[SCRIPT] Afterburner MK1/MK2 V1.32 : Updated 17/07/2006

The place to discuss scripting and game modifications for X³: Reunion.

Moderators: Moderators for English X Forum, Scripting / Modding Moderators

Locked

Rate this script

Excellant
16
48%
Good
10
30%
OK
5
15%
Not so Good
2
6%
Terrible
0
No votes
 
Total votes: 33

Cycrow
Moderator (Script&Mod)
Moderator (Script&Mod)
Posts: 20594
Joined: Mon, 15. Nov 04, 00:26
x4

[SCRIPT] Afterburner MK1/MK2 V1.32 : Updated 17/07/2006

Post by Cycrow » Wed, 14. Dec 05, 22:13

===========================================
Name: X3 Afterburner
Version: V1.32
Author: Cycrow
Updated: 17/07/2006
===========================================

Now part of the Bonus Pack, Download Removed

:idea: To install the script package file, you need the X3 Script Installer from Here

===========================================

V1.32
* Improved Activation of auto afterburner
* Turns of afterburner when going into a new sector

V1.31
* Fixed registering of manual hotkey

V1.30
* Made afterburn more friendly for non player ships
* Added manual afterburn command.

V1.20
* Added shield usage to afterburner when no energy
* Fixed distance to station, so wont activate if too close

V1.10
* Added use of space flies
* Added Afterburn MK2
* Increased time you can run the afterburner for
* Added start and stop sounds

===========================================

This script adds two available upgradesfor you ship
The MK1 Afterburner: Allows a small ship ship to travel faster while its activated.
The Mk2 Afterburner: Allows a capitol class ship (TL/M2/M1) to travel faster while its activated.

* The MK1 wont work on the capitol ships, and the MK2 wont work on small class ships.

1. Using Afterburner

To use the afterburner, you must first purchase the upgrade, available from Split Equipment Docks.
With this installed, you then use an assigned hotkey to turn on and turn off the afterburner, the hotkey
must be assigned before you can use it.

Pressing the hotkey once will activate it, and pressing it again will turn it off.

2. Assigning Hotkey

In the controls options, you goto the Interface tab, and near the bottom you will find a section called Extensions
The hotkey for Afterburn will be in this section, just assign a key to it like you would any other control.
There are 2 hotkeys to assign, manual, and auto afterburner.
the manual afterburner will not engage the autopilot and you have to manually increase the speed.

3. Energy Required

MK1 Afterburner:
The afterburner requires 5 energy cells to start up and 1 every few seconds to keep running
The afterburner will only activate if theres at least 10 energy cells in the cargo hold
It will also work with just 1 spacefly, the spacefly will power up the afterburner as well as maintain it so no additional energy is required

MK2 Afterburner:
The MK2 requires 50 energy cells to start up and uses 5 every few seconds to keep running
The MK2 will only activate if theres at least 100 energy cells available
The MK2 can also use spaceflies, but requires 5 to activate, and doesn't require any additional energy to run

* if no energy is available, it will divert your shields energy into the afterburner to use

4. Notes

* The afterburn will not engage if your too close to a station.
* When the afterburner is enabled, the autopilot will activate and fly you in a straight line until u've
reached maximum speed.
* The afterburner will deactivate after a certain time of use. It can be reactivated again straight away
at the cost of an additional start up energy cells

5. Future Versions

* Adding enemy craft to use the afterburner in battle
* Add ability for your wingman to use the afterburner

===========================================
Last edited by Cycrow on Fri, 13. Oct 06, 18:25, edited 10 times in total.

Caelistis
Posts: 56
Joined: Tue, 18. Oct 05, 21:49
x3

Post by Caelistis » Wed, 14. Dec 05, 22:26

Why hull damage?

Modern afterburners do not cause airframe damage, merely increased fuel use. Why would future afterburners cause hull damage?

Cycrow
Moderator (Script&Mod)
Moderator (Script&Mod)
Posts: 20594
Joined: Mon, 15. Nov 04, 00:26
x4

Post by Cycrow » Wed, 14. Dec 05, 22:28

accelerating a ship at insane speeds that the ships not mnt to be flying at for long periods of time can have an effect on your hull integrity ;)

andysonofbob
Posts: 263
Joined: Sun, 23. Jan 05, 18:58
x3

Post by andysonofbob » Wed, 14. Dec 05, 22:33

Cycrow,

You seem to be a man of many scripts. Any chance of quickly writtin one to stop the pesky UT's stopping because of jump fuel issues?

