EnglishGermanFrenchRussianPolishItalianSpanish
Log inRegister
 
[Script][V1.3|2.5|1.0] X2-X3//X3-X3-Converter//Copy Ships and Stations
Post new topic Reply to topic Goto page 1, 2, 3 ... 26, 27, 28  Next
View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
SymTec ltd.





Joined: 11 Apr 2005
Posts: 4389 on topic
Location: Göttingen, Germany
Thank you for registering your game
modified
PostPosted: Mon, 26. Feb 07, 21:23    Post subject: [Script][V1.3|2.5|1.0] X2-X3//X3-X3-Converter//Copy Ships and Stations Reply with quote Print

X2-X3-Converter V1.3 EN
The X2-X3-Converter is able to read all data of the player possession from an X² - game and copy it into a text file. This file can be read by the game X³, which then places the objects in the respective positions in the X³-Universe. This procedure may take some time.

With the X2-X3-Converter, the old X2-Empire can be copied to a current X3-Savegame and its management can be continued in this new environment.


Home of Light, X²

Home of Light, X³


Convert
To convert, you just put a few script- and textfiles in the respective folders in X² and X³. Then, you start X² and load the data into a logfile using a normal ship command. This will take a while.
Then, you rename the logfile and move it, so the game X³ can read it as a text file. Now you start X³, load the textfile via a ship command and wait until the textfile is unpacked station by station, ship by ship, and the objects are placed at the right locations.

The following data is copied:
    General
  • Known sectors
  • Police licences, salvage insurances
  • Bank Credits

    Stations
  • Location
  • Wares and stock
  • Hull damage
  • Credits
  • Name

    Ships
  • Location
  • Wares und stock
  • Hull damage
  • Homebase
  • Softwares
  • Pilot/No Pilot?
  • Pilot experience
  • Name
The unpacking cantake up some time. As it only works with one object per second, it will take some time until everything is at the right place. This time can be used for starting the ships, connecting complexes and buying new weapons. My 4900-Object-Empire took 1.5 hours to load..

Download




X3-X3-Converter V2.5 EN
The X3-X3-Converter is able to read all data of the player possession from an X³ - game and copy it into a text file. This file can be read by the game, which then places the objects in the respective positions in the X³-Universe. This procedure may take some time.

With the X3-X3-Converter, mod users can transfer their savegames from one save to another, one can merge two saves etc.

Convert
To convert, you just put a few script- and textfiles in the respective folders in X³. Then, you start the game and load the data into a logfile using a normal ship command. This will take a while.
Then, you rename the logfile and move it, so the game can read it as a text file. Now you start the game again, load the textfile via a ship command and wait until the textfile is unpacked station by station, ship by ship, and the objects are placed at the right locations.

The following data is copied:
    General
  • Known sectors
  • Police licences, salvage insurances
  • Bank Credits
  • Race notoriety

    Stations
  • Location
  • Wares and stock
  • Hull damage
  • Credits
  • Name

    Ships
  • Location
  • Wares und stock
  • Hull damage
  • Softwares
  • Pilot/No Pilot?
  • Pilot experience
  • Homebase
  • Simple commands
  • Name
The unpacking can take up some time. As it only works with one object per second, it will take some time until everything is at the right place. This time can be used for starting the ships, connecting complexes etc.

Download


Plugin for the XTended-Mod v0.6->v0.7
This plugin - plugged into the X3-X3-Converter v2 - converts even the special XTM-ships to the correct ship types in the new game. To do this, first the X3-X3-Converter has to be installed, then this plugin has to be unzipped and the .xml-file moved to the "scripts"-directory, overwriting the old file.

Download



Copy ships and stations, V1.0 EN
The command copy object is able to create an identical copy of a given player-owned ship or station.

This script is a CHEAT and only a result of the two other scripts. A readme is included.

Download




Thanks to:
- UniTrader for the knowledge support in creating text-/logfiles.
- Egosoft for X² and X³
- Egosoft für changing all Main- und Subtypes of all ships and stations to a completely confuing new system Twisted Evil the first points are really meant seriously...

Used resources
X2: (only X2-X3-Converter)
cmd 531
textfile 8758
textpage 8758
logfile 08758

X3:
cmd 628
textfile 8758
textfile 8759
textpage 8758
textpage 8759
logfile 08758 (only X3-X3-converter)


The german script is to be found here.

Keywords: < Savegame Compatibility Converter Saves SymTec ltd. >


_________________
[INDEX] Scripts von SymTec ltd.


Last edited by SymTec ltd. on Sat, 4. Oct 08, 17:13; edited 4 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
aka1nas





Joined: 07 Jul 2005
Posts: 1381 on topic

Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Tue, 27. Feb 07, 01:26    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

WOW!!

Is there any chance we could get an X3-->X3 empire exporter/importer? It would be nice for when I have to restart for the upcoming Xtended .7 release.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
al_main





Joined: 06 Oct 2004
Posts: 1379 on topic
Location: Playing X3
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Tue, 27. Feb 07, 01:39    Post subject: Re: [Script][V1.1][25.02.2007] X2-X3-Converter Reply with quote Print

SymTec ltd. wrote:
leads to a second version of this software that uses cmd slot 628 for all players that have slot 552 already filled up


As its more of a one-use command you might want to consider switching it to activation from the AL menu and you'd easily get around any command slot issues rather than having to maintain 2 different versions. Wink


btw: I think alot of people would really love an X3->X3 version. Smile

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
euclid





Joined: 15 Feb 2004
Posts: 8398 on topic
Location: Gower, South Wales
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Tue, 27. Feb 07, 01:55    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

WOW Surprised


Cheers Euclid

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail MSN Messenger
SymTec ltd.





