EnglishGermanFrenchRussianItalianSpanish
Log inRegister
 
[SCR] MARS Fire Control (v5.25 - 16.02.13)
Post new topic Reply to topic Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... , 234, 235, 236  Next
View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
redagent





Joined: 20 Feb 2015

Location: Moscow, Russia.

modified
PostPosted: Wed, 25. Feb 15, 16:28    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

DrBullwinkle wrote:
"Hard-coding" usually refers to compiled code. That requires resources to which most modders do not have access.

The menus are in scripts, which you can modify with the in-game Script Editor or X-Studio Script Editor.

If you are playing AP, then you could try changing the "open custom menu" lines to "open custom info menu". Info menus are the wide menus that you see in AP.

Thanks for clue, DrBullwinkle! It helped and menus have changed to suitable shape!

But I had to spent more than 1 hour to realize how to make it. Even this actions so simple to you was a "hard-coding" for me )))
I am goblin level one in the World of Scripts. And last code I wrote was a simple shooter on Sinclair BASIC for ZX-Spectrum in 1993.
So far I did all changes in scripts with text editor (AKelpad) and all was ok and worked properly after edit.

I could not find the strings "open custom menu" with text search in mars/scripts folder.
Then I made some investigation about X3:scripting and decided to try X-Studio. But It was a first time I use something more complicated than AkelPad. Spent some time for education... and found the desicion.

Well for those who want to do it but have the same level in scripting I giving this description which helps to spare your time:
Run X-Studio
Open script file from mars script folder plugin.gz.mars.config.xml
(I've found only one file with description "menu" in this folder)
In this file find string "open custom menu":
$Menu.Return = open custom menu: title=$Dummy1 description=$Dummy2 option array=$Menu.Arr
and change it to
$Menu.Return = open custom info menu: title=$Dummy1 description=$Dummy2 option array=$Menu.Arr maxoptions=null
Add text "info" and " maxoptions=null"
save. rewrite this file in game folder.

Now, MARS menu has become even wider, than you need. THat changes had affected on to both windows - ship menu and configuration menu. Covering half of screen space. But it is not a big deal - I am using hotkeys in combat.



Last edited by redagent on Wed, 25. Feb 15, 16:46; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
redagent





Joined: 20 Feb 2015

Location: Moscow, Russia.

modified
PostPosted: Wed, 25. Feb 15, 16:35    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

Deleted a stupid question from the lazy player, who do not like to read all those spreadsheets of manuals...



Last edited by redagent on Mon, 2. Mar 15, 12:24; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
redagent





Joined: 20 Feb 2015

Location: Moscow, Russia.

PostPosted: Mon, 2. Mar 15, 05:35    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

redagent wrote:
Also I wanted to confirm the game crashes(freezes), while using MARS in particular situations. Now I think it is the issiue mentioned at this post
http://forum.egosoft.com/viewtopic.php?p=4007806#4007806
connected to "Bounce" script from Litcube. But I am not shure, because I use a lot of other mods. though they were properly worked together for a long long time. And a few mods along MARS were installed recently - Sector Takover (STOv1.57), BounceV1.7 and Anarkis Defence System (ADS 265).

At last I have caught the exact reason of the game crashes.
Bounce it is - with MARS... or MARS it is - with Bounce - you decide.
It happens only if I start MARS in the turrets of my owned ship(s) only in sector and Bounce enabled. not the ship I fly , but any of my AI-controlled ship.

EDIT. I've made few more tests. It doesn't matter how many ships are in sector - game crashes even if there is two of my ships and a few xenon ships.
I had only two ships in sector - my AI Tokyo without any ships in hangars. My own Agamemnon. 1 Xenon attacking me. And 3 or 4 Xenon M3 far away. Sextor Xenon 472. There is Xenon Shpyard and Xenon Station as well.

The only circumstances are:
Bounce 1.7 - enabled
Tokyo (AI) - MARS 5.25 - enabled (offence) in turrets - drones launched from this ship.
Agamemnon (own) - MARS 5.25 - disabled and MY own ship drones also launched by pressing hotkey (launch goblin at target).

The crush happens only if MARS drones were launched from both of my ships (own and AI) simulatenously. Launching them only from AI Ship(s) or only from my own do not causes crushes with Bounce enabled.


