[SCRIPT] Missile Bay Extension :: v1.30 :: 04/01/08

The place to discuss scripting and game modifications for X³: Reunion.

Moderators: Moderators for English X Forum, Scripting / Modding Moderators

User avatar
Stevio
Posts: 1983
Joined: Sat, 4. Jun 05, 10:36
x3tc

[SCRIPT] Missile Bay Extension :: v1.30 :: 04/01/08

Post by Stevio » Tue, 3. Oct 06, 17:15

  • --------------------------
    Submitted for signing
    --------------------------


    Script Name: Missile Bay Extension
    Version: V1.30
    Author: Stevio
    Released: 03/10/2006
    Last Updated: 04/01/2008





    ----------------------------------------------
    My other scripts can be found: Here
    ----------------------------------------------

    Script Requires X³ Plugin Manager:
    Image
  • Read me:

    © -26 Steviocorp
    Getsu Fune
    Missilebay Extension


    Description:

    The Missilebay Extension script was designed to aid the player in adding extra missile
    configurations to each ship, this will aid you in combat situations, making missile launching
    easy rather than having to select what missile to install during combat.


    How do i enable the new missile bays?:

    First to be able to use the missile bay extensions you must own the correct upgrades,
    > The Missile Bay Extension - Upgrades your ship with the neccessary missile bays.
    > Navigation Software Mk1 - This software upgrade is required in order for the new bays to recieve there targetting information and is used for general control over commanding the new bays
    > Fight Command Software Mk1 and Mk2 - These Software upgrades are required in order to Configure the new bays.

    Missile Bay Extension: This upgrade will give you five new commands in your Combat Command menu.
    With these new commands you can configure the missile setups for Missile launch bays number 1 to 5
    This upgrade can be bought from Argon and Split Equipment Docks for roughly 1 million credits

    How do i select a missile for my missile bays?:
    First you must have the Missile Bay Extension, Navigation Mk1, Fight Mk1 and Mk2 installed!

    > Go to your "Command Console" and open the "Combat commands" menu
    > Select the Bay you wish to configure
    > then choose the Missile type from the list that you wish to be configured to that bay.

    How do i Launch a missile?:
    First you must cofigure the missile type to use in that bay!

    - You can set the hotkey that triggers the launch of a bay through the controls menu
    > Go to "Options" »» "Controls" »» "Interface"
    > And search for the missile bay hotkeys ( MBEXT: Launch from bay X )

    Check list:
    You must have...
    • :arrow: Missile Bay Extension
      :arrow: Navigation Software Mk1
      :arrow: Fight Software Mk1 and Mk2
      :arrow: Cofigured Missile Bays
      :arrow: Hotkey's Set
      :arrow: Enough missile's in cargo bay


Code: Select all

»» V1.30 - 04/01/2008
• Removed conflict with Fight command mk3
• now uses plugin manager ware SS_WARE_MBEXT

»» V1.20 - 20/12/2006
• Now only uses 1 upgrade
• the scipt is now Uninstall Friendly

»» V1.10 - 28/10/2006
• Crash upon loading fixed
• A few Exploits Removed
• Now uses {EMP}

»» V1.00B - 03/10/2006
• Added Missile Bay Extension Mk1 and Mk2
• Mk1 adds 2 missile bays
• Mk2 adds 3 missile bays
  • »» Credit to the following for...

    - Original idea and brainstorming...
    • NUKLEAR-SLUG

    - help and advice...
    • al_main
    • Cycrow
    • vampirecosmonaut


    Stevio
Last edited by Stevio on Sat, 5. Jan 08, 00:13, edited 17 times in total.
My Scripts
Image
So say we all!

User avatar
vampirecosmonaut
Posts: 320
Joined: Thu, 17. Aug 06, 21:23
x3tc

Post by vampirecosmonaut » Tue, 3. Oct 06, 18:20

You should probably say: original idea by NUKLEAR-SLUG.
Considering he suggested it in the first place.
And I didn't help and advise? :cry:
Also, It's October.
The first documented attempt in human history to use a rocket for spaceflight
was made in the 16th century by a Chinese Ming dynasty official named Wan Hu.
The resultant explosion presumably killed him.