Joined: 11 Apr 2005
Posts: 4389 on topic
Location: Göttingen, Germany
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Tue, 27. Feb 07, 10:06    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

Well, I might have a look at the AL-menu... does that mod use the same ship and station ware types?

EDIT: I think using the AL-menu is not possible/necessary: The newer version also contains a script that can set stations to new positions, in case the collision detection did not work properly or the stations are right in the fly paths. This script is triggered by the original command as soon as the script has been started once.


_________________
[INDEX] Scripts von SymTec ltd.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
DIGSIN





Joined: 28 Oct 2005
Posts: 392 on topic

Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Tue, 27. Feb 07, 23:58    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

Excellent idea SymTec ltd. and one which i'm sure a lot of X2 players are going to thankyou for.

Just one question, in my old X2 empire i had a lot of pirate ships, these ships are no longer in X3 so what will become of them?


_________________
After Domination
Arcadia
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail MSN Messenger
SymTec ltd.





Joined: 11 Apr 2005
Posts: 4389 on topic
Location: Göttingen, Germany
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Wed, 28. Feb 07, 19:00    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

I think it's some Teladi ship - some kind of vulture, I think. not the best ship in the world, but the old pirate ships weren't, either...


For the ones who are annoyed by the fact that their Demeters go 165m/s etc.: At some point, there will be a new version that does recalculate the needed amount of engine tunings. I don't have anything against faster ships, but I think some people might...


_________________
[INDEX] Scripts von SymTec ltd.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Diablos



MEDALMEDAL

Joined: 08 Dec 2003
Posts: 123 on topic

Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Thu, 1. Mar 07, 11:39    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

is there any chance of this being used for an X3- X3 conversion?

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger
UniTrader
Moderator (Script&Mod)
Moderator (Script&Mod)

MEDAL

Joined: 20 Nov 2005
Posts: 9738 on topic
Location: Sol-System - Erde - 48°07' N 11°37' E
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Thu, 1. Mar 07, 13:22    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

SymTec ltd. is working on a X3->X3-Version Wink


_________________
if not stated otherwise everything i post is licensed under WTFPL
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
SymTec ltd.





Joined: 11 Apr 2005
Posts: 4389 on topic
Location: Göttingen, Germany
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Thu, 1. Mar 07, 16:46    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

In fact, I am... the X3-X3-converter is way easier to code than the X2-X3-converter, but I am currently working on 4 projects at once, and this one has the second least priority. Sunday, ealiest... Smile


_________________
[INDEX] Scripts von SymTec ltd.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
SymTec ltd.





Joined: 11 Apr 2005
Posts: 4389 on topic
Location: Göttingen, Germany
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Sat, 10. Mar 07, 13:43    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

Small Update
*There was a problem so that you couldn't start the Converter in X3 without owning a station. Now, you can also select a ship, and as you should at least have a player ship, you can move this out into space and select it in the command to start the converter.
*all text slots changed to piracy slots


_________________
[INDEX] Scripts von SymTec ltd.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
SymTec ltd.





Joined: 11 Apr 2005
Posts: 4389 on topic
Location: Göttingen, Germany
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Sun, 11. Mar 07, 14:19    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

Update: X2-X3-Converter V1.3
* Now really activated collision detect
* Now really activated homebase set


Release: X3-X3-Converter V1.0
* With the X3-X3-Converter, mod users can transfer their savegames from one save to another, one can merge two saves etc.

Release: Copy ships and stations V1.0
* The command copy object is able to create an identical copy of a given player-owned ship or station.


_________________
[INDEX] Scripts von SymTec ltd.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
aka1nas





Joined: 07 Jul 2005
Posts: 1381 on topic

Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Sun, 11. Mar 07, 18:54    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

On the X3-X3 converter, what happens if you transfer saves across different mods and some of the ships/stations don't exist on the destination save?

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
SymTec ltd.





Joined: 11 Apr 2005
Posts: 4389 on topic
Location: Göttingen, Germany
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Sun, 11. Mar 07, 21:27    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

As long as there is a station using the same main/subtype, there will be no problem. It could happen that your TS is suddenly a TL, but as far as I know, modders move along the normal ship and station slots and therefore there should not be problems.

Stations, however they look like, will keep their products and resources, no matter what mod you are converting from or to.


_________________
[INDEX] Scripts von SymTec ltd.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Phrathum





Joined: 07 Mar 2007

Location: The core of the sun

PostPosted: Mon, 12. Mar 07, 01:03    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

I was going through the readme when i found this:
Each ship moves to the next station immediately after being created in order to escape from possible enemies.
Does this mean that all my transports will lose their current orders? Or am I just reading something wrong Razz
Thanks!

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic Reply to topic Goto page 1, 2, 3 ... 26, 27, 28  Next
 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum
Control Panel
Login Data
The time now is Wed, 3. Sep 14, 01:40

All times are GMT + 2 Hours


Board Security

Copyright © EGOSOFT 1989-2009
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Template created by Avatar & BurnIt!
Debug: page generation = 0.19758 seconds, sql queries = 74