EnglishGermanFrenchRussianItalianSpanish
Log inRegister
 
doubleshadow's X3 Editor (0.15 - patch 2.0 compatible)
Post new topic Reply to topic Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... , 20, 21, 22  Next
View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
Wesley Franken





Joined: 08 Aug 2006
Posts: 86 on topic
Location: Houten, The Netherlands
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Wed, 14. Nov 07, 21:19    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

Soul3dge wrote:
I was having the same problem as Wesley, apparently altering the tships.pck but it having no effect in game.
After a lot of rooting around i discovered that Vista doesn't like programs that write information into certain folders (Program Files, Windows etc) and so it decides to create a copy of whatever your changing and stick it in to a virtual store. It tricks the app into thinking all is well but, of course, X3 reads from the correct folder while the editor is changing the dummy. I suppose its not really a problem with the editor more an issue with Vista.

I understand that if you have the editor set as 'run as admin' then it should alter the correct files but i didn't have much luck and had to disable UAC to allow it to work correctly.

Anyway just a heads up as more of us change over to microsofts latest offering its bound to catch a few people out.


So that is the problem, because I have vista too, quite a bummer then Sad

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeonSamurai





Joined: 02 Jun 2006
Posts: 64 on topic

Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Thu, 21. Feb 08, 22:38    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

Found a couple of bugs with your programs, including a few game killer bugs

1. TShip editing, if you directly enter weapon/missle values into the raw data areas 18 and/or 24, your program will put .000000 on the end of the number. This breaks the game as the game will be unable to read beyond this (took me almost a day of examining the TShips file by hand to find this problem), and will only show ships in game up to the last ship that doesnt have .00000 at the end.

2. TCockpits editing, Same problem with weapons as the above when editing the raw data, but also it does the same thing if you enter the number into the info tab under "possible lasers". The problem is also that it is entering .000000 after the number. This also breaks the game as the game wont be able to read the TCockpit file and will default to the weapons listed in TShips for the turrets.

3. TMissles editing, this one is a simple bug your companion mod manager program does not recognise that TMissles can be edited with your TXT editor, and instead opens it with notepad or wordpad. Manually opening it using your txt editor works fine though.

Anyhow thought you might like to know Smile Its a really nice set of programs you made, and makes editing so much easier.


Btw incase anyone else runs into these bugs, this is how you fix them

1. Re-enter the numbers into the "possible lasers" and/or "possible missiles" in the "weapons" tab, or go into the "front lasers" and/or "front missles" tabs and alter the weapons list (add and remove a weapon or vice versa)

2. This one i think you can fix by going into the turret info tab and altering the weapons list. I fixed it pulling the TCockpits file out of its cat&dat file and manualy searching for and removing all .000000 entries with notepad


Lastly I hope I haven't necroed this post, I do not know if the author is still around or not, but I figured he may want to know about the bugs, and also this may be helpful to other modders who may stumble on these problems and not be able to fix them.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jakesnake5



MEDALMEDALMEDAL

Joined: 17 Feb 2006
Posts: 2874 on topic

Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Fri, 22. Feb 08, 01:40    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

Editing in the 'raw' area is always 'use at your own risk' behavior.

Best to use the correct area to avoid the strangeness you discovered. Very Happy


_________________
Perfection is in the hands of God, we bags of dirt can only do the best we can©

Modders are a source of ideas to help the Game Makers improve what they have made. Cherrish them, for they are the fruit of thy labors.©
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
NeonSamurai





Joined: 02 Jun 2006
Posts: 64 on topic

Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Fri, 22. Feb 08, 08:19    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

True, but its much quicker that way with weapons then manually choosing them one by one for each ship your modding. You want to bash your head against the monitor after doing 25-30 ships that way. Wink

Also the TCockpits part even when entering it into the info section (in adition to the raw area) still messes up.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wolfmanjack321





Joined: 30 Apr 2008
Posts: 36 on topic

Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Sat, 10. May 08, 13:22    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

All i get when trying to open up a file is Error loading from file; File contains Bad data.

I have 10 different searches going on atm trying to figure out why i am having this issue. Nothing yet

Anyone have idea's ?

What i am trying to do is change the player HQ's storage space from 500k to 5 mill But i can not open the file with the X3mm program.

Is 2.5 not supported ?

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Meltdown





Joined: 06 Nov 2002



PostPosted: Tue, 15. Jul 08, 13:42    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

Having some trouble with the editor.

I used it to alter the ships pirates would fly, enabling all races and TS class. This worked.

Later on I also used it to enable mass drivers in my Hyperion's main guns and turrets. This also worked.

Now I've decided mass drivers suck, so I've again modified the tships and tcockpits files to remove the mass drivers and add APPCs to the main guns and PBEs and Kyon emitters to the turrets. And it's not working anymore.