User avatar
Stevio
Posts: 1983
Joined: Sat, 4. Jun 05, 10:36
x3tc

Post by Stevio » Tue, 3. Oct 06, 20:14

I don't know where i am today :shock: :lol:

Sorry i was on my way out so i was in a rush
and just wrote down as much as i could remember to write :shock:

Corrected OP ;)


I hope you guys can give me some good feed back :P

atm as you've read above this script adds 2 new custom wares Missile bay extension Mk1 and Mk2
in total theres 5 Missile bays added each one configurable through the Combat commands menu

Missile configurations will work only on the ships you configure
i.e. if you configure the bays for your buster those missile setups will only apply to that ship
that setup will not apply to any other ships
i.e. the buster setup will not configure your Dragon's missile bays

Which means each of your ships that have either extensions installed will have their own configurations


NOTE: this script uses the X³ Plugin Manager's 'custom ware' feature, make sure you enable this feature in the Installer
My Scripts
Image
So say we all!

User avatar
vampirecosmonaut
Posts: 320
Joined: Thu, 17. Aug 06, 21:23
x3tc

Post by vampirecosmonaut » Tue, 3. Oct 06, 21:19

Thanks, Stevio.:wink:
I'll give this script a go when I get off work.

I like that you added the two levels of missile bays, it always seemed strange to me how this game handles missiles. Now if only we could code a way to make it so you could only carry what you have hot-keyed, then there'd be some realism. :roll:

I can't check the code here at work, so I got a question for you.
Do you need a lock to fire the missile with the hotkey?
The first documented attempt in human history to use a rocket for spaceflight
was made in the 16th century by a Chinese Ming dynasty official named Wan Hu.
The resultant explosion presumably killed him.

User avatar
Stevio
Posts: 1983
Joined: Sat, 4. Jun 05, 10:36
x3tc

Post by Stevio » Tue, 3. Oct 06, 21:34

the Launching hotkey's require...

:arrow: A Target
:arrow: Enough Missiles in Cargobay
:arrow: Missile MUST be Compatible with the Ship - Well i don't want you cheating now :P


[Edit]

I also added alot of Speak texts so it adds a bit of Game immersion

i.e.
"No Aim"
"No Missiles Installed"
"This missile is not Compatible with your Ship"

:)
Last edited by Stevio on Tue, 3. Oct 06, 21:38, edited 2 times in total.
My Scripts
Image
So say we all!

User avatar
vampirecosmonaut
Posts: 320
Joined: Thu, 17. Aug 06, 21:23
x3tc

Post by vampirecosmonaut » Tue, 3. Oct 06, 21:36

Stevio wrote:the Launching hotkey's require...

:arrow: A Target
:arrow: Enough Missiles in Cargobay
:arrow: Missile MUST be Compatible with the Ship - Well i don't want you cheating now :P
Hehe, I'll have to make some script changes to dumbfire unknown objects from all my ships. :twisted:
The first documented attempt in human history to use a rocket for spaceflight
was made in the 16th century by a Chinese Ming dynasty official named Wan Hu.
The resultant explosion presumably killed him.

Cycrow
Moderator (Script&Mod)
Moderator (Script&Mod)
Posts: 20591
Joined: Mon, 15. Nov 04, 00:26
x4

Post by Cycrow » Tue, 3. Oct 06, 21:38

Stevio wrote:NOTE: this script uses the X³ Plugin Manager's 'custom
ware' feature, make sure you enable this feature in the Installer
it would also be nice to hear some feedback from users about the use of custom wares, as its never been used before so there hasn't been alot of testing done on it :)

User avatar
vampirecosmonaut
Posts: 320
Joined: Thu, 17. Aug 06, 21:23
x3tc

Post by vampirecosmonaut » Tue, 3. Oct 06, 21:42

Cycrow wrote: it would also be nice to hear some feedback from users about the use of custom wares, as its never been used before so there hasn't been alot of testing done on it :)
I didn't even know this feature existed, I didn't see anything about it when I updated my version. Again, I'm at work so I can't look at it know. :cry:
The first documented attempt in human history to use a rocket for spaceflight
was made in the 16th century by a Chinese Ming dynasty official named Wan Hu.
The resultant explosion presumably killed him.

User avatar
Stevio
Posts: 1983
Joined: Sat, 4. Jun 05, 10:36
x3tc

Post by Stevio » Tue, 3. Oct 06, 21:42

Thats why i thought i would use the custom wares, i hadn't seen them in use yet so i thought i should give them a try :D :thumb_up:

and the good thing about the X³ Plugin Manager's Custom wares, there is Virtually a 0 possibilty of a Conflict unless the ID ( "SS_WARE_MBEXT_MK1" or "SS_WARE_MBEXT_MK2" ) happens to match Exactly which i doubt :roll:
My Scripts
Image
So say we all!

