[SCR] [v1.7.3] [04/27/2012] MK3 Improvement Reloaded

The place to discuss scripting and game modifications for X³: Reunion.

Moderators: Moderators for English X Forum, Scripting / Modding Moderators

Post Reply
gnasirator
Posts: 1100
Joined: Mon, 13. Dec 04, 17:15
x3tc

[SCR] [v1.7.3] [04/27/2012] MK3 Improvement Reloaded

Post by gnasirator » Thu, 31. Aug 06, 22:12

What's this? _____________________________________________________________


Download:
  • Image

    Mirror:
    Image

    Old version 1.29.8:
    Image
_____________________________________________________________


Compatability: _____________________________________________________________


Installation:
  • Unpack the files to your X3 folder. Overwrite if asked for.
    Start X3, play!
    If no MK3 commands appear, save game and reload.

    (Does work without SE activated but needs a modified game!)
_____________________________________________________________


Feature Summary:
  • * Completely rewritten
    * Improved fuel management dependand on cargo size, experience and traderanges
    * Rest ware selling -> After normal sell failed & rest cargo detection
    * Improved buy behavior -> prefers current station to save flight time
    * Improved status displaying
    * After being attacked, traders blacklist current sector, jump away and then restart immediately. No more down times!
    * New Feature: With lvl 16, traders now are taking care of their safety on their own and slowly replace and upgrade their installed shields to maximum.
    * Blacklisting system of the TC/AP MK3 traders implemented. This rarely CAN cause the search routine to take a bit longer than usual. A small blacklist reduces chances of happening.
Last edited by gnasirator on Tue, 9. Jul 13, 23:58, edited 77 times in total.

User avatar
moggy2
Posts: 4588
Joined: Wed, 6. Nov 02, 21:31
x3ap

Post by moggy2 » Thu, 31. Aug 06, 22:22

The official fix is this file which will replace the affected files with the last stable version.
This one is signed and does not require the script editor to be active.

gnasirator
Posts: 1100
Joined: Mon, 13. Dec 04, 17:15
x3tc

Post by gnasirator » Thu, 31. Aug 06, 23:57

I know and I linked that fix already and now stressed the official status of your file.

But I just want to give the interested reader a chance to test the newer versions.

User avatar
apricotslice
Posts: 13643
Joined: Sun, 16. May 04, 13:01
x3ap

Post by apricotslice » Sun, 3. Sep 06, 03:35

What was actually changed in the bonus pack script ?

I ask, because I ahve a modified UT script for download, and dont know if I need to take the new one and modify it or not.
Last edited by apricotslice on Sun, 3. Sep 06, 04:02, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
apricotslice
Posts: 13643
Joined: Sun, 16. May 04, 13:01
x3ap

Post by apricotslice » Sun, 3. Sep 06, 03:59

moggy2 wrote:The official fix is this file which will replace the affected files with the last stable version.
This one is signed and does not require the script editor to be active.
Does this fix the pilot transfer problem as well ?

User avatar
moggy2
Posts: 4588
Joined: Wed, 6. Nov 02, 21:31
x3ap

Post by moggy2 » Sun, 3. Sep 06, 04:20

apricotslice wrote:
moggy2 wrote:The official fix is this file which will replace the affected files with the last stable version.
This one is signed and does not require the script editor to be active.
Does this fix the pilot transfer problem as well ?
as far as I'm aware it puts things back to the way they were before the bonus pack screwed things up.

User avatar
apricotslice
Posts: 13643
Joined: Sun, 16. May 04, 13:01
x3ap

Post by apricotslice » Sun, 3. Sep 06, 04:53

moggy2 wrote:
apricotslice wrote: Does this fix the pilot transfer problem as well ?
as far as I'm aware it puts things back to the way they were before the bonus pack screwed things up.
:lol:

User avatar
moggy2
Posts: 4588
Joined: Wed, 6. Nov 02, 21:31
x3ap

Post by moggy2 » Sun, 3. Sep 06, 05:04

glad someone's enjoying this :roll:

User avatar
apricotslice
Posts: 13643
Joined: Sun, 16. May 04, 13:01
x3ap

Post by apricotslice » Sun, 3. Sep 06, 05:20

Well it means that I dont need to change my M6 version of the script :)

But .....*sigh*..... you would think the devs would have some sort of version quality control going. I mean, putting the e-cell bug back into the game is indicative of pretty bad control over old versions of anything.