_________________
Apologize for Grammar! English is not my first language.
Played X2 for months. Played X3 for years. Played XR for one week. Now playing X3...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cpt1silencer





Joined: 16 Mar 2015



PostPosted: Mon, 16. Mar 15, 12:59    Post subject: turrets Reply with quote Print

for some reason MARS isnt working correctly on my new ship, I have 16 starburst shockwave cannons and 12 spots to put them in, 8 main ones and 4 turrets, but mars keeps unequiping all but 1 of the 8 and uses 1 on each of the 2 turret areas, when i manualy equip them MARS takes them off again.

whats going on here? do i have to reload or something. 744 752 756 are the numbers it taged to my ship name.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
X2-Illuminatus
Moderator (Deutsch)
Moderator (Deutsch)

MEDALMEDALMEDAL

Joined: 02 Apr 2006
Posts: 20702 on topic

Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Mon, 16. Mar 15, 19:26    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

From the MARS FAQ:

Gazz wrote:
Q: Why does MARS only load 1 laser into a turret when there could be 8?

A: For not doing anything, one laser is sufficient.



_________________
Besteht Interesse an einem Nopileos-Hörbuch?

Farnhams Legende und Nopileos als E-Books!

"People who think they know everything are a great annoyance to those of us who do." - Isaac Asimov

"If it's not impossible, there must be a way to do it." - Sir Nicholas Winton
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Aszot





Joined: 13 Feb 2015
Posts: 2 on topic

Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Sun, 22. Mar 15, 02:50    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

Hello,
I have small problem with MARS. Iam using Albion Prelude and XRM. When i install MARS, game spawns many of mammoths everywhere, or didnt instal at all saying : "cannot find 7047 bla, bla, bla... game dectected as vanilla". I tried everything and nothing worked :/ Hope you guys will help me Smile

Ps. I read manual, FAQ and similar problems and solutions. Nothing worked...

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
X2-Illuminatus
Moderator (Deutsch)
Moderator (Deutsch)

MEDALMEDALMEDAL

Joined: 02 Apr 2006
Posts: 20702 on topic

Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Sun, 22. Mar 15, 12:16    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

Have you also read the installation intructions for MARS posted in the XRM topic?

paulwheeler wrote:
MARS: MARS is compatible - Do not use the full repackaged version - either use the manual install and do not install the MARS drones cat/dat - just the scripts. The drones are already merged into the XRM and installing them will break the XRM, or use Bullwinkle's repackaged version for mods that include TShips. You will also need the custom MARS data file above. Simply copy this into your "t" folder ("addon\t" for AP)



_________________
Besteht Interesse an einem Nopileos-Hörbuch?

Farnhams Legende und Nopileos als E-Books!

"People who think they know everything are a great annoyance to those of us who do." - Isaac Asimov

"If it's not impossible, there must be a way to do it." - Sir Nicholas Winton
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Aszot





Joined: 13 Feb 2015
Posts: 2 on topic

Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Sun, 22. Mar 15, 12:30    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

Yes. I used this version for mods. This with only 2 folders: t and scripts. I found one thing: I used polish version of game, but when i change langue to english everything works perfectly.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
GlassDeviant





Joined: 04 Nov 2012
Posts: 234 on topic

Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Sun, 22. Mar 15, 16:55    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

I am guessing I should avoid using MARS with anything like Smart Turrets, or Weapons Select Extension, which also affect(s) weapons systems? Or rather, avoid using them with MARS.

Edit: I came up with a list of mods (subset of the mods I am trying to use) which I think might duplicate parts of MARS, conflict with parts of MARS, or otherwise be unnecessary/undesurable to use with MARS:

Smart Turrets v4.7.2
Missile Safety
Weapon Select Extension v2.02
Auto Aim (for cursor follow mode)
Drone Carrier Software v2.07a
Turret Toggle BW Missiles Only v4

Can anyone confirm or deny any of these [s]educated guesses[/s] almost completely unsupported speculations?


_________________
bibo ergo sum
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dholmstr





Joined: 12 Apr 2011



PostPosted: Wed, 9. Mar 16, 11:23    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

Such an old thread, hope I don't get banned for this.

I have the MARS installed (yes I still play X3 even with Rebirth out and all) and I'm loving it. But right now it shoots PPC's and other big guns as volleys, not as an "continues" stream. Like holding the trigger just on. Can I change that somehow somewhere? Smaller guns shoot as much as they can but I would like the big guns to do the same. This as no other value but it looks sexier and cooler!