The editor shows the modifications even after I close it and reload the cat/dat file, and the external model/stat viewer recognizes them too, but the game no longer does. My Hyperion's weapon abilities don't change.

I'm sure this is not the Vista file handling problems; the tships gets modified, or the model viewer wouldn't see the changes. Besides, I don't have Vista; I'm running XPSP3.

It's got to be a problem with X3, but I don't know what. I tried docking and undocking and jumping to different sectors, but nothing changes.

Any suggestions?


_________________
Eat, drink and be merry, for tomorrow you may die.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eladan





Joined: 07 Jan 2006
Posts: 5307 on topic
Location: Sunshine Coast, Australia
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Wed, 16. Jul 08, 03:23    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

The changes won't take effect on an existing object. You'll have to destroy your Hyperion and create a new one.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Meltdown





Joined: 06 Nov 2002



PostPosted: Wed, 16. Jul 08, 14:43    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

But they did take effect on an existing object; when I added mass driver capacity it was there on my existing hyperion, I didn't have to create a new one. Besides, in desperation I did actually try creating a new one, and it was exactly identical.


_________________
Eat, drink and be merry, for tomorrow you may die.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
iks3





Joined: 10 Jul 2008



PostPosted: Wed, 16. Jul 08, 16:11    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

Meltdown wrote:
But they did take effect on an existing object; when I added mass driver capacity it was there on my existing hyperion, I didn't have to create a new one. Besides, in desperation I did actually try creating a new one, and it was exactly identical.

Try it without the Khaak-Weapons, for they seem to need some extra settings, as also the Terran-Weapons do.

Once I added EMPs to a ship, it didn´t want to mount anything else.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Meltdown





Joined: 06 Nov 2002



PostPosted: Wed, 16. Jul 08, 19:02    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

Huh, now the changes have been recorded. Seems like I just have to wait some time for them to register... weird.


_________________
Eat, drink and be merry, for tomorrow you may die.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
iks3





Joined: 10 Jul 2008



PostPosted: Wed, 16. Jul 08, 22:19    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

Meltdown wrote:
Huh, now the changes have been recorded. Seems like I just have to wait some time for them to register... weird.

Can it be that you have to change the sector once
(fly through a gate) for the changes to "register" ?

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Meltdown





Joined: 06 Nov 2002



PostPosted: Thu, 17. Jul 08, 01:13    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

I tried that, but it made no difference.

Hmm, actually I used the energy-free advanced jumpdrive to change sector, so maybe the game didn't register it, it being a mod and all. Perhaps you need to actually go through a gate or use the normal jumpdrive.

I'll research this more the next time I modify something.


_________________
Eat, drink and be merry, for tomorrow you may die.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bluebird1927





Joined: 11 Aug 2006
Posts: 46 on topic
Location: Wales
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Mon, 1. Sep 08, 15:55    Post subject: A problem with the doubleshadow galaxy editor Reply with quote Print

I am doing some minor editing on the galaxy map, adding asteroids and changing the hidden ships. When I am saving the changes to the CAT/DAT file the editor stops responding and wont close down unless I close it via the task manager.
When I load X3 up and start a new game (normal with plot) I appear in a random sector with all the stations removed. I try deleting the edited files and load the original but the same thing happens. Even if I completly uninstall the game and re-install, it still keeps happening. I am having to format my entire HD and re-install vista and X3 for the game to go back to normal.
Can anyone tell me what I'm doing wrong?
Btw I using the latest patch for the editor and the 2.5 patch with the game with the Bonus pack and cockpit mod.


_________________
Intel E8400
HD4850
Seagate 250GB
Vista Premium 64bit
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
falcont





Joined: 16 Mar 2004
Posts: 54 on topic
Location: Beverly England
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Fri, 8. May 09, 17:07    Post subject: Viewer for X3_Editor Reply with quote Print

Hi all. Can someone tell me whitch 3D Viewer to use with the X3_Editor.
I have got The Bod viewer but can not understand any of the text,
Can some one please help


{Forum Rule No 12: merge. jlehtone}

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MBD





Joined: 27 Mar 2006
Posts: 338 on topic
Location: Down in da 'hood
Thank you for registering your game
PostPosted: Fri, 8. May 09, 20:58    Post subject: Reply with quote Print

3D Models and Stats Viewer


_________________
"We always were English and we always will be English and it's because we are English that we're sticking up for our rights to be Burgundians." - Passport to Pimlico 1949
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic Reply to topic Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... , 20, 21, 22  Next
 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum
Control Panel
Login Data
The time now is Tue, 21. Aug 18, 19:54

All times are GMT + 2 Hours

[ Disclaimer / Impressum ] | [ Privacy Policy / Datenschutz ]

Board Security

Copyright © EGOSOFT 1989-2018
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Template created by Avatar & BurnIt!
Debug: page generation = 0.10204 seconds, sql queries = 29