EnglishGermanFrenchRussianItalianSpanish
Log inRegister
 
[Bonus Plugin] Explorer Software
Post new topic Reply to topic Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next
View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
moggy2



MEDALMEDAL

Joined: 06 Nov 2002
Posts: 4588 on topic
Location: Montréal
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Thu, 30. Nov 06, 13:28    Post subject: [Bonus Plugin] Explorer Software Reply with quote Print

Name: Explorer Software
Version: 1.5
Date: 10.10.2006
Scripter: moggy2


Overview:
The Explorer Software was developed by Teladi Scientists as a tool for charting new, unexplored sectors without the need for expensive crewed vessels. The commands provided by this software were designed to be used by a team of scientists to remotely control a probe, as it explored new sectors of space, from the safety of their research labs.

Commands Summary:

Fly Through gate...

    - This command allows you to specify a gate to fly through. In difference to the fly to sector command, this allows you to fly through gates where the destination sector has not previously been visited.

Explore Sector...

    - This command causes the ship to fly in circles round the sector, revealing stations, gates and asteroids as they pass within scanner range.
    - To use the command you select a central point around which to explore, set a maximum range from that point to explore and set a "ecliptic variance".
    - This can be used to reveal a new sector or to locate a hard to find gate.

Scan Asteroids

    - This command will scan asteroids in the sector.
    - Select the first asteroid to scan, then set the maximum number of asteroids to scan.

Details:
The explore sector command flys a square around the central point. This is only 2-dimensional, parallel to the ecliptic plane of the sector. The additional input of "ecliptic variance" allows a random fluctuation within the 3rd dimention between points, allowing you to scan a slightly larger area. Values for this are typically between 0 and 10.

If the explorer ship has a pilot, ie the pilot's name is something other than the player's name, the Fly through gate command functions slightly differently. Once it has flown through the gate it will immediately go on to scan the sector from the center out to a range of 40km.


_________________

RSS Feed : Submit News Article : Download Scripts : Image Galleries
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
dazzoefc77





Joined: 20 Jun 2004
Posts: 96 on topic
Location: Merseyside
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Sun, 24. Dec 06, 10:27    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

Nice addition.....could have done with this earlier Razz. Might tempt me to start a new game.


_________________
No silly Teladi i dont lose profit, I get your ship
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Yahoo Messenger
jlehtone



MEDALMEDALMEDAL

Joined: 23 Apr 2005
Posts: 16932 on topic
Location: GalNet BBS
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Mon, 25. Dec 06, 19:29    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

I do have a plan to name the first Hyperion from the production line as "Huygens", stuff it with satellites and send it to scan some rocks and to replace casualties.

It will still take quite a while, before I know if my plan actually works. There is always plan 9 ...


Thumb up

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nils@ihug.com.au





Joined: 09 Nov 2004
Posts: 3 on topic

Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Tue, 26. Dec 06, 05:27    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

Where can i pick up this software? - at a teladi trading station?

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bob hope





Joined: 06 Nov 2002
Posts: 1431 on topic
Location: 10 miles north of Manchester - UK
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Tue, 26. Dec 06, 08:55    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

if its the same as it always has been it will be in Teladi Equipment Docks


_________________
About the name - i was lost for a name on the forum and looking round, then a Bob Hope film came on, and i thought "that will do nicely"

i was born and raised argumentative i dont mean to offend ...... sorry
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger
Vanel





Joined: 26 Dec 2005
Posts: 71 on topic

Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Tue, 26. Dec 06, 17:47    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

I put this on a arrow once and it screwed it all up. The arrow would just flying circles in the center of the sector LOL. It the arrow compatible with this sript? Thanks. Great script Cool

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
moggy2



MEDALMEDAL

Joined: 06 Nov 2002
Posts: 4588 on topic
Location: Montréal
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Tue, 26. Dec 06, 17:50    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

it may be too fast to hit the waypoints. It's the same thing that happens to ships trying to collect wares.