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
GlassDeviant





Joined: 04 Nov 2012
Posts: 234 on topic

Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Thu, 10. Mar 16, 20:35    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

You won't get banned for thread necromancy, jsut ridiculed. And not in a thread that is tied to a specific mod.

Anyway, big guns, like PPCs, are "cannons", they are not stream weapons. They aren't meant to fire in a continuous stream. It's likely nothing to do with MARS, and entirely to do with the game itself.


_________________
bibo ergo sum
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dholmstr





Joined: 12 Apr 2011



PostPosted: Fri, 11. Mar 16, 14:49    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

GlassDeviant wrote:
You won't get banned for thread necromancy, jsut ridiculed. And not in a thread that is tied to a specific mod.

Anyway, big guns, like PPCs, are "cannons", they are not stream weapons. They aren't meant to fire in a continuous stream. It's likely nothing to do with MARS, and entirely to do with the game itself.


Hmm, don't think you understood what I was geting at. Sorry if I was too vague about my question. Let me try again.
When the game without the mod or anything shoots PPC, the first shot is always all 8 (the Titan as example). Then all 8 guns have a slight differens in rate of fire, thus popping those "bullets" at different time. Then it looks like a "stream of blobs" rushing towards enemy.
I use MARS and the CMOD (think it's v4 but don't remember anymore) and now it ALWAYS shoots all 8 at the same time, aka volley. This is what I want to change. It has no other reason than I liked the "stream of blobs" effect.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
GlassDeviant





Joined: 04 Nov 2012
Posts: 234 on topic

Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Sun, 13. Mar 16, 21:58    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

That was not what you said in your initial post, perhaps you should have said that the first time. Either way blaming me for "not understanding" what you meant due to my obvious lack of psychic powers won't get you anywhere.

Now that I know what you really meant, I'm sorry, I have no idea whay this is happening. Hopefully someone who knows the inner workings of the game better will show up and be able to explain it and/or come up with a solution.


_________________
bibo ergo sum
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
X2-Illuminatus
Moderator (Deutsch)
Moderator (Deutsch)

MEDALMEDALMEDAL

Joined: 02 Apr 2006
Posts: 20702 on topic

Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Sun, 13. Mar 16, 22:44    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

GlassDeviant wrote:
Either way blaming me for "not understanding" what you meant due to my obvious lack of psychic powers won't get you anywhere.


Let's not get personal here. No one was blaming you for anything. dholmstr even apologised and explained what he meant more detailed.


_________________
Besteht Interesse an einem Nopileos-Hörbuch?

Farnhams Legende und Nopileos als E-Books!

"People who think they know everything are a great annoyance to those of us who do." - Isaac Asimov

"If it's not impossible, there must be a way to do it." - Sir Nicholas Winton
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
arc89





Joined: 07 Jan 2017



PostPosted: Wed, 11. Jan 17, 17:33    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

Hello. Im playing X3 TC with XRM and I cant get MARS to work on my Mercury TS. I have correct lasers in cargo bay and no matter what I do or what I click in MARS config menu turrents dont shoot. I got a massege saying "MARS: no laser detected"
I use ENG version and following mods/scripts:
Code:

Community Plugin Configuration
Hotkey Manager
Plugin Manager Library Scripts
Ware Manager :: Cycrow :
LazCorp Claim Unknown Sector - X3TC
Befehlsbibliothek_X3TC_V3805.zip
dock_lockup_fix.zip
follow_me.zip
Handelsvertretung_X3TC_V3408.zip
HephCorp_beta-0.73.zip
Marine_Repairs_and_Training-V214-2015-01-01.zip :
mars.zip
numeric_ranks_tc.zip
Raketenabwehr_Moskito_X3TC_V3302.zip
Warenlogistiksoftware_X3TC_V3406.zip
X3 TC-XRM Universe Colored Map 3.1.rar
Sectormap Revamped.rar
MSLDEFMK2.zip

(+IE for XRM, medium hull pack, and cocpits from XRM thread nothing fancy)

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic Reply to topic Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... , 234, 235, 236  Next
 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum
Control Panel
Login Data
The time now is Mon, 18. Jun 18, 03:52

All times are GMT + 2 Hours

[ Disclaimer / Impressum ] | [ Privacy Policy / Datenschutz ]

Board Security

Copyright © EGOSOFT 1989-2018
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Template created by Avatar & BurnIt!
Debug: page generation = 0.10677 seconds, sql queries = 29