[X2] How To Run X2 On Vista (or Windows 7/8)

Ask here if you experience technical problems with X³: Reunion, X²: The Threat, X-Tension or X-Beyond The Frontier

Moderators: timon37, Moderators for English X Forum

User avatar
X2-Illuminatus
Moderator (Deutsch)
Moderator (Deutsch)
Posts: 20844
Joined: Sun, 2. Apr 06, 16:38

Post by X2-Illuminatus » Thu, 9. Jun 11, 18:08

Thedestroyer wrote:The copy protection patch refused to install and patch 1.5 started questioning me as to where to put it.
Could you elaborate this? Was there an error message or what happened? With regard to saying the patch installer where the game files are, you normally can browse for the right directory.
Thedestroyer wrote:Ive located the C:/program files on my computer and tried to paste the egosoft folder, only for my pc to refuse me permission to do so, I thing im gonna just give up.
You don't have to install the game into "program files". That's just the standard location. If the PC refuses to put the files there - a possible cause are missing administrator rights - just choose a different directory.
Besteht Interesse an einem Nopileos-Hörbuch?

Farnhams Legende und Nopileos als E-Books!

"People who think they know everything are a great annoyance to those of us who do." - Isaac Asimov

"If it's not impossible, there must be a way to do it." - Sir Nicholas Winton

Thedestroyer
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue, 10. Feb 04, 19:58

Post by Thedestroyer » Thu, 9. Jun 11, 20:00

Beforem I persevere with this, will a downloaded version from steam be a viable alternative? Its only £5 and It will save me pulling whats left of my hair out if it does.

Also if it does work would I still need the patches?

Please bear with me, its been ages since ive seriously gamed on a pc, probably about 6 years. So im very very rusty and used to pressing start and letting my 360 do the rest.

Thedestroyer
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue, 10. Feb 04, 19:58

Post by Thedestroyer » Fri, 10. Jun 11, 14:56

Ive finally managed to get it working, thanks to the help of my wife! It runs pretty nice too.

Greyhawk1
Posts: 4386
Joined: Mon, 22. Mar 04, 21:21

Post by Greyhawk1 » Sat, 20. Aug 11, 23:46

I'm subjecting myself to this torture now.

Why is my CD taking 15 minutes to copy the contents of a single CD??

:evil:

Lol took 10 minutes to copy 79k then crashed.

Tried again. Transfer rate 800k/s but over 20 minutes and transferred about 100k. Then crashed.
Image

Greyhawk1
Posts: 4386
Joined: Mon, 22. Mar 04, 21:21

Post by Greyhawk1 » Sun, 21. Aug 11, 00:01

Gave up and bought steam version lol...
Image

XIZOR
Posts: 31
Joined: Wed, 6. Nov 02, 21:31

X2 threat on windows 7 64bit

Post by XIZOR » Wed, 31. Aug 11, 19:52

This works like a dream thanx i can play one of my fav X games now

lol

Devilybot
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun, 29. Jan 12, 12:47

Post by Devilybot » Sun, 29. Jan 12, 12:52

Alright Here Is My Problem It Just Keeps Saying X2 Confirmation App
Installed Successfuly Please reboot to Finish Installation And I've Done it Already!!! Please Help :(
Well I Ain't Got Nothing So Go Somewhere else

User avatar
X2-Illuminatus
Moderator (Deutsch)
Moderator (Deutsch)
Posts: 20844
Joined: Sun, 2. Apr 06, 16:38

Post by X2-Illuminatus » Sun, 29. Jan 12, 19:45

Alright Here Is My Problem It Just Keeps Saying X2 Confirmation App
What is "It" and where does it say that?
Besteht Interesse an einem Nopileos-Hörbuch?

Farnhams Legende und Nopileos als E-Books!

"People who think they know everything are a great annoyance to those of us who do." - Isaac Asimov

"If it's not impossible, there must be a way to do it." - Sir Nicholas Winton

Zaswed
Posts: 60
Joined: Sun, 21. Mar 04, 15:14

Post by Zaswed » Wed, 11. Apr 12, 23:21

X2 player from long ago reporting in, aching to play the game again. This guide works perfectly. No problems at all. Just remember that the European version is already at 1.2 so don't try to upgrade to that. That should really be added into the starting post too... Follow the instructions closely and you can't fail this. Thanks, now I can play my dear x2 again!

slicendice
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue, 8. Nov 05, 19:51

Post by slicendice » Mon, 9. Jul 12, 21:09

I finally have a laptop able to run X3 (windows 7) & I STILL can't it or X2 to load. This is truly piss-poor programming. The damn patches don't work either.

Who ever is in charge should be ashamed.

What is a zlib1.dll anyway?

CBJ
EGOSOFT
EGOSOFT
Posts: 35996
Joined: Tue, 29. Apr 03, 00:56

Post by CBJ » Tue, 10. Jul 12, 00:29

With all due respect, there are many, many other people playing both games under Windows 7 without any problems, and that despite the fact that that OS came out several years after the games were released, so it is pretty unlikely to be just a case of "poor programming".

Perhaps if you were to provide us with some information to work with - your [url=http://www.egosoft.com/support/faq/faq_answer_en.php?answer=610&version=8][b]DX[/b][b]D[/b]iag[/url] report, game versions and so on, as requested in the very first thread in this forum - in a new thread of your own, we could help you to solve whatever problems it is that you are having.

slicendice
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue, 8. Nov 05, 19:51

Post by slicendice » Tue, 10. Jul 12, 02:14

Fair enough, I apologise. After nearly 2 hours of trying I was REALLY annoyed.

However I managed to get X3 working after I read through a few other posts.

Still can't get X2 to work, but never mind. The X3 game seems really good!! :D

filippe999
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon, 2. Apr 12, 15:30

Post by filippe999 » Thu, 26. Jul 12, 16:44

I could install X2 normally but when i try to run i get black textures everywhere even in the intro scene

CBJ
EGOSOFT
EGOSOFT
Posts: 35996
Joined: Tue, 29. Apr 03, 00:56

Post by CBJ » Thu, 26. Jul 12, 17:28

Then your problem has nothing to do with this thread. Make a new one, providing the information requested in the very first thread in this forum, and we will do our best to help.

XIZOR
Posts: 31
Joined: Wed, 6. Nov 02, 21:31

it wrks, do i need patch 1.5

Post by XIZOR » Tue, 19. Mar 13, 20:55

It WRKS thanx guys, one question do i need to install patch 1.5 too or not ?

Post Reply

Return to “X³: Reunion, X²: The Threat, X-T and X-BTF - Technical Support”