Pretty please? *simper*

ta

Cycrow
Moderator (Script&Mod)
Moderator (Script&Mod)
Posts: 20594
Joined: Mon, 15. Nov 04, 00:26
x4

Post by Cycrow » Wed, 14. Dec 05, 22:36

if i get chance to ill look at it tommorow
got some programming work to finish today
heh

andysonofbob
Posts: 263
Joined: Sun, 23. Jan 05, 18:58
x3

Post by andysonofbob » Wed, 14. Dec 05, 22:38

cheers boss, that will be very gratefully received :)

Caelistis
Posts: 56
Joined: Tue, 18. Oct 05, 21:49
x3

Post by Caelistis » Wed, 14. Dec 05, 23:00

Instant acceleration, I agree, would cause damage to a non-support infrastructure. But ramped up acceleration would cause very little damage to the hull's integrity itself.

Look at NASA's ion drive which accelerates at a constant 1g/h-squared. Built on a test chassis far more frail than what is in the X universe and has very little structural fatigue.

Rather a stupid point on my part, considering this is nothing more than a game.

bendyspex
Posts: 708
Joined: Tue, 13. Apr 04, 10:39
x3

Post by bendyspex » Wed, 14. Dec 05, 23:12

Error 404

Uh, oh, someone didn't host it properly :P

Sounds great though, I'll try tomorrow. :)

DIGSIN
Posts: 392
Joined: Fri, 28. Oct 05, 12:37
x3tc

Post by DIGSIN » Wed, 14. Dec 05, 23:13

Cycrow

Thanks for the afterburner. Sound effects?

I was looking through the wav files for some sounds for the thief script which XxNeOXx is working on and started to list the noises that i could work out. Would it be useful to the scipters and modders to continue listing the different sounds and posting the list?



Edit
Could not download afterburner. I went to your homepage for it, is it hidden somewhere?
I did find something else (beatfusion) i'll have a go and tell you what i think.

Re edit
download crashed could not get back looks like your remaking your site.

Cycrow
Moderator (Script&Mod)
Moderator (Script&Mod)
Posts: 20594
Joined: Mon, 15. Nov 04, 00:26
x4

Post by Cycrow » Thu, 15. Dec 05, 00:21

seems i made a typo in the address :oops:
its fixed now, should work :)

DIGSIN:
i think it might be a good idea yeah, coz im sure ill be using some sound effects, and im sure others will find it hardy too
it would save keep searching for the ones we want

The beat fusion is a game i made while i was at uni :P

Kadaas
Posts: 124
Joined: Fri, 28. May 04, 02:47
x3

Post by Kadaas » Thu, 15. Dec 05, 03:53

:gruebel: Link still not working ?

acrh2
Posts: 731
Joined: Sun, 30. Nov 03, 08:51
x3

Post by acrh2 » Thu, 15. Dec 05, 04:29

When you say "insane speeds", what exactly do you mean by that?
C2Q 6700 @ 3.50 GHz, OCZ 2x2GB @ 400, EVGA Nforce 680 sli,
EVGA gtx 280 FTW , Mitsu DP 2070SB 22"
X-FI Fatal1ty, Klipsch 5.1 UIltra, Sennheiser HD555
2 x WD Raptor 74 + 2 x 150 GB Raid0, 850W + 430W PS

furstukin
Posts: 171
Joined: Sat, 19. Nov 05, 22:36
x3

Post by furstukin » Thu, 15. Dec 05, 10:47

Is it just me or does everyone'e afterburner cost roughly 1.8 million credits and show up as something like new_ware_sw_2_new_sw in the equipment dock? Beyond that it works great (if not a little too extreme on the max speeds :D ).
Don't make me slap Ye!

Cycrow
Moderator (Script&Mod)
Moderator (Script&Mod)
Posts: 20594
Joined: Mon, 15. Nov 04, 00:26
x4

Post by Cycrow » Thu, 15. Dec 05, 10:50

Kadaas wrote::gruebel: Link still not working ?
is it still not working ?

my connections been pretty crappy lately, but the link should work
let me know if its still not working

Cycrow
Moderator (Script&Mod)
Moderator (Script&Mod)
Posts: 20594
Joined: Mon, 15. Nov 04, 00:26
x4

Post by Cycrow » Thu, 15. Dec 05, 10:52

furstukin wrote:Is it just me or does everyone'e afterburner cost roughly 1.8 million credits and show up as something like new_ware_sw_2_new_sw in the equipment dock? Beyond that it works great (if not a little too extreme on the max speeds :D ).
yeah it is 1.8million, as that one was on of the only avaialbe ware slots to use
the product should show up as Afterburner MK1, if its showing up as the SS_NEW_WARE it most likly means the t file isn't loaded

EDIT: seems it wasn't loading the t file, it should be fixed now if you redownload

Locked

Return to “X³: Reunion - Scripts and Modding”