Cycrow
Moderator (Script&Mod)
Moderator (Script&Mod)
Posts: 20591
Joined: Mon, 15. Nov 04, 00:26
x4

Post by Cycrow » Tue, 3. Oct 06, 22:00

also means you can choose the exact price, notority, size, etc of the wares.

also, it hasn't existed that long ;)

User avatar
Stevio
Posts: 1983
Joined: Sat, 4. Jun 05, 10:36
x3tc

Post by Stevio » Tue, 3. Oct 06, 23:31

Yeah and the notoriety and stuff
and also you can create different ware types. the {emp} only allows for Tech wares, whereas the plugin manger does all of them ( Bio, Energy etc. )
My Scripts
Image
So say we all!

mrBullseye
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat, 7. Oct 06, 23:26

Heeey, first post =)

Post by mrBullseye » Sat, 7. Oct 06, 23:35

Hey guys. Somewhat new player and forum lurker here.

I must say this script idea had me drooling all over the keyboard when I saw it. It really would make fighting so much more streamlined. However I tested it on a (fairly) clean 1.4.3 install and my game wouldn't finish loading. It stuck at the loadscreen at a constant 50% cpu-usage. Being a patient dude I waited for a long time before terminating the process. tried again with a new save where I was undocked, but no such luck. Everything scriptwise is activated and nothing should be conflicting according to the plugin manager. I have version 1.8.0 of that one. Newest version is 1.8.1 so that ccouldnt be it, or? Custom wares is activated btw.

I have other unsigned scripts installed and working properly, such as the station trader and the satellite limited mk3 trader among a few others, hence the fairly clean install :P

Would be cool if you got this script up and running. Hardware specs should be irrellevant here right since it obviously is this script not loading properly and I've never experienced any lockups or freezes with this game.

Thanks for the hard work. :)

/edit - Oh, and I am aware that this is a beta release, so I have full understanding for bugs and strange things. Rock on

User avatar
Stevio
Posts: 1983
Joined: Sat, 4. Jun 05, 10:36
x3tc

Post by Stevio » Sun, 8. Oct 06, 00:10

Hi and welcome to the forum
Yes i have also experienced this myself but couldn't work out what it was that was causing it. i thought it was the Mods :lol:
but now that you have reported the same thing it would seem my script is broken :cry:

i would imagine it has something to do with the Custom Wares from the installer.
Perhaps Cycrow can be of assistance here :roll:

it was alright before when i first tested it though which is very strange.

i'll make a new package in the morning using a Ware from the {emp} or something, and i will work on the custom wares try and find a solution to the problem


Thx for the report ;)

Stevio
My Scripts
Image
So say we all!

Cycrow
Moderator (Script&Mod)
Moderator (Script&Mod)
Posts: 20591
Joined: Mon, 15. Nov 04, 00:26
x4

Post by Cycrow » Sun, 8. Oct 06, 00:59

well, the first thing to check is the mod files that might have been created

u could try removign theo ne thats created for the custom ware, and if the game loads, then you know thats the problem.

i've never come accross a problem where it jsut doesn't start, usually if its a data problem it will just crash out.

which leads me to believe its a script issue.
could be either the setup script is not exiting and getting stuck somewhere, or it could be one of the ware scripts for the installer thats getting stuck, ill have to check out these to c if theres a problem

mrBullseye
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat, 7. Oct 06, 23:26

Post by mrBullseye » Sun, 8. Oct 06, 12:56

If I remember correctly, I have had other scripts add custom wares and working without the EMP. Now, I can't be sure that they did make use of the custom wares feature from the plugin manager, simply because I didn't check at the time :oops: And Since I'm not the most script savvy dude out here, I can't be sure that that script didn't add wares some other way.
It was the salvage network script that added a new ware called salvage claim software. I however did not like this part of that script and surgically redid it myself just to include the salvage network thing 8) was pretty quick to remove any remnants of the parts I didnt like, so can't check it out immediately myself.
Well well. Might be worth it to check it out. Just spitballin' here. Good luck with the script guys

Post Reply

Return to “X³: Reunion - Scripts and Modding”