » Thu, 27. Nov 08, 11:37

If I'm not mistaken, the ships being identified as Abandoned are the pirates that get spawned by the bugged company escort missions with No Object as pilot. Cycrow's SEWN also identified them as abandoned and gave warnings.

strude
Posts: 1435
Joined: Wed, 3. Aug 05, 08:15
x4

Post by strude » Sun, 11. Jan 09, 13:17

Will this only scan the sector along the y=0 plane, or will it extend the in the plus and minus y axis also?
Gaming PC: Gigabyte H270M-D3H | i7 7700 | 16Gb DDR4 | Gigabyte GTX1060 6Gb OC | Asus Xonar DGX | Window 10 Home 64bit | Samsung 256Gb SSD

User avatar
Nividium
Posts: 695
Joined: Tue, 21. Aug 07, 01:31

Post by Nividium » Sun, 11. Jan 09, 18:36

strude wrote:Will this only scan the sector along the y=0 plane, or will it extend the in the plus and minus y axis also?
Yes, it only scans along the y plane using your triplex scanner range for sight then will fly toward anything within the triplex scanner range for closer scanning using the mineral scanner.

Rheinlander
Posts: 126
Joined: Sat, 4. Mar 06, 08:51
x4

Post by Rheinlander » Thu, 15. Jan 09, 02:25

I have a properly-equipped Raijin acting as a prospector in Emperor Mines, but it just flies around the sector without actually scanning the asteroids.

Post Reply

Return to “X³: Terran Conflict / Albion Prelude - Scripts and Modding”