_________________

RSS Feed : Submit News Article : Download Scripts : Image Galleries
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
Teabreak





Joined: 27 Oct 2005
Posts: 9 on topic

Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Sun, 31. Dec 06, 07:21    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

Great piece of software Very Happy. A few things:

1. I noticed it wasn't availalbe at the Teladi Space Equiptment Dock in Ministry of Finance - Bug or feature?
2. Often I just want the ship to scan all asteroids in a sector rather then have a maximum. Can I just type a huge maximum and it will notify me when all asteroids are scanned? Even better would just be a simple "Scan all asteroids in Sector..." option.
3. It would be nice if you could set several sectors in a list and the ship visits each one and scans all the asteroids in them. Because an M5 can scan a single sector pretty quickly and you have to keep reassigning it new sectors to scan.

Thanks again Very Happy

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
moggy2



MEDALMEDAL

Joined: 06 Nov 2002
Posts: 4588 on topic
Location: Montréal
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Sun, 31. Dec 06, 17:23    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

1. check back later to see if it gets a supply of them
2. entering 999 should scan all the asteroids in a sector. I don't think there's a sector with more than that.
3. if there was a way of entering an undetermined number of sectors as a list, a lot of scripts would be much simpler.


_________________

RSS Feed : Submit News Article : Download Scripts : Image Galleries
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
dostillevi





Joined: 09 Mar 2006
Posts: 182 on topic

Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Sun, 31. Dec 06, 17:53    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

sounds like there is a need for a linked list utility script... such a thing doesn't exist right now?

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
moggy2



MEDALMEDAL

Joined: 06 Nov 2002
Posts: 4588 on topic
Location: Montréal
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Sun, 31. Dec 06, 18:36    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

that's how arrays work in the script editor, but it doesn't solve the interface problem of getting the list from the pilot at run time.


_________________

RSS Feed : Submit News Article : Download Scripts : Image Galleries
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
jlehtone



MEDALMEDALMEDAL

Joined: 23 Apr 2005
Posts: 16932 on topic
Location: GalNet BBS
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Tue, 2. Jan 07, 18:58    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

Minor "issue".

Took Hyperion.
Added Fight 1&2, Nav Comm, Special, Trading Extensions, Best Buy/Sell, Jumpdrive, the standard stuff. And Explorer Software.

Realized there is no MTC commands so added Trade Mk1&2 as well. Still no MTC. Shrugged that off as M7-related and did send the M7 to scan Mines of Fortune.

Btw, I think no sector has over 200 asteroids.

Anyway, the "issue":

The Navigation menu of the ship had no "Standby" command any more. Surprised
Plenty of other commands (BP 3.1.05 added 'Jump to me' and 'Jump to home'), but no "Standby".

I told the ship to eject Trade Mk1 and Mk2 (because they were of no use anyway). After that, the ship has the "Standby" again.

So how come the Trade Softwares affect the Navigation menu? It is rather harmless, but hopefully has no evil side-effects?


_________________
Goner Pancake Protector X
Insanity included at no extra charge.
There is no Box. I am the sand.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jagji56





Joined: 27 Mar 2006
Posts: 88 on topic

Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Wed, 3. Jan 07, 00:14    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

I got this in the new bones pack, and I think it is a great script. I grabbed a Boron M5 just to equip this piece of software to. I do have one suggestion to make this better: Put a command in to allow the ship to explore a sector, and then explore, say, the other sectors with in 1, or 2 jumps.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Saint-Ashley





Joined: 03 Dec 2005
Posts: 1260 on topic
Location: Maryland USA
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Wed, 3. Jan 07, 02:01    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

What if the player sends their ship to explore 'Eighteen Billion'? Then I guess they just lost their ship in Xenon Sector 347?

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jlehtone



MEDALMEDALMEDAL

Joined: 23 Apr 2005
Posts: 16932 on topic
Location: GalNet BBS
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Sat, 6. Jan 07, 01:21    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

Another question. Told Hyperion to scan asteroids. It did. Some. And when the command completes, I find the ship docked at a NPC station. Surprised

Why does it do that (dock when done)?


_________________
Goner Pancake Protector X
Insanity included at no extra charge.
There is no Box. I am the sand.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic Reply to topic Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next
 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum
Control Panel
Login Data
The time now is Wed, 24. Jan 18, 00:06

All times are GMT + 2 Hours


Board Security

Copyright © EGOSOFT 1989-2018
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Template created by Avatar & BurnIt!
Debug: page generation = 0.14823 seconds, sql queries = 29