[Script] STEALTH Lasertowers - Ring of Fire (v2.27 - 28.04.08)

The place to discuss scripting and game modifications for X³: Reunion.

Moderators: Moderators for English X Forum, Scripting / Modding Moderators

Plushified_Naruto
Posts: 37
Joined: Fri, 23. Jun 06, 17:47

Post by Plushified_Naruto » Wed, 26. Dec 07, 09:12

But radar still works in space and what program do I open the .cat files with?
ASUS M2N32 SLI Deluxe Wi-Fi Edition
AMD Athlon X-2 4200+
2 GB OCZ PC6400 5-5-5
nVidia GeForce 8800 GTX

MJALowe
Posts: 461
Joined: Fri, 5. Jan 07, 07:27

Post by MJALowe » Wed, 26. Dec 07, 09:52

doubleshadows mod manger i think....its all in the stickies up top

Plushified_Naruto
Posts: 37
Joined: Fri, 23. Jun 06, 17:47

Post by Plushified_Naruto » Wed, 26. Dec 07, 20:08

Yeah I can't find Doubleshadow's mod manager for the life of me. It's referenced all over the place but still eludes me. Help would be much appreciated.
ASUS M2N32 SLI Deluxe Wi-Fi Edition
AMD Athlon X-2 4200+
2 GB OCZ PC6400 5-5-5
nVidia GeForce 8800 GTX

MJALowe
Posts: 461
Joined: Fri, 5. Jan 07, 07:27

Post by MJALowe » Wed, 26. Dec 07, 22:23

Its in the tools section of this sticky:

http://forum.egosoft.com/viewtopic.php? ... 6415c14662

shouldn't be hard to find...other tools you might want to use are there too...along with "tutorials" on how to use em

Jakesnake5
Posts: 2874
Joined: Fri, 17. Feb 06, 05:55

Post by Jakesnake5 » Wed, 26. Dec 07, 23:24

Or on his web site here.
Perfection is in the hands of God, we bags of dirt can only do the best we can©
Image
Modders are a source of ideas to help the Game Makers improve what they have made. Cherrish them, for they are the fruit of thy labors.©

Plushified_Naruto
Posts: 37
Joined: Fri, 23. Jun 06, 17:47

Post by Plushified_Naruto » Thu, 27. Dec 07, 05:33

Awesome. Thanks. So back to the topic at hand. I can't get the LTs to align to the gates even on a new game.
ASUS M2N32 SLI Deluxe Wi-Fi Edition
AMD Athlon X-2 4200+
2 GB OCZ PC6400 5-5-5
nVidia GeForce 8800 GTX

User avatar
Gazz
Posts: 12423
Joined: Fri, 13. Jan 06, 17:39

Post by Gazz » Sat, 19. Apr 08, 15:30

Version 2.25 released.

LT should no longer be destroyed for no apparent reason when cloaked.

Optimised script to use less CPU time.
(This was like my first script so some parts are kinda... rustic. =)
My complete script download page. . . . . . I AM THE LAW!
There is no sense crying over every mistake. You just keep on trying till you run out of cake.

Figge
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu, 25. May 06, 17:42

Post by Figge » Sun, 20. Apr 08, 13:22

this is a great script... makes it easy to deploy LT's .. Thumbs up matey ;)

Rhadamant
Posts: 167
Joined: Sun, 27. Apr 08, 04:56

Post by Rhadamant » Wed, 30. Apr 08, 07:03

I am not sure if this is a bug, but I setup 36 laser towers around the west gate of Avarice and the laser towers were named east towers and they were offset back from the gate the wrong direction. Essentially the laser towers are guarding the wrong side of the gate. Bug?

User avatar
Gazz
Posts: 12423
Joined: Fri, 13. Jan 06, 17:39

Post by Gazz » Wed, 30. Apr 08, 07:35

Hmm, sounds like it. Maybe the gates in Avarice don't use the standard numbering so west would normally be east.

Never tested that particular sector because it's basically an ugly and useless one. =P
My complete script download page. . . . . . I AM THE LAW!
There is no sense crying over every mistake. You just keep on trying till you run out of cake.