They did it with the design of X3 too. Took old versions of X2 scripts to begin X3 with.

gnasirator
Posts: 1100
Joined: Mon, 13. Dec 04, 17:15
x3tc

Post by gnasirator » Sun, 3. Sep 06, 05:30

well, the problems being introduced are my fault. don't blame the mods or anyone else for them.

and i'm actually working hard to get rid of them. with the next release (v 1.23) the probs should be history.

i just have to rewrite the fuel.xml because the recent one causes my game to ctd .... although directly after modifying, it ran excellently and without errors.

well look out for the update tomorrow.

yes, of course alternatively you can use the official fix but you're gonna miss damn many great new features ;)

User avatar
apricotslice
Posts: 13643
Joined: Sun, 16. May 04, 13:01
x3ap

Post by apricotslice » Sun, 3. Sep 06, 05:35

gnasirator wrote:well, the problems being introduced are my fault. don't blame the mods or anyone else for them.
Are you a ..........*gasp* .........dev ? :)
and i'm actually working hard to get rid of them. with the next release (v 1.23) the probs should be history.

i just have to rewrite the fuel.xml because the recent one causes my game to ctd .... although directly after modifying, it ran excellently and without errors.

well look out for the update tomorrow.

yes, of course alternatively you can use the official fix but you're gonna miss damn many great new features ;)
Is it possible for the Bonus pack to be recompiled, so people do not need to apply a fix over the top of it ?

Also, I did a change to the script to allow the M6 to be a ST and UT, which is quite popular with a lot of people. Any chance you could add the M6 into the official scripts ? A lot of people are modding my cargo hold into M6's and using them as Heavy Transports, hence the need for UT for them.

Edit : Also, if the procedure for moving a UT pilot changes, can this be documented formally, so that I can include it in the X3 Handbook, and have it somewhere I can quote easily when people ask. This is one often repeated question.

User avatar
moggy2
Posts: 4588
Joined: Wed, 6. Nov 02, 21:31
x3ap

Post by moggy2 » Sun, 3. Sep 06, 05:41

while you're at it can you put a range option on the UT so I can control where it trades? I might actually use it then.

as for quality control, we have a script testing forum. Why this never got posted there for testing before inclusion only Lucike knows.

User avatar
apricotslice
Posts: 13643
Joined: Sun, 16. May 04, 13:01
x3ap

Post by apricotslice » Sun, 3. Sep 06, 05:47

moggy2 wrote:while you're at it can you put a range option on the UT so I can control where it trades? I might actually use it then.
Actually, the biggest UT issue is preventing them going into a sector where there is major enemy presence.

Makes no sence for a UT to enter a Xenon sector, or a sector with Khaak capital ships present. Nor should it enter a sector that is defined as an enemy one by the players race relations.

It also would be good if the player can prevent the UT from going into a Pirate sector.

These could be done with multiple commands.

UT anywhere.
UT enemy restricted.
UT enemy and pirate restricted.

etc.

User avatar
moggy2
Posts: 4588
Joined: Wed, 6. Nov 02, 21:31
x3ap

Post by moggy2 » Sun, 3. Sep 06, 06:07

I'm against adding more commands when I feel 2 commands is one too many.

Beeing able to set a range on the UT would allow you to keep the UT in a particular part of the universe, stimulating a certain area that maybe of comercial interest to you (keeping GoD at bay), say you have stations in an area and you want to make sure the supporting Npc stations don't disappear, a UT keeping them happy should help, but at the moment the UT is likely to go off looking for richer pickings.

A ranged UT would also allow some limited control on keeping the UT away from dangerous sectors. I've played with this idea in my own game, it's actually a very simple mod, and liked it a lot.

User avatar
apricotslice
Posts: 13643
Joined: Sun, 16. May 04, 13:01
x3ap

Post by apricotslice » Sun, 3. Sep 06, 06:10

moggy2 wrote: A ranged UT would also allow some limited control on keeping the UT away from dangerous sectors. I've played with this idea in my own game, it's actually a very simple mod, and liked it a lot.
Yes, but it defeats the main purpose of the UT, which is to find the best deals over the whole universe.

A UT should not go into an enemy sector. If that is built in, I'll be happy. An enemy sector is also one dominated by a khaak battlegroup, but I guess that one is harder to do.

Post Reply

Return to “X³: Reunion - Scripts and Modding”