Mercury 1 - the begining..

Official fiction, fan fiction and artwork. Let your talent express itself!

Moderators: TheElf, Moderators for English X Forum

mk1-orion
x3tc

Mercury 1 - the begining..

Post by mk1-orion » Sat, 17. Feb 07, 14:15

After purchasing the mercury, i found i was rediculously short on cash, and decided i needed some high profit loads to get my bank balance looking a bit healthier. Argon prime, heart of the Argon federation seemed like a good place to start. After a few minutes of frantic computer action i located my first load and set the auto-pilot to dock at the crystal fab. The journey would take around 20 minutes, as the mercury was only running standard engines, so i decided to take a quick look around my new vessel.

Stepping out of the main control room, i walked down the corridoor, passed my living quarters, the small kitchen and then the bathroom. Finally i reached the lift which, thankfully, was already on the top level. i studied the touch-screen information panel, and decided i'd like to check out my cargo hold.

A minute later, the ship's computer; which i'd given the name Mel; informed me that i'd reached the cargo deck and with a dull beep, the doors slid apart. i could hardly believe my eyes - it was huge. the only thing i could see was the shield generator, glowing slightly and constantly humming, protecting my ship from space debri. i knew it wouldn't protect me if a pirate decided he wanted some of my wares, i also knew from a courtesy message that the 25mj shield factory in cloudbase south west had an large stock of shields at discounted prices, should i decide i want to spend the next 2 day's travelling there.

A strange beeping sound came from the wall behind me, the touch screen computer terminal was flashing a message, it was my docking pass, i decided i should probably get back to the control room.As the lift doors opened, Mel informed me that the docking clamps had just connected