Rhadamant
Posts: 167
Joined: Sun, 27. Apr 08, 04:56

Post by Rhadamant » Wed, 30. Apr 08, 08:04

Touche. I found an easy work around. I dropped a satellite right infront of the gate and then setup the LTs around the satellite. It looks right and it works fine. I think its buggy on Avarice because the map is massive. I know that doesn't sound too technical but the gates don't even fit on the sector map on full zoom out. Maybe this is why?


BTW you should see MY Avarice. Its lovely.

2nd BTW; How do you de-cloak and cloak already deployed SLTs?

Tritous
Posts: 879
Joined: Sat, 15. Jan 05, 18:20

Post by Tritous » Thu, 24. Jul 08, 00:29

actually i've had the east-west crossup on a few sectors. probs just a line mixed up, it happens lol.

Now what is a much more serious problem though is the friend/foe settings. I implore you to set the default for the "show as enemy if enemy to me" to no. I've had enough problems with my early and cheap ring of 7: I set it to no as fast as i could before they cloaked, yet a little while later they uncloak, attack a teladi ship, lose me a rank, then override their own ff settings to foe to all, in spite of what my globals say.

I think some sort of mechanism may be needed to safeguard against that sort of thing, since once they are placed they are nearly impossible to play around with. I gave up on my ring of 79, It would be nice if there was some sort of fix before i start puting multiple rings of 360 and closing off the xenon sectors.

btw, a note for you: I'm using xtended mod, and what with the cap ship explosions on destructions, every time a xenon cap gets demolished as it comes through it exploded (even OOS) and takes the shields and some hull down on the whole ring. Any tips or ideas on how to settle that problem? Bigger ring?
Give a man a fire, he'll stay warm for a day
Set a man on fire, he'll stay warm for the rest of his life ;)

User avatar
Gazz
Posts: 12423
Joined: Fri, 13. Jan 06, 17:39

Post by Gazz » Thu, 24. Jul 08, 12:15

I don't know a way for a script to turn off "show as enemy...".
I think some sort of mechanism may be needed to safeguard against that sort of thing since once they are placed they are nearly impossible to play around with.
Does the decloak command not work?
every time a xenon cap gets demolished as it comes through it exploded (even OOS) and takes the shields and some hull down on the whole ring. Any tips or ideas on how to settle that problem?
Other than the obvious? No.
Either setup those LT somewhere else or tone down the cap ship explosion radius.
My complete script download page. . . . . . I AM THE LAW!
There is no sense crying over every mistake. You just keep on trying till you run out of cake.

Tritous
Posts: 879
Joined: Sat, 15. Jan 05, 18:20

Post by Tritous » Thu, 24. Jul 08, 12:44

The decloak does work, it's just having to go through each lazertower individually to correct it's settings gets to be a pain, and I plan (eventually) to have rings around all gates to hostile sectors.

I suspect the error with friend-foe switching is part of a larger error, as I've heard rumours of people having similar problems with patrol ships etc who then go on a rampage. At least patrol ships are usually in groups of 5-6, not 300+. I haven't yet seen anyone say they've found the cause of the F/F switching, but adding a switch to set the "show as enemy if enemy to me" to No (or make it an option) and running the updater for the F/F settings more often would at least mean that if that odd error happens then they will correct rather than declaring war. Sometimes a remedy can stop the need for a cure?


The blast damage I can live with lol, these are capital ships going bang afterall. Just thought you would be interested to know since it's the likely achilles heel of a ring of fire
Give a man a fire, he'll stay warm for a day
Set a man on fire, he'll stay warm for the rest of his life ;)

stealthhammer
Posts: 819
Joined: Fri, 12. Sep 08, 04:27

Post by stealthhammer » Thu, 27. Nov 08, 04:34

I love the script however would like to have a destroy option as i got over 700 towers in avarice, however the ff is working for me. cept I cant get the them to uncloak manually (less i miss read about that) however Im scripting in a hostile ship with major shields and then blowing them up myself. only took 2 hours to kil 340of them out of 360 on one gate. then the game crashed from lag. was fun though :wink:

anyhow keep up the work. fun script just to tired to understand were i was placing them lol

Post Reply

Return to “X³: Reunion - Scripts and Modding”